We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend get away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend get away”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at the Snug Harbor for our anniversary and it was amazing. I was absolutely amazed by how nice and clean the cabin's were. We stayed in cabin 11 and we had everything we needed for our trip. The kitchen had everything you needed to cook with. They had an amazing view of the lake. The staff was very friendly and lent our free to use canoes. We had a wonderful time and it was very hard to leave! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Cabin 11 was a very spacious 1 bedroom with a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you Kelsey for letting Snug Harbor be part of your anniversary. I'm glad you met (and hopefully exceeded) your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your comments with other travelers and since your so close we hope to see you again soon. If your interested, I would recommend signing up for our newsletter as we send out occasional specials only to our internal data base.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    52
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
134
197
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Earlysville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My night at the Snug Harbor cabin was exceptional in every way. It was a new cabin, very exclusive with wonderful amenities and beautiful interior. Great value. Will definitely return. Linda from Virginia

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you Linda for taking the time to write such nice comments. I'm glad we could make your stay so pleasant after all the distance you traveled to come to the San Juan Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I took my lovely girlfriend here for her 23rd birthday. She wanted to go somewhere away from the city and with some seclusion. Snug Harbor Resort was the perfect spot, even though we went during the off-season on the island, we ended up having an amazing time. We stayed two nights in one of the new single room cedar cabins, and everything about the place was just so comforting, even down to the wall art. The weather was rainy (which my girlfriend loves) and the cabin was always warm and cozy. We were able to make our own meals with the full kitchen, which just made the entire experience that much more perfect. For any couples interested in staying here, let me just say that the fireplace is a great spot to sit near, especially when paired with a glass of wine. The beds are tuff to climb out of in the morning, you just want to stay and snuggle. We are already planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Topher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Topher, It sounds like the two of you had a great 23rd birthday celebration. We appreciate you sharing your experience with other potential guests and our very happy that we could play a part in island experience. It is so easy to get her from Mt. Vernon, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had just amazing time in the wonderful cabin. Everything was so clean and new. Staff was excellent even though one had to make a special trip out for us on the weekend :)!! Hope to come stay again soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tessadonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Tessa, The title of your review is my all time favorite. My wife and I agree with you completely and look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in cabin #16. we thought it was brand new. We found out it was actually 3 years old. we had a 1 bedroom cabin, Full kitchen with everything you need. most comfortable bed we have ever stayed on. Great views. Quiet. Free use of canoes and Kayaks. Fire pits available. the staff was super friendly. It could not have been better.

the only thing I would caution, the bathroom feels small. the shower was fabulous and huge but that made the rest of the bathroom small. that did not bother us, but it is something that I feel I should let people know.

Room Tip: Cabin 16 is on the end, slightly away from the other cabins. It felt more private for that reason
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menelson2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello menelson, We are so glad you found us from Edmonds. I live in Edmonds also, what a great town. Thank you for the wonderful review. You touched on so many of the things we are striving to provide our guests. We look forward to having you back for a visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our unit was ready when we arrived and was warm. The location is perfect for kayaking or whale watching as both leave from the dock in front of the resort. Friday Harbor is about 20 mins away but is an easy drive. Only recommendation is for more counter space in bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello BrenaJ, Thank you for the review and for coming to visit us all the way from Georgia. We are glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. We think it is always nice to arrive to a nice cozy room, thanks for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We wanted to take our daughter, son-in-law and grandson for an overnight stay on San Juan Island in the Puget Sound and after looking at a number of different places we chose Snug Harbor Resort and Marina. The reason was so that we could have 2 bedrooms in a single cabin and Snug Harbor was the place. They have recently built all new cabins and this one was beautiful with a kitchen, a nice little dining area, gas stove, and a great view of Mitchell Bay.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They even have a cell phone number to call if anything goes wrong or you need something.

The setting was beautiful and quiet. We had a great night and would recommend it to anyone who wants to see San Juan Island and get great place to stay.

The cabin also had a bbq grill and a picnic table on the deck.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werthmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Werthmeister, Thank you for making the trip from Portland to visit us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the resort so much. We have worked hard to make every guests visit a special visit and their experience here on the San Juan Islands memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
6.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
7.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
12.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
133 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Property: Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing