We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveler rating
380
47
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
380
47
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching harbor seals these cabins free kayaks crab pot bald eagles san juan island short drive easy access peaceful setting coffee bar lime kiln long weekend stayed nights pits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 435 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2018

I was looking for a place on San Juan Island for the long President's Day weekend with my wife and youngest son. I originally was looking in the Friday Harbor area. After some researching, I found information about Snug Harbor where the pictures showed a rustic, but modern set of cabins on the water.

The staff called us the morning of our arrival and told us our room was ready for check in early if we wanted -- unfortunately we couldn't take an earlier ferry. We arrived late, when it was already dark, so didn't get to enjoy the location and views until the next morning. Our two bedroom cabin was wonderful, cozy with a gas fireplace for heating the house, a nicely appointed kitchen/sitting room and well appointed bathroom. The cabin was just like the pictures, rustic feel, but all modern with views of Snug Harbor. If you are looking for something where you can walk into town on San Juan, this isn't your place. You'll have to bike or drive to get to places, but we really enjoyed the remote nature of the property. It was very quiet, right on the water, the owner and staff were friendly and there was plenty to do, especially in warmer weather on the water.

I'd definitely make a return visit here.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 448billc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

I imagine it was quite fun to wake up and take in the amazing view of the bay after arriving in the dark. You outlined what we were striving for when we built the resort. A rustic feel with a modern twist and all the comfort of a home. We hope you can join us again in the summer or fall and take advantage of the outdoors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

This is a place of serenity and peace. Every detail is has been given great attention. The staff were delightful and the place sparkled. Thank you for such a great experience and for such a well done "cabin" I mean these were nice!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Beyond Beautiful is high praise and we very much appreciate it. It warms our hearts when guests notice all the little details that were focused on as we built the resort. We look forward to seeing you soon again Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

We visited as a group of 8. The owners were absolutely amazing. We could sit and talk with them like family. The location was perfect. Everything we needed was right there. The boys loved crabbing at the dock as well as kayaking and standup paddle boarding. The trolley stops when you flag them so you have access to almost anywhere you want to go. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Don’t forget to get a boat ride. We will be back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank N4013GBkathyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

It is always nice to hear when guests are out using the paddle boards and kayaks in our cooler months. We have many beautiful but cold days and there is no reason not to be out enjoying the water. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort and we look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We've been going to San Juan Islands every year for the past 8 years. We go off season and Snug Harbor is our preferred place to stay for the past 4 years. The cabins are spacious and comfortable. Each cabin has a view of the water. It's quiet and relaxing. We bring groceries for breakfast and lunch, then drive into Roche or Friday Harbor for dinner. This is our perfect year-end getaway: walk, kayak, read, nap, watch tv, whatever we want. There's no place like this.

Room tip: If you don't like steps, ask for a lower level cabin.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Wow, I couldn't agree more with your description of a perfect get away. I wish I did it more often personally! Thank you for sharing with other travelers your amazing schedule. I'm sure adding the word "repeat" at the end was just an oversight. We look forward to seeing you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Beautiful views! Kids 16, 13 & 8 all enjoyed our stay, while they had withdrawal symptoms due to slow or lack of internet, that’s the whole point, we talked to each other! Our cabin was super clean very modern but still had the cabin feel, kitchen has all you need to prep a meal. We enjoyed watching deers that were roaming around. We arrived Christmas Day and before our arrival we received a detailed email about our cabin number and how to access. The views from the marina are breathtaking, it was tranquil and peaceful just what we needed. We will be back in the summer.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Samah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

I'm so glad you and your kids enjoyed the resort. While you enjoyed the results of our "island internet", as with your kids, many of our guests don't. By the end of April our new fiber optics service will be installed and functioning and we will have amazing internet service. When you come for a return visit, we could turn down the speed in your cabin if you wish so you can talk with your kids. :)
Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews