We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B&B in the San Juans...”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stopped for a few days in the San Juans when travelling from Seattle to Vancouver as part of our honeymoon. Make sure that you book well in advance if visiting the islands in the Summer - we thought we were booking fairly early and even then there wasn't much available! Luckily the Bird Rock did have a room - albeit one that wasn't en suite. We shouldn't have worried. The room itself is comfortable and the bathrooms aren't shared between many rooms - we never had to wait to use them. The staff were very helpful, even surprising us with a small bottle of bubbly when they found out we were on honeymoon. The home-made cookies when you arrive off the ferry are a nice touch too. Would happily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 365 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Bird Rock Hotel, Marrowstone suite, for our honeymoon for three nights and it was fantastic. Our room had a private entrance through our own patio, with hot tub (which we used and loved!!), into what felt more like our own apartment than a hotel room. I was a little nervous because I had read reviews that described the rooms as "really loud" due to street traffic and people, but we did not experience any of these problems. I'm not sure if it was the time of year (we had many of the local attractions all to ourselves) or if the previous reviewers came from a place where street noise is non-exsistent. I can see that it might be noisier in the summer, but it never bothered us. It was stormy for about an hour everyday while we were in Friday Harbor and it gave us a chance to retreat to the room and enjoy the fireplace. The breakfast was plentiful, healthy and very tasty every morning. The staff was always friendly and gave us lots of information about the island, even indulging my husband's fascination with ghosts! The hotle is right downtown and within walking distance of several restaurants and a grocery store. We loved our time on the islands and this little "home" made it very special. Finally, we considered leaving our car in Anacortes, but we were so glad we brought it. Nothing was far away, but with the stormy weather it gave us the opportunity to explore and stay dry. I would definitly recommend this place for a special vacation with a loved one and we will always remember our time here fondly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here in mid October - we had originally planned on camping but the rain won and we booked a room at this wonderful inn. Although we were on a budget and had requested one of the "simple" rooms, the manager tucked us in the first night into the generous master suite (which was more than welcome after a long drive and drizzly ferry ride). Truly, the beds and furnishings were top notch - and the fresh fruit, juice and scones at breakfast were just right. The staff was friendly, welcoming and courteous and enjoyed sharing all sorts of island information. The bikes were provided free of charge to tour downtown and to visit local sites. I believe the management of this inn feels slightly guilty about the late night noise from the road and local taverns, but hey, you are staying in a town after all. (and there is a delightful set of fresh earplugs provided by the owner if you are a light sleeper). In addition the rooms had an espresso machne in each to help you rise and shine. The suites with jacuzzis are fabulous. In some ways this small inn reminds me of the NINES in downtown Portland but without the buzz. Be aware however, that this hotel is in the midst of downtown and not directly on the waterfront. Other than that, we couldn't have been more pleased. Thanks to Stephanie and Deb for a warm weekend.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank Katrinka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We just returned from a six day trip bicycling around the San Juan Islands. Rather than constantly be moving from island to island, we decided to make the Bird Rock Hotel in Friday Harbor our base and take the ferry out to Orcas, Lopez, and Shaw Islands for day rides. Bird Rock proved to be the perfect choice. Because of its close proximity to the ferry dock, we were able to easily get to the hotel on foot, even with our bike cases, and then ride back down to the ferry each morning. The hotel even had its own secure bike racks! Because of the hotel's central location, we could walk to nearly all of Friday Harbor's many shops and restaurants, which made it easy to get around without a car.

Although our room was snug, it was wonderfully appointed and very comfortable. As some other reviews have pointed out, noise can be a problem depending on the location of your room. Our room was on the third floor in the back, overlooking a grocery store parking lot, and we had no problems with noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Maya and Debbie. Breakfast was delicious, consisting of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and great homemade scones. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoWheelExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Friendly, courteous staff. Very helpful and made great recommendations. Wonderful newly remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a very nice little hotel. We stayed in the San Juan suite on the third floor and enjoyed our little balcony over looking the harbor ( even with the transformer in the way). The bed is to die for - so comfortable. The duel head shower has great. People were nice and friendly and the breakfast was just great. I would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogalady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Everything here was excellent. From the staff to the freshly baked scones in the morning and the baked cookies in the afternoon to the complimentary bikes, the Birdrock offered everything we were looking for. It is located conveniently next to the ferry and all of the Friday Harbor restaurants and bars. The noise from the corner bar was a bit loud, although this was the only slight compromise we had to make. The rates were very low compared to almost all of the other rooms offered on the island. We stayed in one of the rooms offered with a shared bathroom down the hall and the staff kept everything very clean. They also provided heavy plush bathrobes for the short walk to the bathrooms! The newly renovated rooms are beautiful and the beds were extremely comfortable. When we return to Friday Harbor we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_for_travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $179 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing