We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day on the water”

Spirit of Orca Whale and Wildlife Tours
Ranked #6 of 25 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An Intimate Small Boat Experience With A Six Passenger Max Limit for a very personal experience. Whale Watching is our passion! Your goal is to see whales and our goal is to show them to you. Captain Ken has been a professional mariner for 37 years serving as captain mainly on ocean tugs on the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. He has worked small cruise ships in SE Alaska and Inside Passage and Excursion vessels on the Columbia and Snake Rivers from Astoria, OR to Lewiston, ID. Ken has had opportunity to see whale behavior as well as many other marine life on the Pacific Ocean from Kodiak Alaska all the way down to the Sea of Cortez in Mexico and on the Atlantic Ocean. He has seen Humpback Whales “bubble net feeding” in Alaska and scratched the heads of curious Gray Whale calves in Mexico One of Ken’s greatest passions is to share his experience with others and now he is able to do just that by taking you out to meet the whales in their natural environment. He is a certified Naturalist and loves to share what he has learned, with you on the tour.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect day on the water”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a wonderful experience only six allowed on the boat so no crowds! Spotted whales pretty quickly and had a great time! I would highly recommend this whale watching vendor!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JdiamondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    18
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Small Boat is the Way To Go”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Soulmate is a small boat and only takes six passengers so everyone has a great view, either inside or outside. The captain is very friendly. The day we went out we did see orcas. They were not very active, and there were not many in the area, so all of the whale watch boats were in the exact same spot. I would estimate that there were fifteen or more boats. The captain does not seem to be much of a naturalist, as I inquired about some commonly found birds and he did not know what they were. That aside, I believe that a small boat is best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream come true”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I chose Captain Carli because the reviews said he went out of his way to find whales. He also goes out of his way to accommodate his customers - we ended up going out earlier than planned so that he could try to reschedule some delayed customers. Captain Bill helped us store our luggage and pointed us to some tasty sandwiches to take on board. We were lucky - although the whales hadn't been spotted the week before we visited, we saw quite a few whales, including a couple of breaches. My husband and I tend to get seasick, but we had no problem on this boat. It was great to be in a small boat with only a few other people.

Thanks for finding the whales Captain Bill, and thanks for sharing your story :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Of course a lot of whale watching depends on the whales. If they're not out, they're not out and a guide can't do anything about that. I think people need to think about that when they write their reviews, much of it is luck.

I was lucky on the day we went. Found the J-pod and we saw whales jumping and swimming and having a good time. The captain is a great guy, very courteous and knows that he's doing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank j0j0j01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent day whale watching!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved this trip. Our family of 6 chartered Captain Carli's boat for whale watching. We saw 3 whales and enjoyed the sunny 3 hour trip. Beautiful blue water and view of San Juan Islands. Nice smooth ride. Captain Bill was great! Very friendly and helpful. We got deli sandwiches to take on the boat and it was perfect. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beandy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Orca Whale and Wildlife Tours also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Spirit of Orca Whale and Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing