We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AmericanParadise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This resort is brand spanking new, and the employees are bright and shiny and beaming with guest service. The rooms are very nice. The beds are super comfortable and the bathrooms are very upscale-all glass showers with rock floors, low flow toilets, etc. The entire facility is immaculate and has free kayaks, canoes, and paddle boards to use at your leisure.
We saw tons of wildlife while enjoying the view from our balcony-including sea otters, harbor seals, and kingfishers fishing. You can only book your room 6 months in advance so book as soon as you can!

Room Tip: The suites have a higher view of the water, but there are one room cabins on the water. If you have...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ttutricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

I agree with your choice of words, American Paradise, completely. Of course, I must confess I'm biased. We have tried to create a San Juan Island experience for our guests that is unparalleled. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had cabin #14 which was a 2 bedroom cabin on the upper level of cabins. It was well appointed and very clean. There was a BBQ that was also clean on the deck, which was very helpful. The real plus was that the resort provided 2 kayaks, 2 canoes, crab pots, fire pits and nice chairs to sit by the water. A very safe harbor for our granddaughter and her friend, it was wonderful to see the tide transfer. I would not want to stay in the bottom cabins and have people walking by day and night right in front of the cabin deck and door. Cabin #16 would be my pick for a couple as it is out of the way. We would go back.

Room Tip: Cabin 14 for a family and Cabin 16 for a couple
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments recognizing the amenities we have chosen to offer our guests. We are trying to have items available that allow people to interact with the amazing outdoors that is San Juan Island. We have redone the landscaping in front of our bottom cabins, installing a beautiful paver pathway along the water to move the people traffic away from the front of the cabins. It has been very well received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just got back from there and loved it there.
Very clean, friendly staff, lots to do, quite, peaceful, relaxing, loved our walks and early morning birds, morning coffee and afternoon wine.also my husband forgot his wallet there when we left, realized it an hour after while waiting for the ferry and when we called them back the manager drove all the way to Friday Harbor and brought the wallet for us ,very freinly, helpful, and nice. We liked it so much that we were planning to go there again next year. Thanks for a great time .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sariyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

Your words describe what so many love about the resort...quite, peaceful, relaxing, long walks, early mornings, wonderful coffee and lazy afternoons. Please come join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My family just left yesterday and we keep talking about the wonderful time we had. Our kids are 10 and 8 and they loved it. The units are very nice and well appointed with all you need and the really large windows overlooking the water are lovely. The kids loved being able to just walk out of the unit to read, play, walk to the water and we could see them. We went on the kayaks numerous times (they were always available when we wanted them)--what a great way to figure out that the kids liked them; only then did we book a real adventure out of Roche Harbor (wouldn't have booked the trip if they hadn't been able to try them though). The people working there are so nice and helpful, yet understated in most ways such that you only see them if you want to. The area was just lovely and peaceful and convenient to get to so many parts of the island. We would stay here again in a hearbeat!

We also went out on a whale watching trip from the resort (Legacy) which was great and so convenient. Kind of felt like we had our own boat in the marina!

Couple of things to know:
- there is only a small coffee shop there which is open from about 8:30am-7pm. So, especially traveling with kids, be sure you have snacks and stop at Kings Market in Friday Harbor to stock up. We bought enough for breakfast and lunch and went out (or picked up in Frday Harbor) dinner. We didn't feel like grilling.
- they don't do decaf there :). I am a decaf coffee drinker and they don't put any in the room or have any in the coffee shop.
- They only clean the units every 3 days (we were there from Sun-Wed and they didn't clean while we were there).
- The unit was comfortable for 4 people, but I think it would be tight for any more. And there was very little space to unpack (we had the kids stuff stay in the suitcase).

All in all, we would definitely recommend it to others like us.

Room Tip: there is no air conditioning so windows stay open. You can hear people walking on the gravel and bi...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review Kelsey. We hope we can be one of your favorite island escapes! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I can't express how lovely the Snug Harbor Resort is. We stayed in Unit 3, upstairs over the coffee shop and overlooking the shore front. The unit was very clean and well appointed and the decor was simple but very attractive. We loved having kitchen facilities and our own propane grill. The owners have thought of everything--bikes and boats available to use, a place to clean and cook crabs, fire pits and fuel. We had a harbor seal who swam around the harbor every morning and great blue herons hanging out all day. We were traveling with our adult son, who slept on the pull out sofa in the living room. There is a good sound system, television and DVD player, if those things appeal. It is very nice that cars are not able to travel right in front of the units and carts are thoughtfully provided to transport luggage, coolers, whatever.

We shopped for food in Roche Harbor, which was convenient if a bit pricey. The next time we visit we will plan ahead and stock up in Friday Harbor.

We are already planning our next visit. The staff's recommendations for activities were spot on and we really ran out of time! It would be a terrific place for a family reunion or a destination wedding.

We loved having autonomy, but if someone wants daily housekeeping, a full restaurant, etc. this is not the spot. It is like renting the perfect summer cottage without the fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HamFas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

We are pleased that you appreciated so many of the little things that we believe are the essence of a visit to Snug Harbor Resort. We want to be that perfect little summer cottage experience with nothing between you and the bay. Thank you for visiting us, we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Snug Harbor cabins are really nice and we loved the location on Mitchell Bay.
It was particularly nice to be able to take charters and kayak excursions right out of the harbor.
I was very disappointed that you cannot see sunsets from the property - the website specifically says that "Amazing sunsets are a regular occurence" - but in fact the cabins face east and the only way to see the sunset is to canoe over to the other side of the harbor. They should change that statement on the website.
My main recommendation would be for them to re-route cars somewhat, if possible, as the dusty, gravel parking lot impacts the experience in the cabins.
But - all in all it was a lovely stay and a lovely location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sally, Thank you for the review and your comments. The Resort actually faces almost directly North with our units running East to West. The Western most units are do have their view out of the bay to the West shielded by trees which does impact the view of sunsets from those cabins. Our Eastern most units have a better angle for the view of the sunset. The sunset can be viewed in it complete grandeur from our docks. In fact, Janice Lehmann recently posted on our Facebook site, "Your sunsets are the prettiest anywhere I've seen in all of the San Juans and Gulf Islands" Her photo, taken from the marina, is on our Facebook page and the photo gallery on our web site. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations in this area. We are concerned about the internal road that passes through the property and the dust that it causes. We are evaluating the possibility of paving this area and the parking that is nearby. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I this place was great, so relaxing and the staff very helpful. Even the other people who just dock a boat were wonderful. I saw the review from the visitor with the family of 20, the area is not that big, maybe they should have thought of other guest at the cabins. We like others enjoyed our time outside, but did not monopolize a big area to prevent others from enjoying their time outside. One more thing the recommendation for sea kayak was awesome and all your staff did a great job for us during our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliesboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Juliesboys, Thank you for your review and your comments. We have frequently had large groups at the resort with no issues. It is just a matter of a group balancing their needs with the rest of the guests. It has never been a problem before. I'm so glad you and your family had a great time at the resort and out kayaking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
477 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing