We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
366
44
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
366
44
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards complimentary kayaks harbor seals crab views are spectacular maya's legacy bald eagles san juan island full kitchen large windows easy access short drive adirondack chairs peaceful setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After staying in Seattle for 2 nights, we drove to the ferry and took it to Friday Harbor where we drove to Snug Harbor Resort. When checking in, we were given the closest cabin to the main lodge. My husband thought it would be too noisy as there were people right outside around the campfire talking and laughing, and we were also next to the Coffee shop. We returned to the office and were told that they were full and could not find a way to move us to another cabin. However, they did say that the 2 bedroom above the office was available, so we took a look at and stayed there instead. We were perfectly happy and enjoyed the extra space. We each slept in separate rooms (queens are hard for us to sleep on comfortably), and it was so serene and quiet above the lodge overlooking the harbor. The staff at Snug Harbor were so accommodating and couldn't be nicer, and it made our stay there so wonderful. We would recommend this beautiful resort and stay for anyone wanting a very peaceful spot on the San Juan Islands (we also took a kayak trip which leaves right out of the resort).

Room tip: All cabins and the 2 bedrooms above the lodge have queen beds.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teddy8152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILoveSnug, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm so glad you had a great visit! Snug Harbor is a nice bit of calm after Seattle. Although there was a large group of friends that went to college in Holland together, the fire pits were abandoned before ten. Must have been all that fresh air out on the water! If you get a chance to visit us again, and we hope that you do, please note that we do have three two-bedroom cabins with king size beds and a little extra space all around. They're great for two couples or a family.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the cabins right on the water by the marina. This place was my all time favorite place I’ve ever stayed. It was very comfortable and very quiet. It was beautiful inside and out. We didn’t want to leave. I definitely want to go back again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILoveSnug, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review! You have made my day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for non-stop glitz and excitement, go to Las Vegas. If you are looking for a relaxing, nature oriented hide away this is the place!! We just returned from a 3 night stay at Snug Harbor and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. While the weather was less than stellar, the resort was absolutely gorgeous!! Snug harbor Resort has to be one of the cleanest, most beautifully landscaped resorts that I have visited. Each cabin is beautifully appointed with everything that you need to make your stay a vacation to remember. The cabins are very clean, have all the utensils that one needs to cook either in the kitchen or on the BBQ (each cabin comes with one). The view from all the cabins is directly out onto the marina and the inlet.The marina is top notch with all new docks.Next time I will tow my boat up here as the surrounding waters are spectacular. The staff are all very helpful and fun to talk with. The only downside was spotty cell service, but I was told the resort is upgrading their Wifi network so reception shouldn't be an issue in the near future. All in all a extremely nice place to sit and unwind and appreciate nature.

Room tip: No bad cabins that I can see.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveja295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILoveSnug, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the detailed review and the time it took to write it. We feel very fortunate to have the staff we do as they care about the work they do. You mentioned you want to tow your boat in some time and I want to be sure to make a clarification. Although we have an old boat ramp still on the property, it is not in use. The fire department required the gravel access into the property but we do not want to spoil the atmosphere for guests by allowing cars to pull through. There are boat ramps at some of the parks and at Roche. But your boat is very welcome at our marina! The fish cleaning station is conveniently located on the dock and we provide crab cooking pots by the fire pit. Come back to serenity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

We had 5 couples staying in the cabins this weekend. Post Labor-Day found the resort still busy. We each had a single bedroom cabin..equipped with a kitchen, living room, bathroom, bedroom (queen size beds) and an eat in kitchen area. Outside we had a large picnic table and a gas grill. Down in the common area, there were fire pits as well as crab cooking pots...just in case. The fire pits are stocked with wood and kindling, though a propane match might have come in handy. The cabins were great, comfortable with plenty of cooking pots, etc. There were discrepancies as to what pans/utensils were in each one, but since we freely traded back and forth, perhaps those like us are more to blame.

The people were terrific-very friendly. The cleaning crew surprised us by cleaning our room on day 2 (we thought they only cleaned every three days). Everything extra that we asked for, they provided us...more kitchen towels, a fly swatter, etc.

There is no air conditioning, but the nights were sufficiently cool to not need it. The beds may need to be updated sometime soon. Ours was fine, a few others had some concerns.

I hope we stay here again next year for our hopefully annual event. This was year #2.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank 469franj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILoveSnug, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind and detailed review! We do provide gas lighters at the fire pits but they seem to have legs. And yes, groups do tend to share things between cabins. This is a problem unique to resorts with full kitchens in every cabin and large traveling groups. We have to do lots of re-sets, but it's totally worth it when we see friends and families enjoying food and beverages together in each other's cabins, the events space, out on the lawn at the picnic tables, and down at the community fire pits.
Our staff will be ready to welcome all on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

My son and I stayed at the Snug Harbor Resort and Marina, and we could not have had a nicer time. Tiffany, at the front desk is awesome, and was very helpful in suggesting things to do and making us feel right at home. She told us the best places to possibly see whales and where to go eat. We decided to use their kayaks, free to use for guests, in which we were set up promptly and spent a few hours kayaking around Mitchell bay. Super relaxing and lovely. The room was super clean, comfortable, and quiet, very close to the water. Loved it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Culture681662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILoveSnug, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We're so glad you had a great stay at Snug Harbor. What a wonderful opportunity to spend quality time with your son!
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews