We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and close to the ferry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and close to the ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed there two nights - one before and one after our 4 day kayaking trip. The front desk was friendly, the hotel very clean and comfortable and the linens were so nice! They had cookies for you when you arrive and a nice selection of teas and hot chocolate.

The morning spread was good as well with excellent scones, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice and teas.

They stored our bag for us while we off traveling which made it easy and nice to bring "town" clothes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaw room which had it's own bathroom. It was very comfortable except that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    98
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
210
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room was very private but a lot of issues (see below). I wanted to check out the other suites but didn't have a chance. The staff was great. However we did ask about some non working ceiling fans that never got fixed and the fireplace was extremely complicated to turn on and off instead of just a wall switch. There was absolutely no place in the bath room to put anything it all had to be put in the living area

Room Tip: We stayed in the marrow stone suite. The furniture was all too big for the spaces. We both cracked...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good green practices. Bottled shampoo and soap as opposed to little individual packets. Recycling reuse of towels etc
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yayaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! The staff was awesome! The place adorable, perfect location, and a yummy continental breakfast!

Our room was the San Juan on the top floor (steps only). A deck with a couple lounge chairs and view of the harbor. A full kitchen, huge bathroom with dbl shower heads and jacuzzi tub. One big oversized chair and a comfy big bed. A side note on the room - since there was a kitchen, there was no table and no second chair. So, if you were going to cook, you would have to go to the lobby for seating, or one would sit on the bed and one on the chair without a table.

Fabulous bulk lavender bath products provided - and...... This hotel actually leaves your towel if you don't put it on the floor... I know wright? Most places still take the towel even though they tell you they want to conserve.

It was awesome having a full size coffee pot in the room, the coffee great. Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 and the scones tasty.

Free wifi - bikes - and flowers everywhere... Inside and out.

PS - I loved the music they played in the lobby - a little techno, classic, lots of variety. One morning at breakfast, many were complaining. The sound was so faint, I could barely hear it over their talking, and constant talking on their cell phones. Which note to property - maybe you ban cell phone lobby talking during breakfast... :-)
An all around great place to stay.... not to disappoint! Thank you!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Casbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the minute we walked in, we loved this place! The receptionist was very friendly while checking us in and told us not to hesitate to ask her any questions about the area. My husband and I were celebrating our first anniversary and there was a card and chocolate waiting in the room for us! The bed was very comfortable as well as the robes that were provided. The breakfast was just enough, with fresh scones, fruit, cereal...We will definitely be back to this hotel when we come back to Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this little hotel within walking distance of the ferry terminal. We were able to park easily in the middle of Friday Harbor and walk to many restaurants and shops. The room was cozy and well appointed. The breakfast offered a fine choice of options; afternoon snack included cookies and lemonade. From the hotel one can easily drive to all the San Juan Island sights. Don't miss Roche Harbor and Lime Kiln Point.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the north side are quieter. Each room has a spot to sit on the outside balcony. S
See more room tips
Green Features: Their practices are extremely environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The warm welcome and hospitality of the staff plus the great location is what really makes this hotel. We stayed in the Orcas room which has a lovely king size bed and good bathroom facilities. The only drawback of the hotel is that because it is close to the harbor and the local market it does get very noisy. We are early risers - awake by 5am- but if not be prepared for an early awakening. However you get a good breakfast and every where is close - we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cool little place with character. Beautiful rooms....ours was tiny but we don't really mind. An amazing breakfast is included. not a lot to choose but what they provide is top notch...home made scones, eggs, fresh fruit , breads, coffee and juices. Our room did not have a bathroom but there are two shared bathrooms. They do not have a pool but they have a sister property a few minutes up the hill (EarthBox) and we did use it. Its a fun place to stay and you are close enough to harbor to walk from. Lots of places around to walk to also...stop in the supermarket. Lots to see in there and fun to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarFlungThais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing