We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Place In Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Conifer
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Perfect Place In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! The staff was awesome! The place adorable, perfect location, and a yummy continental breakfast!

Our room was the San Juan on the top floor (steps only). A deck with a couple lounge chairs and view of the harbor. A full kitchen, huge bathroom with dbl shower heads and jacuzzi tub. One big oversized chair and a comfy big bed. A side note on the room - since there was a kitchen, there was no table and no second chair. So, if you were going to cook, you would have to go to the lobby for seating, or one would sit on the bed and one on the chair without a table.

Fabulous bulk lavender bath products provided - and...... This hotel actually leaves your towel if you don't put it on the floor... I know wright? Most places still take the towel even though they tell you they want to conserve.

It was awesome having a full size coffee pot in the room, the coffee great. Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 and the scones tasty.

Free wifi - bikes - and flowers everywhere... Inside and out.

PS - I loved the music they played in the lobby - a little techno, classic, lots of variety. One morning at breakfast, many were complaining. The sound was so faint, I could barely hear it over their talking, and constant talking on their cell phones. Which note to property - maybe you ban cell phone lobby talking during breakfast... :-)
An all around great place to stay.... not to disappoint! Thank you!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Casbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    94
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
56
206
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the minute we walked in, we loved this place! The receptionist was very friendly while checking us in and told us not to hesitate to ask her any questions about the area. My husband and I were celebrating our first anniversary and there was a card and chocolate waiting in the room for us! The bed was very comfortable as well as the robes that were provided. The breakfast was just enough, with fresh scones, fruit, cereal...We will definitely be back to this hotel when we come back to Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this little hotel within walking distance of the ferry terminal. We were able to park easily in the middle of Friday Harbor and walk to many restaurants and shops. The room was cozy and well appointed. The breakfast offered a fine choice of options; afternoon snack included cookies and lemonade. From the hotel one can easily drive to all the San Juan Island sights. Don't miss Roche Harbor and Lime Kiln Point.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the north side are quieter. Each room has a spot to sit on the outside balcony. S
See more room tips
Green Features: Their practices are extremely environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The warm welcome and hospitality of the staff plus the great location is what really makes this hotel. We stayed in the Orcas room which has a lovely king size bed and good bathroom facilities. The only drawback of the hotel is that because it is close to the harbor and the local market it does get very noisy. We are early risers - awake by 5am- but if not be prepared for an early awakening. However you get a good breakfast and every where is close - we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cool little place with character. Beautiful rooms....ours was tiny but we don't really mind. An amazing breakfast is included. not a lot to choose but what they provide is top notch...home made scones, eggs, fresh fruit , breads, coffee and juices. Our room did not have a bathroom but there are two shared bathrooms. They do not have a pool but they have a sister property a few minutes up the hill (EarthBox) and we did use it. Its a fun place to stay and you are close enough to harbor to walk from. Lots of places around to walk to also...stop in the supermarket. Lots to see in there and fun to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarFlungThais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes it's noisy. Friday Harbor is a buy place in the summer. We stayed before and after a kayaking trip. The Salt Spring room has lots of space fridge and microwave and was quiet and had a private entrance. It's a historic unique old hotel turned boutique and we did not have a car so we needed to carry all our gear from the ferry terminal and walk everywhere so great location for us. Very comfortable amenities and food. Very clean. Private and public Outdoor patio. If you don't mind walking just a little bit more check out the sister property the Earthbox with the pool and spa. It's more modern. Colors very much in feel with the San Juan Islands. Everything is expensive in the SJI so good value. There is a Best Western if you like a generic property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in Spieden room for 2 nights.

PROS
- Excellent location
- Comfy bed
- Decent breakfast
- Excellent bathroom toiletries
- Use of bathroom/shower after checkout
- Computer available

CONS
- Horrible morning noise from grocery store loading dock starting at 5:30am
- Terrible room and bathroom lighting
- CREAKY bed
- Depressing and annoying music in lobby/breakfast

Room Tip: Stayed in Spieden 2 nights. No noise from breakfast area but horrible noise from grocery store parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Yoido,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us. Constructive feedback like yours will make us a better place.
We will fix the creaky bed and look at the lighting right away. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.
Looks like it's time to change our playlist to something more upbeat. We will do that.
We are so sorry about the loading dock. As I said in response to the review before yours, we really try to alert our neighbors to the fact that we have guests sleeping. We put a sign on the loading dock saying "pssst, our guests are sleeping". It's definitely time for some more negotiations with our neighbors.
Please come back sometime. Maybe check out our sister hotel, the Earthbox Inn & Spa, two blocks away. Our rooms there are away from the street and it's quieter there in general.
We would love to have a chance to spoil you how we intended.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing