We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day whale watching!”

Spirit of Orca Whale and Wildlife Tours
Ranked #6 of 25 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An Intimate Small Boat Experience With A Six Passenger Max Limit for a very personal experience. Whale Watching is our passion! Your goal is to see whales and our goal is to show them to you. Captain Ken has been a professional mariner for 37 years serving as captain mainly on ocean tugs on the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. He has worked small cruise ships in SE Alaska and Inside Passage and Excursion vessels on the Columbia and Snake Rivers from Astoria, OR to Lewiston, ID. Ken has had opportunity to see whale behavior as well as many other marine life on the Pacific Ocean from Kodiak Alaska all the way down to the Sea of Cortez in Mexico and on the Atlantic Ocean. He has seen Humpback Whales “bubble net feeding” in Alaska and scratched the heads of curious Gray Whale calves in Mexico One of Ken’s greatest passions is to share his experience with others and now he is able to do just that by taking you out to meet the whales in their natural environment. He is a certified Naturalist and loves to share what he has learned, with you on the tour.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent day whale watching!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved this trip. Our family of 6 chartered Captain Carli's boat for whale watching. We saw 3 whales and enjoyed the sunny 3 hour trip. Beautiful blue water and view of San Juan Islands. Nice smooth ride. Captain Bill was great! Very friendly and helpful. We got deli sandwiches to take on the boat and it was perfect. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beandy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    18
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Captain Carli Whale watching is not to be missed when visiting San Juan Islands. The boat is smaller- he takes up to 6 passengers and that is so much more fun and intimate and he finds the whales! He takes you out for 3 hour . He is so personable and knowledgeable. Best day of our trip. Thank you again Captain Carli!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank minzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Captain Carli rocks!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Captain Carli gave us an amazing whale watching experience yesterday. It was phenomenal. We got to see five baby orcas in a group and two large papa orcas. We got to see them spyhopping and breaching several times. Captain Carli is knowledgable and is always there for us. Also whale watching in a small boat is just perfect!



Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yukikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“You will not be disappointed!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We looked at many whale watching companies and are so glad we chose Captain Carli! We had a thrilling time on his whale watdh adventure. Captain Carli is an expert at finding the whales; he was totally knowledgeable about the geography and marine wildlife, with great stories to tell! We would book him again in a heartbeat and highly recommend his tour. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFChick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington, United States
1 review
“Awesome! Great trip.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took a great trip out with Captain Carli today. We arranged everything short notice the night before and captain carli was available to take our call and answer all of our questions particularly about bringing our 13 month on board.

As planned we arrived by ferry from Anacortes into Friday Harbor and Captain Carli was right there to meet us just a few feet from the ferry dock. Our party of 3.5 were very lucky to have the boat to ourselves and we were just fine with that! We took pity on people we saw crammed into other boats.

Captain Carli had already been in communication with his local whale spotting teams and he knew right were to take us. Straight up to Canada! And sure enough we buzzed straight out of the harbor on course with the information he had.

On the way to our destination we saw bald eagles, sea lions and harbor porpoises then when we arrived at our chosen spot we barely had to scan the horizon before we spotted a magnificent pod of 4 or 5 Orca's. We stayed with them for close to an hour at the safe 100-200 meter distance required by law but were subjected to some fantastic views of the whales breaching and blowing and hopping. Just what we had hoped for!

The whales were a little far out, but that's just nature and although we spent around 2 hours traveling to and from the whales we were just greatful that Captain Carli was willing to take us all the way out there and that his information was so accurate!

I would recommend Whale watching with Captain Carli to anyone visiting the area, and a smaller more intimate boat is definitely the way to go!

Thanks again for a wonderful day out Cap'n Carli!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Orca Whale and Wildlife Tours also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Spirit of Orca Whale and Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing