We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a group retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a group retreat”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I attended a retreat there, which took over the entire facility, including the cottages. We got a special group rate so my room did not seem expensive to me. The property is stunningly beautiful, located right on a lake. The lodge is small, with maybe 10 rooms. The rooms are fabulous--thoughtfully laid out, understated decor. I had a private balcony over the lake, deep enough for the comfortable chairs and table without feeling cramped. I liked the gas fireplace and the jetted tub.
The lobby area is spacious and has a high ceiling, a fine place to gather for meetings.
Service was friendly and helpful.
A breakfast of Greek yogurt, fruit and cereal was ok for me. I passed on the scrambled eggs after the first day. The coffee was good. I'd have liked a breakfast that surprised and amazed me as much as the rooms did, but...can't have everything, can we?
I'd plan a wedding here, or a family reunion, a getaway with friends or an artists' or company workshop. I loved it!

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    100
    41
    28
    11
See reviews for
177
136
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This property is the best I have ever been to so far. They have thought of everything. The lodge is beautiful and the rooms are so beautiful and quaint that you don't want to leave the room. The private decks overlook the lake and it is truly a wonderful resort. I will be returning often. I am looking forward to visiting the cabins and the glamping tents. One of the nice things is there are no children allowed in the lodge. While I love children and can't wait to bring mine there to the tents, etc. it was nice to not have to worry about children as this trip was for relaxation and nothing more. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Double beds are larger rooms so even if there is only 2 in your party I would suggest dble beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I met his family (2 adults and 2 children) and stayed several nights in a log cabin. It was simply an uncomfortable visit. The one thing we could not get over was when the two adults brought the children into the lodge, briefly, and were told in no uncertain terms that if we were not staying in the "lodge" the children must leave. They were told that people pay good money to stay in the "lodge" and so they must leave. Hmm. We paid very good money to stay in a log cabin and the children were not a noise problem, they simply looked around and wanted to see what was there.

the log cabin claimed to have a kitchen that was stocked. It was not. There were no mixing bowls so to make french toast we used a 1 gallon bowl to mix 3 eggs. There were not enough pieces of silverware to accommodate 6 people for 1 meal. We bought plastic ware. There was not enough of anything in the kitchen.

We expected more for the price we paid. We have stayed in many cottages and cabins, and this was not on par. The cabin itself was fine. It seemed to be new. The bed was comfortable.

There were activities for the children scheduled. One day they tie-dyed tee-shirts, another they painted bird houses. A rowboat was included with the cabin and the adults and children went on the lake fishing and caught nothing. We met a man that evening and said he and his family were on the other lake and caught many fish.

This did not seem like a resort to me. Yes, the lodge seemed new (although children are not allowed), the 3 cabins seemed new too.

Friday Harbor Island has alot to offer and when I come back again, I most certainly will not stop here. Perhaps others did not have the difficulties we did, I hate sending a negative review.

Friday Island is the largest of the islands and it is rather small. Quaint. The downtown is beginning to grow. We will come back but when we do I have several other places on our list to stay at.

p.s. Get your ferry schedule ahead of time. Get lined up EARLY. Going to the island we were lined up about 2 hrs ahead of time. Coming back to the mainland we got in line about an hour before and we almost didn't make it. Be sure to check your times.

I Want this resort to be aware of stocking the kitchen is not adequate at all. Guests should be treated as guests. Not any differently than those staying in the lodge. What they are really saying is the lodge is off-limits to anyone not staying in the lodge. Our grandchildren ages 4 and 7 couldn't understand what they had done wrong, they only walked in and looked around. There is a restaurant in the lodge but only for lodge guests. Amazing! Sorry Lakedale you lost our vote.

Room Tip: The log cabins are very close together. It seems the best way to come is to go camping. There are ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear ChicagoOlivia,

Thank you for choosing Lakedale Resort!. We appreciate your perspective and will utilize the information to continue improving our overall facility. We wish we would of been informed that you did not have enough utensil's in your cabin as we would of quickly replaced them for you. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and your family. The resort has many different variety's of accommodation's, some more exclusive and positoned for guest privacy and adult serenity.The majority of Lakedale is the perfect place for childern and familys as we have real log cabins, canvas cabins, and 82 acres of pure camping fun for everyone ! The fishing is some times great and at times can just be a relaxing educational bonding time with kids that is rare and hard to come by in this busy world. We hope that you would reconsider returning as we would like an opportunity for you to have a positive experience at Lakedale as thousands of familys have in the past!. Again we thank you for choosing Lakedale !
Sincerely,
Karl Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were excited to stay in the glamping tents and participate in the gourmet campfire dinner this past weekend. We ended up enjoying parts and being disappointed with others. The glamping tents themselves are nice, however, there is no "glamour" aspect to them. We had an expectation that we would be pampered a bit by staying there. The queen sized bed was nice and comfortable. The "toasty toes" to warm the bed at night was genius. However, the down side is there were no other normal amenities one would expect. For example, there were towels, although very worn/frayed ones, but no shampoo/soap/etc, no box of kleenex, no glasses for water or other beverages. We ordered firewood to be delivered the first night, but it did not come at the appointed time, so we had to ask for it again. The floor under the bed was very dusty/dirty.

Most all of the staff were great and helpful. One of the managers was less than helpful when we asked for 2 glasses and plates for our dinner we had brought with us on our bikes. (We did not think we'd need to bring glasses or dinnerware.) However the front desk person was more than willing to find us some paper plates to use.

We loved the dinner with chef Kyle. But to vegetarians or non-red meat eaters. Contact the chef himself to see if he's able to accomodate food issues. We initially asked the staff at the resort and were told that pork is not red meat and there would be no substitutions. Having had other experiences elsewhere where the chefs did accomodate us, I contacted the chef directly through his restaurant email and he immediately and graciously said he could provide an alternative to the pork and lamb. Which he did. Apparently there is a disconnect between the chef and Lakedale even though they are sister companies owned by the same parent corporation.

Considering my partner rented a yurt in a state park 2 weeks ago for well under $100/night and it had electricity and a heater, the cost for this canvas tent was overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My kids LOVED glamping at Lakedale! The staff was very friendly, the activities were just enough to mix fun into the day, it was close enough to Friday Harbor to feel like we were away from it all and yet close enough for a decent meal - the toasty toe hot water bottles at night were great - we had so much fun, I did not mind sharing the coin operated showers (they were clean and everything was well maintained)

Room Tip: book the double early - it has 2 queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A weekend trip to the San Juan Islands is the perfect get away for anyone who wants to relax and forget about the hustle and bustle back home. During our visit, we stayed at two wonderful places; The Lakedale Resort and The Ferry Landing Suites.

During our stay at Lakedale Resort, we were amazed by the beauty and pristine of the entire property. The main lodge and our room was immaculate and had every amenity. The breakfast provided in the morning was amazing! MaryAnn is wonderful! She makes you feel incredibly welcome and makes the BEST omelets! Her smile and positive attitude set the tone for the day! The General Manager, Karl Bruno, made the rounds at breakfast and said hi to every guest and took the time to get to know them. The activities at Lakedale are endless and we just couldn’t find time to fit everything in! We did get to play ping pong on the outdoor table and stroll around the lakes. We even got the chance to see a wedding being set up! It is a beautiful location for a wedding with a lot of different options for setting up the ceremony and reception. I would go back in a heartbeat! Overall, a wonderful and relaxing experience!

We stayed at the Ferry Landing Suites the second night, for a little variety and to be close to the nightlife and the town of Friday Harbor. The location was unbeatable! The windows looked out to an unobstructed view of the ferry dock landing and the San Juan Islands.

The Ferry Landing Suites are conveniently located right downtown; we were next door to a rooftop deck bar and grill, and right above a little coffee shop. The place was beautifully decorated and there was a lot of space and a full kitchen! The bedrooms are wonderful as well, with skylights and beautiful décor.

A big thank you to everyone at The Lakedale Resort and the Ferry Landing Suites for making out stay a relaxing and unbeatable vacation getaway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdalt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice people that work there, stayed in two different canvas tents. Not consistent in comfort of bed or condition of tent. Tents were tooo close to one another and the bathroom was waaaay too far away. Very expensive for what you were provided with.
Overall fun experience.

Room Tip: You can't choose a canvas tent room in advance. Be careful about where they put you if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorisong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
3.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
3.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
4.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
502 reviews
8.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Property: Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9754
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing