We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
337
42
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
42
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitchell bay bedroom cabin whale watching paddle boards complimentary kayaks weber grill harbor seals crab small coffee shop views are spectacular crystal seas maya's legacy san juan island full kitchen large windows water front bald eagles
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 386 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017

My wife and I just spent a fantastic weekend here and we will be returning as soon as time allows. We arrived late Friday evening to find our cabin on the water all ready to go and a little fire going in the fire place. These little cabins are about as neat as it gets , from the rustic all wood interior to the stone floor in the shower one can only imagine that this must be what it was like to live in a simpler time. The cabins are best summed up in a single word ... Cozy ! The lodge is situated right on Mitchell Bay with Cabins varying from right on the water (Ours was + or - 40' from waters edge) to a couple hundred feet up a gradual slope that affords a better view of the surrounding area. Their is a nice marina on site with all the standard amenities for those arriving by vessel and the lodge even offers complimentary Kayaks and Canoes for those wanting to explore the surrounding waterways. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting and the little gal that is the receptionist has lots of useful information on what to do and where to eat around the island. I forget her name (My apologies) but she also does double duty as the Barista at The Mitchell Bay Coffee Co. which is located mere steps away from the front desk. I'm here to tell you , that is Excellent Coffee ! Make sure while you're there to stop in and have a cup ... you won't be disappointed. All in all, this is a Great Little Resort located on a little piece of heaven on earth. The weather made it difficult to do much sightseeing or exploring this past weekend (37 degrees and rain) but rest assured my wife and I will be back and soon as time and mother nature permits. LH

Room tip: "Water Front Cabins have a Great View of the Marina , Hillside Cabins offer a better view of the surrounding Bay"
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeandKeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

We certainly appreciate you detailed review and sharing with future guests. Our staff person you were referring to is Mae. She is wonderful and yes, she does make a delicious cup of coffee. We proudly serve Fidalgo Bay Coffee which is roasted outside of Anacortes, Washington where you boarded the ferry to come to the San Juan's. When we do have foul weather it does limit the enjoyment of sight seeing but the offset is it makes time with a great book and a cozy fire all the more enjoyable. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for selecting Snug Harbor Resort from the many options on San Juan Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Escaped to the island after Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. Cabin is quaint and cozy with all the necessary amenities. View was amazing. We brought our own food as there is no restaurant, but the small kitchen was adequate for quick dinners. Friendly staff and easy check-in. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 215beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thank you for the review. The holidays are such a nice time to be in the San Juan Islands. I hope you got over to see all the lit decorations in Friday Harbor one evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Awh these cabins are so adorable and they were super clean and cozy.

The room was very snug, the bathroom was clean with overflow of toiletries, the sink was big and perfect for make-up. The kitchen has complete sets of kitchen items. We were able to make breakfast consisting of pancakes, sausage, bagel, and eggs. The living room was very snug too. The office lady was very nice and friendly. They let us borrow board games! Checking in/ out was easy. Parking was very close to the cabin. Overall a perfect experience.

Room tip: best rooms, unique rooms, affordable, best deals, best amenities, snug, room and kitchen, kitchen in room, private, best hotel for couples.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilveryQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik N, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Some hotels allow you to buy pillows, robes, art, etc., that you enjoy during a stay. Maybe we should have an option to take a cabin home? We have had numerous inquiries about the plans for our little cabins. We would be happy to share them with you. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy your visit was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

Could not have asked for a more relaxing weekend and we are already thinking about our next trip. The new cabins are simply amazing, no detail overlooked. Wonderful views can be had from every cabin. Had one of the two bedroom cabins and it was ample space for four people. Beds were comfortable with good quality bedding. The kitchen has everything you need if you want to cook or there are plenty of food options back in Friday Harbor. I've never stayed at a place a pebble shower floor, but now I kind of want one. Cabins with king beds have dual sinks which is nice when you have to share.

It was convenient having the coffee shop onsite as the resort is a bit remote. Mitchell Bay is nicely protected and has nice calm water, if it hadn't rained would have definitely made use of the kayaks/canoes. Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ghart83181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik N, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Thank you for the review and for noticing the little things. We worked really hard on the little things because we believe they add up to one big wonderful guest experience. The shower floors are wonderful and we actually put them in our main shower in our home. A small foot massage every morning. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

I and my boy friend visited San Juan during rainy season, so not so many outdoor activities, we were just looking for some where for relaxing. This area was totally peaceful and beautiful, but a little bit sad. The servers were so friendly. The cabin was like a small house with everything. Having a cup of tea and enjoining rainy morning with my love were all I expected for this trip.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Yến L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik N, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. It sounds like a wonderful time of peacefulness and relaxation. Thank you for choosing Snug Harbor Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews