We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can't Imagine Better on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Friday Harbor House to your Saves list
Friday Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West Street, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can't Imagine Better on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

OK, it's on an island where you need to get to the ferry 2 hours early, water is scarce and everything needs to be trucked in at great expense. This place has the best LOCATION and it is so memorable we have been there twice. Its hard to believe that people can complain because of the price when the rooms are spacious, nice, well furnished and the view is UNBEATABLE. Parking maybe a but tight, but what does the best property in SJI cost? This is an excellent small hotel with just 23 rooms and even the "town view"rooms have a partial water view. Service is good, breakfast is included and did I mention the view is spectacular. The only disappointment was that the restaurant (Bluffs), one of the best in FH, was closed on Monday and Tuesday due to a lack of staff.
Great rooms, view, service. I recommend it highly. But watch out for my wife, she makes people take pictures if us overlooking the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Fred,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our commitment next summer is to be open 7 days a week lunch and dinner or maybe all day. We are busy planning and appreciate your critique as we continue to perfect our beautiful Inn. We look forward to your return.

Margie O"Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    108
    26
    22
    2
See reviews for
45
299
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwatwer
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Friday Harbor House is a wonderful thing to do for yourself. Splurge and get a harbor view room with a spectacular view of the harbor and the ferry activity.
The staff is friendly and attentive and can arrange for anything you might want to do. The restaurant is also fabulous and there are other very fine restaurants within walking distance. Very romantic experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Friday Harbor House is ideally located atop the bluff overlooking scenic Friday Harbor. It's a short walk from the pier either up the stairs (one block away - 75 stairs) or, if dragging bags, about 3-4 short blocks (uphill). The rooms are spacious, very clean, and well appointed with modern furnishings. Each room also had a new gas fireplace (not needed during my stay). The entire staff (desk, restaurant, housekeeping) was friendly and helpful throughout my stay...even provided a ride to the local post office to mail souvenirs home! (THANKS, Margie ;-) ) We stayed in 2 rooms over 4 days. Rm 11 overlooking the bay with an awesome view and free access to the back lawn; and Rm 39 overlooking the town with a partial water view. Both rooms were quiet, comfortable and more than adequate. I was very pleasantly surprised that a seaside "mom-n-pop" style hotel was such an outstanding value. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing retreat on San Juan Island. Easily within walking distance to all Friday Harbor restaurants, shops, the Whale Museum, and more. Loved it!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeStheRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, WA.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the water with a fireplace and a small balcony. The price was right and it was a charming place to visit. Loved looking at the boats coming and going. This was very convenient to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgorgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at this property in mid-June. The Island is lovely. We had a great view of the harbor from our first floor room. As the restaurant was closed the night we stayed, we had a picnic dinner on one of the lovely tables provided just outside of our room. The breakfast was very good. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed for dinner on the night we stayed, as we had heard it was great, and wished the staff had informed us of this upon making the reservation. Friday Harbor is very quiet in June from what we could tell. Most shops were closed by 5 or 6 p.m. The weather is a little cool at that time as well. The rooms could use a bit of updating/soundproofing but otherwise a great location on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAP34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We return to Friday Harbor House year after year. It is in a great location, in town with great sweeping views of the harbor, has a free and robust continental breakfast, good dinner menu, and is a short walk from shops and several great restaurants.


Room Tip: The third floor rooms 31 to 36 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved our stay at FFH, Spend the extra money and get on the 3 rd floor. Views are great of the harbor. Enjoyed sitting out in the evenings on the grass underneath the umbrellas watching the ferries and boats.Also enjoyed dinner at the their restaurant the Bluff ( sit outside for the best view). Breakfast wa good in the morning, and front desk staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 34 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tennisngolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Property: Friday Harbor House
Address: 130 West Street, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friday Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing