We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
331
42
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
42
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards weber grill small store harbor seal crab pot crystal seas san juan island maya's legacy full kitchen main building short drive gas fireplace peaceful setting water view
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 380 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2017

My boyfriend and I loved it when we first pulled it. From the pictures we knew it was beautiful but when we got there it was breathtaking. Everyone there is very friendly. Not once did we really watch T.V. as we were outside most of the time. I would go back again as I loved it. Very tranquil.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for the high praise, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

While the location is lovely, and the cabins for the most part functioning, the customer service at the reception area was very lacking. Given the price point of this resort, I was baffled by the indifference and detachment displayed by two of the three front desk staff. I got the sense that there may be some management problems at the resort. Simple requests were treated with indifference and gruffness, not to mention unfriendliness.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank alittlemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for the review. I believe we spoke on the phone. We did have some staffing issues that came to a head in May and I apologize they unfortunately spilled over where they impacted guests. As I believe is apparent in many of our reviews we pride ourselves on delivery a fantastic customer experience from the grounds, to the cabins but especially our customer service. I'm sorry we failed to deliver on this effort during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

This gem is even more beautiful than the photo's online. The views are spectacular, peaceful, breathtaking. The landscaping around the cabins are gorgeous. Location is perfect- The Island is small and easy to get to all points, trails and highlights. Snug Harbor has a resort binder with all details, recommendations and Island info.

The cabins are adorable and each one has wonderful views. The fire pit is so fun and we enjoyed star gazing while sitting by the fire. There is a large grassy area by the dock that's perfect for kids. We stayed in Suite 3 ( above the lobby ) and were taken back by how beautiful the view. Bedding is so comfortable ( down pillows and comforters ). The open living room was perfect for the two of us.

Snug Harbor is really a gem. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. You won't be disappointed. It's just beautiful!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kya02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

We try very hard to wow customers in every way during their stay. It sounds like we succeeded with your visit. Thank you very much for the glowing review. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile

Snug Harbor is an amazing place to unwind. We stayed in a one room cabin and it was exactly what we needed for our little family of 3. There are canoes and kayaks available for use and the bay is quiet enough to let my tween take a turn at paddling. They have gas grills for cookouts and even 2 fire pits with wood already supplied for gatherings. This would be great for several families traveling together or even a couple wanting to get away from it all. There is a grocery store in town that is fairly close by car, maybe 15 mins away. If that's too far, the hotel itself has a some groceries available for purchase in their shop on the property. It's a wonderful jumping off place for exploring the rest of the island.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for selecting Snug Harbor from the many choices on San Juan Island. We appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

We came for Earth Day Weekend to do a Great full day Whale Watch with Maya's Legacy Whale Watch and stayed here for the first time. I had always admired it as it was being built but never stayed. We loved it. We stayed two nights and cooked our meals here. The place is just lovely and the staff is very kind and accommodating. We each had our own room and the beds were very comfortable.
The decorating and design of these cabins is chic, yet rustic. There are nice touches such as the dining table base being made from an old sewing machine and a footstool made from a log. The fireplace is very interesting. It heats the cabin via the thermostat on the wall near the bathroom. When you turn it up the flames go bigger. We loved it. Also the cabin is filled with lovely Local Nature Photography, taken by Island Experts, Captain James Mead Maya and Alan Niles.
There is also an exercise room with a lovely view of the harbor above the front office.
The grounds are very well maintained and we noted a few snacks as well as butter and milk and eggs in the gift shop refrigerator for sale. Even the coffee they give you when they cleaned the cabin was local and good.
So, while my heart will always stay at Lonesome Cove, if you have a boat to catch and a splurge type budget do come stay at the Snug Harbor Resort.
The only negative thing I have to say is that the wifi was weak to nonexistent most of the time. That said, it was a good reminder to put the phone down and look at the lovely scenery.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 14 which had two bedrooms and we loved it.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boganvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you for your very observant review. We worked hard on the little details and it is gratifying when they are noticed and appreciated. We are very aware of the wifi signal challenge. As we speak fiber optic cabling is being laid in our neighborhood and we hope to be up with 21st century speed by summer. We currently have the best we can get at our end of the island, admittedly, it does not meet guests expectations.
Thank you for trying us out. We hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews