We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, SUPER friendly staff, very nice place to unwind”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
mpls
1 review
“Great location, SUPER friendly staff, very nice place to unwind”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Every thing was great. Cool rooms (furnished with Room and Board), the staff was the best. Daily breakfast, along with fresh baked cookies in the afternoon (they gave us the receipe). It was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubbyMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    98
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
59
213
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sequim
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The Bird Rock Hotel has been a real treat. They've managed to blend the character of a historic building with the tasteful, sleek design of modern style into charm & warmth. The staff have been friendly, informative and helpful. Fresh baked cookies in the afternoon with a glass of strawberry lemonade, continental breakfast with fruit and scones in the morning and walking distance to a variety of restaurants to appeal to a plethera of tastes.

What is it you want to do in the San Juan Islands? Simply ask the front desk staff and they will get you hooked up. Now, it's time to sign off, I have an island to explore.
Maria

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSequim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We rented the "Patos" room for one night; it turned out to be the best laid-out and lighted of the second floor "simple" rooms with shared bath. There were only eight rooms sharing two bathrooms, so traffic was not a problem. We enjoyed the courtyard and the bikes to use around town, the balcony with comfy, cushy chairs and beautiful baskets of flowers, and the genuine espresso machine with great directions on how to use it. We slept very soundly and the sheets and comforter felt very luxurious. Of course, the extra service of getting a fruit plate for us when we had to take the ferry before the usual start of breakfast really made our day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

They had a great promotion that gave you Tuesday night free if you stayed Monday or Wednesday. My trip was Mon-Tues. so it worked great. People were very friendly and helpful. Shaw room was just right for one person. Very clean and neat. I noticed in other reviews that the street noise was bothersome - I did not have that issue likely because it was a Mon-Tues stay and I am a very deep sleeper. : ) Airflow in the room was lacking, but a ceiling, floor fan, and always-open window alleviated the problem (and indicates they are aware and trying). All in all a wonderful stay and I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSTravelerEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We had the opportunity to spend a weekend at the Bird Rock Hotel. We were impressed by the hospitality of the hotel staff, the comfort of the room and the terrific view. We were traveling by bike and made this our base for a weekend of exploring the island. The hotel was a great place to come back to, to relax after a day of riding. It is nicely located with shops, restaurants, etc, all within walking distance. We would definitely recommend staying at the Bird Rock.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Incredible. Our only complaint was that our remote was not working - so we were upgraded to a much nicer room! Please support this hotel - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

This hotel is in a great location in the heart of Friday Harbor.

It has been recently refurbished so has a good quality of fixtures and fittings.

We stayed in two of the "European" style rooms which were not ensuite. The rooms were tiny, but lovely and cozy. The shared bathrooms were great, and were always available when we needed them inspite of the hotel being fully booked when we stayed.

The breakfast was lovely, and the provision of coffee in the rooms and cold water in the lobby was perfect.

My main grumble is that the front desk staff were generally not terribly interested in helping us with anything, and could barely manage a smile when greeted. The exception to this was the wonderful young man named Tory (who may spell his name differently). He went out of his way to help us with everything we asked for and was delightful!

In general, the hotel is nice, but the staff need to seriously improve their customer service skills to make our stay a more pleasurable one.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sukiduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing