We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
331
42
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
42
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards weber grill small store harbor seal crab pot crystal seas san juan island maya's legacy full kitchen main building short drive gas fireplace peaceful setting water view
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 380 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

This was an amazing place to call home for a few days. The rooms come equipped with a full kitchen & a Weber grill on each deck. I took advantage of this to cook two of the nights I was there. They also have a community fire pit, grill, and crab pots if you want to hang out in a group. The views are amazing. A great place to sleep with the windows open. I highly recommend Maya's whale watching. On my trip we followed s group of Orcas for 2-1/2 hrs! The Crystal Seas 3 hr kayak tour was also a fun adventure. Both of these leave from Snug Harbor. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank MLHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for the high praise, we are so pleased you enjoyed so many aspect of what we offer our guests. Maya's Legacy Whale watching and Crystal Seas are two of the best guide services on the island and their trips are enhanced by departing from our marina which is the closest marina to the West side of San Juan Island and the whale movement areas. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Snug Harbor offers a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Friday Harbor. A 15-20 minute car ride to a beautiful little cove. We had a one bedroom cabin that was a perfect spot to make our own breakfasts and lunches and take advantage of a kayak with Coastal Sea Kayak and a whale watching trip with Maya's whale watching (both HIGHLY recommend and leave right from the resort). We went into town for dinner all 3 nights b/c this resort is very quiet at night, but if we stayed longer, would have taken advantage of the private grill on the deck. It was heaven for our getaway to celebrate our 20th anniversary, but the larger cabins would have been great for families or two couples.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor for your time away from the busyness of life. I like to think of our property as a little slice of heaven also. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We spent 3 splendid and peaceful days here. Our shiny clean condo was over the main building. The deck with a nice table and chairs faced the marina where we could watch harbor seals paddle around. We passed deer as we walked to the room. The whale watch left from the marina out front and the boat followed pods of orcas. Our relaxing stay was just what we needed after 3 days in downtown Seattle. The resort location was great as a jumping off point for exploring SJI. The weather was hot and we missed AC but the ceiling fan worked well. The bed was comfy and there were plenty of towels in the bathroom. The digital entry lock was great so we didn't have to worry about a key. Everyone was exceptionally nice, guests and staff alike. Roche Harbor was an easy drive and we enjoyed 2 nice dinners there. If we return to the area we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your review and sharing the small details of your experience. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time. The suites are one of my favorite rooms for the reasons you described. We look forward to seeing you some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Cabin 18. Nice location away from it all had deer visit us at sunset. Yellow jackets were a slight problem and the cabin was a bit warm as the front view windows do not open and we couldn't,t leave door open due to the yellow jackets. Everything else was top class.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nautregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post and review and share your experience with others. It was definitely yellow jacket season. I apologize the pests impacted your stay. We do have yellow jacket traps we can place in impacted areas. Please let us know in the future and we will do our best to place a trap or spray. Their nests are difficult to find in our expansive wooded environment. We are glad you enjoyed yourself in spite of natures challenge. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort for your San Juan Island adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

We went to San Juan island for our honeymoon and this was a perfectly peaceful getaway. I would recommend having a car if you stay here bc it's a trek from Friday harbor which has the main restaurants, but the view is beautiful and you are close to the natury side of the island.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Congratulations on your new life together and thank you for choosing Snug Harbor for your honeymoon! We wish you many happy years together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews