We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
331
42
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
42
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards weber grill small store harbor seal crab pot crystal seas san juan island maya's legacy full kitchen main building short drive gas fireplace peaceful setting water view
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 380 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

Snug Harbor was beautiful this weekend. The cabins are all new and comfortable. It feels like home. The staff is great! I will come back again. In fact my wife and I are are going to purchase a gift certificate for my mom and her husband to stay here.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

I think one of the nicest, simplest comments we've received in a long time is "It feels like home". Thank you so much!! We have tried very hard to offer everything we can think of, big and small, to make the resort a WOW experience for our guests. It doesn't need to be flashy or fancy but wonderfully relaxing and hopefully intuitively providing for our guests needs and comforts. Thank you for sharing Snug Harbor with your parents and we hope you will return to stay with us again soon yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

The staff at Snug Harbor is stellar! Everyone I encountered, from the front desk to house keeping, was friendly and eager to make our stay enjoyable. They had the fireplace going in our cabin when we arrived (we stayed in a one-bedroom waterfront). The cabin was very clean, comfortable, had all the essentials, and had a warm atmosphere with the floor-to-ceiling wood. I loved all the vibrant canvas photos of local scenery in the rooms, and the stone bathroom floor! I'm not sure if all the bathrooms are like the one we had--it was a wet bathroom--because we had the wheelchair accessible cabin. The only thing that could make that bathroom better is if the stone floors were heated!

The cabin was a great place to unwind after touring and hiking around the island in the mix of weather we had (sun, wind, and rain). During our weekend stay, the resort was quiet, perhaps because of the weather. It looked like just about all the cabins were occupied, yet we didn't hear any neighbors and didn't have a lot of people walking in front of our cabin. With the blinds of the large front windows open, you do kind of feel like you're in a fish bowl, but there's a path directing people farther away from the waterfront cabins, so they're not walking through your "yard."

I would have loved to make an outside fire or use their canoes (they offered complimentary wood for the fire pits and use of their canoes and kayaks), but the weather wasn't conducive for it. The waterfront view was beautiful, though there wasn't much beach to play on. The cabins have blu-ray players, their little store lets you borrow movies at no charge, and they do have wifi, although when we tried watching shows on the Roku we brought, they would occasionally buffer. The store in the lobby had some extra cooking supplies, toiletries, gifts, and snacks that didn't seem marked up too much.

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Snug Harbor and plan on returning in the future. Our three-year old wants to move into a cabin like the one we stayed in now and didn't want to leave. I want to extend an extra "thank you" to the resort for offering a teacher discount too!

Room Tip: Water-view cabins on the hill or rooms in the resort may be better, as they offer more expansive views of the water.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHeartPNW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to offer the teaching discount on an ongoing basis. The cabins are wonderful to hunker down, in front of the fire, with a good book during the less than pleasant weather. Although, during nicer weather the yard, fire pits, complimentary paddle boards, canoes, kayaks and bikes all get a lot of use. While we offer the highest speeds available on the island, our wifi is less than stellar. We hope by this summer that this will be resolved as they are presently working to install fiber optics on the island and are actually working in our neighborhood. That will make a huge difference in our internet speeds. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

Lovely location, a bit out of town, but quiet and beautiful. We stayed in cabin 16. The couch and bed were comfortable. The only issue we had that the outdoor lighting didn't work, made getting around in the dark dangerous, good thing for phones with a flashlight feature.

Wish the cafe would be open in the afternoon, would be nice to sit there and watch the sunset with a cup of coffee, especially in the winter when the sunset is around 4pm.

Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 80s-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Thank you for letting us know the issue with the lighting. Although my response to your review is very delayed we did address the lighting when you sent in your review. The coffee shop is supposed to be open the same hours as our office. I apologize for the inconvience the early closure caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We have never stayed on San Juan before and wasn't sure if staying in the town of Friday Harbor would be better than on the other side of the Island. We were very happy with our decision as soon as we stepped inside the cabin. It was a good size for our family, clean, and nicely stocked with plates, cups, utensils, pots, etc. Cabin has gas bbq on patio that we used for grilling. Resort provides wood for fire pit and roasting sticks for marshmallows. You can also borrow DVDs and games from the front desk. Front desk & Barista staff were super friendly.

Nice view of Mitchell Bay from our cabin. We stayed in cabin #11 (2Q) and felt it was one of the only cabins with a slightly obstructed view of the water since it sits behind the main lodge.

Room Tip: Waterfront cabins can have foot traffic
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KeroppiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Our goal is to equip all the cabins in the best way possible to have them ready for a family to enjoy themselves completely and be able to cook, share meals together and relax. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort for your first visit to the San Juans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Found this property while scanning various websites for places to stay on the island. Am not a particular fan of B&B's, so was looking for something that had some of the feel, but more privacy. This place was it! The cabins look and feel brand new. Very comfortable features and a very peaceful setting. The cabins had enough space to spread out, but didn't cost an outrageous amount. The staff there is awesome! Everyone we spoke to was very pleasant and did all they could to make our stay perfect. Be sure to try their espresso drinks, they are clearly a cut above your normal coffee house creations.

Room Tip: Waterfront are nice, but have the most traffic. Some of the water view cabins are much more secluded, but still have a great view.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oldandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Thank you for the detailed comments in your review and for noticing our commitment to an amazing cup of coffee. We are very blessed to have Mae' with us as our head barista. She does an amazing job and help keep all our staff up to speed on offering a quality cup of coffee. We look forward to having you join us again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews