We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, incredibly comfortable”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We had the opportunity to spend a weekend at the Bird Rock Hotel. We were impressed by the hospitality of the hotel staff, the comfort of the room and the terrific view. We were traveling by bike and made this our base for a weekend of exploring the island. The hotel was a great place to come back to, to relax after a day of riding. It is nicely located with shops, restaurants, etc, all within walking distance. We would definitely recommend staying at the Bird Rock.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2009

Incredible. Our only complaint was that our remote was not working - so we were upgraded to a much nicer room! Please support this hotel - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

This hotel is in a great location in the heart of Friday Harbor.

It has been recently refurbished so has a good quality of fixtures and fittings.

We stayed in two of the "European" style rooms which were not ensuite. The rooms were tiny, but lovely and cozy. The shared bathrooms were great, and were always available when we needed them inspite of the hotel being fully booked when we stayed.

The breakfast was lovely, and the provision of coffee in the rooms and cold water in the lobby was perfect.

My main grumble is that the front desk staff were generally not terribly interested in helping us with anything, and could barely manage a smile when greeted. The exception to this was the wonderful young man named Tory (who may spell his name differently). He went out of his way to help us with everything we asked for and was delightful!

In general, the hotel is nice, but the staff need to seriously improve their customer service skills to make our stay a more pleasurable one.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sukiduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We selected this hotel based on its great website which implied a refined, gracious, modern, upscale, secluded place. What we found was an overall average place, with some good points and many significant drawbacks. The hotel is well situated for walking around the town, and the room (ground floor suite with private patio) was clean and decent size with modern furnishings. The bathroom was also decent size, clean, and modern. The breakfasts were very good (continental with hard boiled eggs) and served graciously in our room free of extra charge. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, we found the following drawbacks. The hotel is not secluded at all, but rather is on a busy street across from a karaoke bar, so the room was noisy at night and at daybreak when traffic starts. We had to keep the bedroom window closed, but the sound still penetrated easily. The shower curtain did not reach all the way to the shower floor, which is even with the bathroom floor, so use of the shower flooded the bathroom floor -- very dangerous. (They corrected this situation for us, but the flaw is typical of the design shortcomings of the place.) The gas-log fireplace is unvented, so all exhaust (carbon monoxide) suffuses the room. Hence, the fireplace was effectively unusable. The hot tub on the patio was great in terms of size and function, but the water was scalding hot when we arrived so it wasn't till the next day that they were able to turn down the thermostat so we could use it. The latch on the patio door didn't work, which made for an embarrassing moment when a staffer entered while we were in the hot tub. The bed was comfortable but the frame extends several inches beyond the mattress so the legs are truly dangerous toe-stubbing shin-knockers. The legs are black which makes the situation even more dangerous at night. Overall, we'd certainly come back to San Juan Island, which is charming, but we would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freddiemerion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

When we booked the Bird Rock, we had NO idea what to expect. We stayed in the Queen room with Shared Bathroom. This is NOT dorm style living. The rooms are small, but VERY clean! So is the bathroom. You get a wonderful basket of shower goodies and robes gently folded on the bed. Flat screen tvs. Free rental bikes. Espresso machine. Did we mention how CLEAN this place is?

The shared space is so stylish and comfortable. There are baked cookies and fresh lemonade with strawberry slices for everyone. Also teas and coffee.

Best thing: Breakfast is delivered to your door. Yum! Fresh berries and fruit, farm fresh hard boiled eggs, cereal, organic yogurt, granola. You decide what you want and how much of each item.

The staff was so nice. We were directed to take a 6 mile bicycle loop on the island. Easily the highlight of our 10 day trip to Washington.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DahliaWaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I was a little nervous when I booked this hotel because there wasn't a lot of information on the website or many reviews to look at. After I booked the hotel, they sent me disclaimers that made me nervous about problems parking and lots of noise. I wish I had known that before I booked it. Anyway, we went preparing for anything and we had the most pleasant surprise. It was a cute little place conveniently located. They served delicious homemade cookies in the afternoon. The continental breakfast was beautiful and delicious with fresh fruit and scones, etc. We had a nice patio to eat our breakfast on. We stayed in the Salt Spring Suite, which I would highly recommend. We went over to their sister hotel - Elements - to swim one day. My husband rode the bikes that they offer for free. The noise was as bad as they mentioned. The bar is across the street and there were definitely people laughing, screaming until all hours. Thankfully, our daughters sleep well and they were on the pull out sofa. We were at the back and were able to sleep fine with their super comfortable beds. I was first recommended to stay at Friday Harbor because it was more out of the hustle bustle. I laughed when I saw it because it is right around the corner from Bird Rock. If you are ok with noise, but want nice amenities for a good price, this could be a great choice. We enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank So_CalGirlsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Renovated small property in a popular tourist town. We stayed two nights in the Whidbey suite. The suite was nice despite being on the basement level; but beware the small step in the middle of the main room -- we nearly took a tumble several times! The price is high, but you will not do much better in this location.

This is an older property that has been renovated in a modern, "hip" style which I like, but perhaps does not fit the original building or surroundings that well.

The included breakfast (which you order in advance from a little menu card) had limited choices but very good quality. You can have it in the lobby, patio, or brought to your room.

There is no pool, but you can use the nice indoor pool and spa of the owners' other property about 5 minutes walk away.

There are free loaner bicycles, but as they are one-speed and the island is very hilly, you may not get very far!

Noise: Very good
(the staff said it is sometimes noisy, but we had no problem)
Hot water: Excellent
Cleanliness: Excellent
Maintenance: Excellent

The staff (apparently all young) are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $185 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing