We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonds, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful two-night stay at the Friday Harbor House.

Having stayed in the past in different guest rooms, for this trip we chose the two-room suite located on the third floor overlooking the town with a partial (though still enjoyable) view of the water. Talk about the perfect romantic getaway for us to celebrate my husband’s birthday! The living room, complete with gas fireplace, sofa, lounging chairs and a dining area provided us with the perfect area to relax. In addition, an oversized jetted tub opened up into the comfortable bedroom, with a queen-size bed and nicely appointed furnishings. Overall, the accommodations were lovely, spacious and well maintained, and the staff continues to be incredibly friendly and helpful.

Even with a variety of nearby restaurants to choose from we were so impressed with our first night’s dinner at the inn’s The Bluff Restaurant we elected to have our second dinner there also. On both nights the food was superb and the service was excellent. Also, don’t miss out on their “Happy Hour” as it proved a great way to sample a variety of delicious items on their menu at reduced prices…..the crab cake is a must!

Friday Harbor House is ideally located in town so unless you plan on touring the island, leave your car at the Anacortes terminal and board the ferry as a walk-on passenger since you can walk to the local shops, galleries and restaurants.

While San Juan Island is a wonderful travel destination regardless of the time of year, we feel that off-season is a great time to visit. Even though some stores and restaurants may close or have shorter hours during the winter, the island is just as beautiful and you are able to avoid the mass of tourists that typically flock to Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    120
    35
    22
    3
See reviews for
63
346
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2010

A wonderful hotel, situated in the hub of Friday Harbor. Conveniently located, so if you are without a vehicle you can easily walk to the hotel from the ferry. We stayed on the third floor with a delightful view of the harbor. The room was very nice, gas fireplace with a jacuzzi tub, large shower and a small balcony. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralCoast0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidney
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

What a delightful surprise. Up-graded to a beautiful room (althought they are all lovely as we were later shown)..thank you so much Lisa.. Wonderful complimentary breakfast. Convienent to everything (as seniors this was important) Will we be back...YOU BET!.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnathonk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Friday Harbor House was a great place to stay in Friday Harbor. It was close to the Ferry, clean, quiet, and the staff was helpful. The rooms were a good size for the money. We had a view overlooking the harbor with a fireplace and a jetted tub. We will be going back again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnathonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I travelled with a friend to Friday Harbor House. I contacted the hotel by telephone and booked a suite. Having read a previous review about a reservation problem, I was a little concerned that there would be a mix-up with the reservation and awaited an e-mail confirmation. I waited 10 days and then contacted them again and did receive an e-mail confirmation after I instigated the follow-through.

It was a little disconcerting entering the hotel. There is no lobby and its quite cramped. You check in at a table. No big deal, really, but odd. No place to sit and relax.

The suite was clean and comfortable. The balcony could only accommodate 2 small, uncomfortable chairs. The paint was peeling on the raiings. The most disappointing thing was the chatter from down below from what appeared to be staff at the hotel on break (?), smoking and on their mobiles. We used the pull-out sofa in the living room as the 2nd bed. Upon returning to our suite a the end of the day, it hadn't been made up nor put away.

Would I stay there again? No. Was the location perfect? A resounding yes! If you re lucky enough to book a harbor view room, you won't be disappointed. Forget the parking lot "view" rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modell, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, October 3, 2009
First of all, I am terribly sorry to read that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Your observations of our reception area are accurate, and we too have identified this as a space that requires immediate change.

In response to the workers smoking in the public park; we at the hotel ask that our team not do this where it may be offensive to our guests. However, we have little control over our neighboring business, and their employees using this space for this purpose. One another note, I do know the owner personally, and will ask if they could have their team utilize a different area for this.

Thirdly, in regards to the peeling paint on the railings, and uncomfortable chairs. We do have plans in place to make these repairs. As for your bed not being made up upon your return, this should happen for each night you stay, and I will be sure to speak with our housekeeping team regarding this.

In closing, it will be my pleasure to personally invite you back to Friday Harbor House to give us another try. We pride ourselves on each and every guest having an amazing experience with us, and I am confident should you choose to return we would be able to provide you with a positive and memorable experience.

Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Michael’ O Dell
General Manager
206.910.3228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

What a great place to relax! The rooms, hospitality and views were superb. We can't wait to come back to the Islands and will definitely return to Friday Harbor House.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2-lawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The best location in friday harbor to stay, clerk Lisa Duke was wonderful upgrading up to one of the best suites on site, with wonderful views of the lovely harbor and a hottub for 2 and a fireplace, within walking disttance of everything, the ferry and many good places to dine. This has been our favorite Inn ever and we travel a lot with the views and special touches by the Inn everything was perfect for our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
350 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Property: Friday Harbor House
Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing