We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
331
42
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
42
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards weber grill small store harbor seal crab pot crystal seas san juan island maya's legacy full kitchen main building short drive gas fireplace peaceful setting water view
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 380 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

We visited as a group of 8. The owners were absolutely amazing. We could sit and talk with them like family. The location was perfect. Everything we needed was right there. The boys loved crabbing at the dock as well as kayaking and standup paddle boarding. The trolley stops when you flag them so you have access to almost anywhere you want to go. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Don’t forget to get a boat ride. We will be back again.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

It is always nice to hear when guests are out using the paddle boards and kayaks in our cooler months. We have many beautiful but cold days and there is no reason not to be out enjoying the water. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort and we look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We've been going to San Juan Islands every year for the past 8 years. We go off season and Snug Harbor is our preferred place to stay for the past 4 years. The cabins are spacious and comfortable. Each cabin has a view of the water. It's quiet and relaxing. We bring groceries for breakfast and lunch, then drive into Roche or Friday Harbor for dinner. This is our perfect year-end getaway: walk, kayak, read, nap, watch tv, whatever we want. There's no place like this.

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, ask for a lower level cabin.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Wow, I couldn't agree more with your description of a perfect get away. I wish I did it more often personally! Thank you for sharing with other travelers your amazing schedule. I'm sure adding the word "repeat" at the end was just an oversight. We look forward to seeing you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Beautiful views! Kids 16, 13 & 8 all enjoyed our stay, while they had withdrawal symptoms due to slow or lack of internet, that’s the whole point, we talked to each other! Our cabin was super clean very modern but still had the cabin feel, kitchen has all you need to prep a meal. We enjoyed watching deers that were roaming around. We arrived Christmas Day and before our arrival we received a detailed email about our cabin number and how to access. The views from the marina are breathtaking, it was tranquil and peaceful just what we needed. We will be back in the summer.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank samahsous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

I'm so glad you and your kids enjoyed the resort. While you enjoyed the results of our "island internet", as with your kids, many of our guests don't. By the end of April our new fiber optics service will be installed and functioning and we will have amazing internet service. When you come for a return visit, we could turn down the speed in your cabin if you wish so you can talk with your kids. :)
Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is a lovely little spot to unwind and recharge. Everything about it here is comfortable and peaceful. Accommodations are really nice and have absolutely everything you could need. The staff is really sweet and provide great service. There's a shared bonfire and marina with plenty of activities. We love it here year round. In the summer play on the marina. In the winter bring a book and wine and cozy up next to the fire overlooking the water.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room. They are all nice, comfortable, and have views.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

You've really covered it all. Every season has it's highlights. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort for your San Juan Island visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We stayed at the waterfront cabin #8. The cabin is lovely. The interior is all wood, very cozy, perfectly clean, with a fully equipped kitchenette, and gorgeous windows overlooking the bay. The views of the bay, marina, hills, and sunsets are gorgeous. I mean, the location cannot be improved upon. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave me a map of the resort, and mooring rates for the boats. Two cleaning ladies round the cabins and help with whatever is needed. They even washed the dishes for us, and we left them a tip for their help. If we really wanted to find a small weakness, it would have to be that the walkway from a parking lot to the main office goes right in front of the line of waterfront cabins. Not ideal, as you end up with people looking into your windows when you are in your pijamas while you go to sleep and they walk either to their cabins or to the main office from the east parking lot. The walkway should have been in the back of the waterfront cabins. The cabins in the back are on higher ground with walkways in the back, so they have a lot more privacy. Overall, we really loved our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raid07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you for your review. I apologize if people were walking right in front of your cabin. We have a walkway installed out along the waterfront breakwater and signs directing people to utilize this route so they aren't so close to look in your windows. While this isn't in back of the cabins it is farther away than the walking area that the cabin guests use to go to and from their cabins. We have found most people do stay on the path and enjoy the waterfront stroll. I'm glad you loved your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews