We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
331
42
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
42
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards weber grill small store harbor seal crab pot crystal seas san juan island maya's legacy full kitchen main building short drive gas fireplace peaceful setting water view
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 380 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is a lovely little spot to unwind and recharge. Everything about it here is comfortable and peaceful. Accommodations are really nice and have absolutely everything you could need. The staff is really sweet and provide great service. There's a shared bonfire and marina with plenty of activities. We love it here year round. In the summer play on the marina. In the winter bring a book and wine and cozy up next to the fire overlooking the water.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room. They are all nice, comfortable, and have views.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

You've really covered it all. Every season has it's highlights. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort for your San Juan Island visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We stayed at the waterfront cabin #8. The cabin is lovely. The interior is all wood, very cozy, perfectly clean, with a fully equipped kitchenette, and gorgeous windows overlooking the bay. The views of the bay, marina, hills, and sunsets are gorgeous. I mean, the location cannot be improved upon. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave me a map of the resort, and mooring rates for the boats. Two cleaning ladies round the cabins and help with whatever is needed. They even washed the dishes for us, and we left them a tip for their help. If we really wanted to find a small weakness, it would have to be that the walkway from a parking lot to the main office goes right in front of the line of waterfront cabins. Not ideal, as you end up with people looking into your windows when you are in your pijamas while you go to sleep and they walk either to their cabins or to the main office from the east parking lot. The walkway should have been in the back of the waterfront cabins. The cabins in the back are on higher ground with walkways in the back, so they have a lot more privacy. Overall, we really loved our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raid07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you for your review. I apologize if people were walking right in front of your cabin. We have a walkway installed out along the waterfront breakwater and signs directing people to utilize this route so they aren't so close to look in your windows. While this isn't in back of the cabins it is farther away than the walking area that the cabin guests use to go to and from their cabins. We have found most people do stay on the path and enjoy the waterfront stroll. I'm glad you loved your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

The small cabins have wonderful views, are quiet and well equipped. Take a kayak out and explore the surrounding area or walk/hike to see local flora and fauna. Check out the restaurants in Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor, explore American and English camps and stop in to see and smell lavendar at the local lavender farm. The island is small enough to explore on your own or with a tour in just a few days.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank jjvaca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We came at the end of September for a weekend getaway with friends. Both families had babies (1y and 8m) and it was perfect! Cabins are gorgeous, very clean, newly updated and has everything you need including a grill. We brought our own travel cribs and high chair options. It's quiet, awesome views, spacious. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. This time of year of one of my favorite times. The island has slowed down, crowds have left, the weather is still beautiful and I love the cold crisp mornings. We look forward to having you join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Snug Harbor is a gem. Quiet, tranquil, relaxing. Deer grazing outside our room, bird calls, nice morning and afternoon light over the marina and beyond. Our room was very well appointed, clean and modern. We stayed in the one-bedroom waterfront view. I would have liked to have used the grill but it was dirty and rusty and we didn't see any grill cleaning tools. That was the only issue. Maid service is light, so don't expect a full change of linens or other services, they only check late afternoon. I prefer that over the waste of daily cleanings anyway. In-room coffee(if you don't like powdered cream, bring your own or buy in gift shop) No breakfast except for purchase. Nice little gift shop with non-perishable food items. We caught a whale watching reservation literally outside our door(Maya's Legacy). WiFi is sketchy and according to the property manual, streaming makes it worse. Bed and shower pressure good.The only thing we wished for was one more day, we totally would have kayaked around. Free, and life jackets available. We will come back.

Room Tip: Bring your own creamer if you don't like powder. Stay in waterview, less noisy foot traffic. Don't expect daily maid service.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I apologize your grill was not cleaned. Our maintenance staff cleans each grill after each stay but obviously yours was missed. We offer any level of cleaning and linen change out our guests desire but our standard is a full change out after three days with towels refreshed daily as needed. Our end of the island is having fiber optics installed as we speak so sometime this winter we will have fantastic wifi service. We had hoped it would have been completed in time for summer but it was not to be. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews