We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a four stat hotel with a 5 star view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friday Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a four stat hotel with a 5 star view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our room was on the third floor (top floor) overlooking the marina. We had floor to ceiling sliding glass doors which we immediately opened. Although two rooms on this floor had balconies, ours had only a safety railing--but no problem as we moved the two chairs in the room in front of the open doors to take advantage of the view and cool breezes. And what a view it was--boats, ferries, seaplanes, all coming and going. There were concerts in the park below the hotel on two afternoons from 4-7 pm--one was a steal drum band, the next more blues and rock n roll. Could be intrusive but we found it added to the overall ambiance. The room is spacious, clean and well-appointed. I did wish I could have heated hot water for tea in the afternoon, but they have incorporated a coffee system which only allows the little cups provided, rather than the loose leaf tea which I always carry with me. Also, I was initially dismayed there are no drawers in this place. Since we were staying for 6 nights, we wanted to unpack and settle in. However, I did find there were plenty of shelves--I pushed books back and used those shelves as well, and we quickly had everything unpacked and felt right at home. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a quirkiness about this place that is probably part of the island lifestyle. Overall, it was an extremely pleasant visit, and I would highly recommend it to friends and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear JoAnn S,
Thank you so much for your rave review of Friday Harbor House. You were very resourceful with the chairs to enjoy your view even more. We do have a unique location and are so glad you were here with us to experience it. We look forward to your return!
Margie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    117
    33
    22
    3
See reviews for
56
328
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Really close to the ferry dock and downtown. Walk to just about everything, but we had parking as well. Our room on third level had a partial view of the harbor and a small patio to sit on. We had both a shower and a jet tub with a door that opened onto the room. This room had AC so we slept comfortably. Continental breakfast is pretty light so we ordered off the menu one day, but explored options in the town other days. Nice big closet, microwave and fridge, and a gas fireplace for the winter. Maybe a little pricy, but this is a smallish, isolated town. We would stay here again. I had called the hotel and asked about availability of the "partial view" rooms when I made my reservation.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask about rooms with view or partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLavenderLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Convenient location w/parking, rooms w/harbor view lovely, others plainer. Rooms, halls, elevator, common areas clean, spacious enough, neutral decor. No A/C in rooms, so much early morning street noise if windows open. Staff very nice. Continental breakfast ok. Local paper available AM. Beautiful view of harbor and neighboring islands from dining room and outside grassy patio.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Friday Harbor House is in an ideal location. Just a couple of blocks from the ferry dock, (would be a little huff if you have heavy luggage but doable) and the downtown area is just down the street. Very walkable little town.

We had a harbor view room with a great view of the harbor and the ferry. Would really recommended splurging and getting the view. We requested the 3rd floor but didn't get it. Stayed on the 2nd which is still nice but you are pretty close to the ground and not much privacy. Also, there are no chairs for you to be able to actually use your balcony, total bummer. The room was a nice size. Bath amenities were OK, the shower a little small/dark/outdated.

Staff- not great. At all. The only nice service encounter we had was Leila and it was at checkout. Everyone else was OK, not friendly & quite cold but polite. Customer service is huge for me and FHH missed the mark here.

Breakfast- very basic. Oatmeal, toast with jelly, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit. Nothing seemed fresh or homemade although the granola said it was. Our friends who stayed across the street had homemade scones & fresh berries, we were jealous. FHH had oranges, bananas & apples.

All in all it was pretty pricy for what it was, but it seemed worth it for the location and probably one of the nicest hotels your going to find in Friday Harbor. Also, eat dinner at the Bluff. Really good food.

Room Tip: If you have a harbor view, request room on the 3rd floor. Be amendment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie O, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Lindsey S,
I have left you a message in the hopes we could chat about your experience and see what we can do. I was very concerned in reading your review. Our goal is always to exceed our guests expectations and it looks like we disappointed you. Please contact me at 360-378-8455 to see what we can do for you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were not impressed with the room! We paid $350+ for the room and it looked great online and was not at all like the premium room we paid for! No air conditioning and was on main level so had to leave the doors open to sleep as it was hot in the rooms! No view to speak of because we were on lower level!



  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 684Gerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Gerald,
In researching I realized your room had been booked by a third party. I wish we had been able to speak to you directly at the time of booking to be able to accommodate your specific needs. Many folks love having the room you were in and we would have been happy to switch it around if there had been an opportunity.

Thank you
Margie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to others. It has nice accommodations, a very good Mexican restaurant and is close to the ferry and downtown. The rooms are nice however there is no air conditioner but it is not needed as at night it got down to 50 degrees.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustChillinJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We LOVED our three nights at the Friday Harbor House. We reserved a balcony room and were rewarded with a breathtaking view of the harbor and, after a brief shower, DOUBLE RAINBOWS! The food, especially at breakfast was also over-the-top.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your return.

Have a wonderful summer,
Margie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Property: Friday Harbor House
Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing