We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for San Juan exploration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location for San Juan exploration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this little hotel within walking distance of the ferry terminal. We were able to park easily in the middle of Friday Harbor and walk to many restaurants and shops. The room was cozy and well appointed. The breakfast offered a fine choice of options; afternoon snack included cookies and lemonade. From the hotel one can easily drive to all the San Juan Island sights. Don't miss Roche Harbor and Lime Kiln Point.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the north side are quieter. Each room has a spot to sit on the outside balcony. S
See more room tips
Green Features: Their practices are extremely environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    90
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
52
200
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The warm welcome and hospitality of the staff plus the great location is what really makes this hotel. We stayed in the Orcas room which has a lovely king size bed and good bathroom facilities. The only drawback of the hotel is that because it is close to the harbor and the local market it does get very noisy. We are early risers - awake by 5am- but if not be prepared for an early awakening. However you get a good breakfast and every where is close - we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cool little place with character. Beautiful rooms....ours was tiny but we don't really mind. An amazing breakfast is included. not a lot to choose but what they provide is top notch...home made scones, eggs, fresh fruit , breads, coffee and juices. Our room did not have a bathroom but there are two shared bathrooms. They do not have a pool but they have a sister property a few minutes up the hill (EarthBox) and we did use it. Its a fun place to stay and you are close enough to harbor to walk from. Lots of places around to walk to also...stop in the supermarket. Lots to see in there and fun to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarFlungThais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes it's noisy. Friday Harbor is a buy place in the summer. We stayed before and after a kayaking trip. The Salt Spring room has lots of space fridge and microwave and was quiet and had a private entrance. It's a historic unique old hotel turned boutique and we did not have a car so we needed to carry all our gear from the ferry terminal and walk everywhere so great location for us. Very comfortable amenities and food. Very clean. Private and public Outdoor patio. If you don't mind walking just a little bit more check out the sister property the Earthbox with the pool and spa. It's more modern. Colors very much in feel with the San Juan Islands. Everything is expensive in the SJI so good value. There is a Best Western if you like a generic property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in Spieden room for 2 nights.

PROS
- Excellent location
- Comfy bed
- Decent breakfast
- Excellent bathroom toiletries
- Use of bathroom/shower after checkout
- Computer available

CONS
- Horrible morning noise from grocery store loading dock starting at 5:30am
- Terrible room and bathroom lighting
- CREAKY bed
- Depressing and annoying music in lobby/breakfast

Room Tip: Stayed in Spieden 2 nights. No noise from breakfast area but horrible noise from grocery store parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Yoido,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us. Constructive feedback like yours will make us a better place.
We will fix the creaky bed and look at the lighting right away. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.
Looks like it's time to change our playlist to something more upbeat. We will do that.
We are so sorry about the loading dock. As I said in response to the review before yours, we really try to alert our neighbors to the fact that we have guests sleeping. We put a sign on the loading dock saying "pssst, our guests are sleeping". It's definitely time for some more negotiations with our neighbors.
Please come back sometime. Maybe check out our sister hotel, the Earthbox Inn & Spa, two blocks away. Our rooms there are away from the street and it's quieter there in general.
We would love to have a chance to spoil you how we intended.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Loved this place....I usually stay at Friday harbor house but they were full and my sister in law from Chicago saw this place online ....so we booked two rooms.
My daughters and I stayed in the spieden room - her and my niece and nephew in Lopez suite ...
I was pleasantly satisfied with everything.
The rooms were adorable.
The staff...so sweet...and completely customer orientated.
I know some reviews complain about noise....but it is situated right in town and this is an old hotel updated adorably...and I mean adorable.
The little extra noise we heard I didn't care.
The bed was so comfortable. Seriously.
The morning brunch was great. Fresh fruit, etc. coffee was delicious and I'm a coffee snob.

Sweet atmosphere all around.
I'd recommend this hotel for couples ...or if someone is traveling solo.
It did get slightly warm in our room...so we pulled out a fan for the night.
Nice staff.
.

Room Tip: I wasn't street side...so quieter by our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had an opportunity to stay at this lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Friday Harbor. The room was well appointed, the amenities carefully chosen. It was a bit on the snug side, with no desk for those of us who still needed to be bound to the outside world with a laptop. But the staff was more than gracious and helpful. The free breakfast in the lobby with fresh baked scones was a great way to get the day started. There's no parking lot, and finding a spot on the weekend can be a bit of a challenge. But overall, it was a wonderful experience, and one we'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with an included bath. Also, if you have a lot of luggage you might ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcointreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing