We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at this property in mid-June. The Island is lovely. We had a great view of the harbor from our first floor room. As the restaurant was closed the night we stayed, we had a picnic dinner on one of the lovely tables provided just outside of our room. The breakfast was very good. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed for dinner on the night we stayed, as we had heard it was great, and wished the staff had informed us of this upon making the reservation. Friday Harbor is very quiet in June from what we could tell. Most shops were closed by 5 or 6 p.m. The weather is a little cool at that time as well. The rooms could use a bit of updating/soundproofing but otherwise a great location on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAP34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    114
    29
    22
    3
See reviews for
51
306
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We return to Friday Harbor House year after year. It is in a great location, in town with great sweeping views of the harbor, has a free and robust continental breakfast, good dinner menu, and is a short walk from shops and several great restaurants.


Room Tip: The third floor rooms 31 to 36 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved our stay at FFH, Spend the extra money and get on the 3 rd floor. Views are great of the harbor. Enjoyed sitting out in the evenings on the grass underneath the umbrellas watching the ferries and boats.Also enjoyed dinner at the their restaurant the Bluff ( sit outside for the best view). Breakfast wa good in the morning, and front desk staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 34 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tennisngolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is our second time staying here, and again we thoroughly enjoyed it. I read a few average reviews of FH House, and I can only guess they have this hotel mixed up with another one on the island. Several improvements have occurred since we were there about 3 years ago: the staff is even friendlier than we remember, there are now dining tables outside on the patio overlooking the scenic harbor and islands, there is a new lobby area being built that looks like a large living room, and the included breakfast is excellent. The owners' attention to detail is unmatched: robes and top-level amenities in our room, small refrigerator and microwave in the room, and lots of closet space. Some rooms have balconies for relaxing with a view, the elevator to upper floors seems new and modern, and there is a happy hour preceding dinner with reduced appetizer prices. We and our friends had adjoining rooms, and we couldn't have been happier. While there are nice restaurants in Friday Harbor, they are all quite different and the hotel's restaurant is our favorite, mainly because of the reasonable prices, outstanding views, and good food.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a view of the harbor or town. Upper floor rooms have better views from what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did have a harbor view which I highly recommend for the experience. We ate dinner on the grass outside 2 nights and enjoyed wine and cheese the 3rd night. The view and cool air are a experience in itself. We found the room fine in all ways. The breakfasts were very good and also enjoyed outdoors on the bluff. We found all those that we talked with on the staff, manager, check in/out staff, breakfast staff and chef to be very friendly and most interested in our stay. The hotel is dog friendly in certain rooms which is partly why we chose the hotel. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Splurge for the harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel has ONE thing going for it -- and it's the reason I gave it 3 stars and not 1. It's the view. The view is spectacular, and I guess it was really worth the added cost because we were here to see the beauty of these islands. However, it was $350/night for a room with dirty carpet, chipped paint, and a door in dire need of repair. The pillows are terrible; the sheets are all pilled up and old. Just a minor facelift would really make people feel good about the money they spend to stay here. I would never stay here again, despite the view.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sjgjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
To Sjgjess1,
I am so sorry to hear that your room wasn’t up to your expectations. That is very frustrating and for that I am really sorry. We are looking into the areas you mentioned and will work to make improvements. For one, we just replaced the carpet in your room, so that is concerning that it looked dirty. I am heading up to look for myself right away! We’ve not had that negative feedback about pillows and sheets before so thank you for bringing it to our attention. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful view and from your other reviews—it sounds like in general that you enjoyed the island immensely. I am so happy to hear that! Regarding your experience with us though, please do reach out to me directly as I’d love to learn more and see what I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow! Every thing about this hotel and restaurant was GREAT! The view was outstanding! Very clean and beautiful room. The food and service was the best! Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had an outstanding weekend! If you get a chance to stay here, you will love it. We did.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranger1rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback of Friday Harbor House and The Bluff Restaurant. It's such an amazing time of year and with a view that can't be beat whether in the hotel as a guest or at the restaurant having Happy Hour or dinner out on the Terrace lawn. Please come and see us again soon!

Margie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Property: Friday Harbor House
Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friday Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing