We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old house but clean”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The house looks old from outside, but the rooms are very clean. We chose the Cypress, a small room in the top floor. The room has a vaulted ceiling, and the space was very limited. It was mostly quiet at night, except that we were woken up by a truck unloading goods right outside our windowat 7:00AM or so. Their breakfast was nice - loved their scones and all kinds of berries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel sits just a few short blocks from the ferry and has been beautifully renovated. Clean and crisp with cozy beds and linens. We were in the honeymoon sweet which had a small deck off the kitchenette. Spacious room and bathroom. The decor is modern and comfortable. Everything downtown is walkable in minutes. They have a sister hotel with a spa which we did not use, but it was a great service to know.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissinaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took advantage of a Groupon to come to Friday Harbour, not too far from our home in Victoria BC. The offer was for one of their smaller rooms, so keep that in mind. The facility has other rooms that are bigger and have more advantages. As far as the room we had (The Sucia), it was very nice but didn't have a bathroom. This was part of the offer. Frankly, it's not something I would do again. The room is on the top floor and the bathroom is down a flight of stairs. When we checked in we offered to pay more to upgrade to a room with a bathroom, we were refused. I can't understand this. Why would a hotel refuse to make more money by upgrading your room?? Very strange. The hotel was at least 3/4 empty! Apart from that, the hotel is well located, the breakfast was very good and the hotel is very clean and well appointed. ... but honestly, I wouldn't stay there again. So although the service was good enough and the hotel was nice, not being able to pay for an upgrade, was enough for us to decide not to stay here when we return to visit Friday Harbour again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an attached bathroom or at least a room that is on the same floor as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Traveller1561,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so happy to hear you liked our hotel, the location and our service.
We are so sorry we weren't able to grant you a room upgrade. We love to do Groupon promotions and are very happy so many of our lovely guests take advantage of those awesome deals. The folks at Groupon write a tight contract (they have to) and we could potentially get in really hot water if we break any of it. The promotion you took part in didn't allow for any room upgrades. We apologize for not making this clear and leaving you believing we are just inflexible and stubborn. We aren't.
Please come visit us again. In the summer we are mostly unable to do upgrades because we are sold out. But in the shoulder season, that's what we do.
Please promise me to contact me directly the next time you come to San Juan Island in the shoulder season. We would love to spoil you.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
steffi@earthboxinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great beds, nice rooms,and friendly staff. Good breakfast with excellent fresh baked scones, though some whole grain options and unsweetened yogurt would be nice. The freshly baked cookies, lemonade and coffee in the lobby in the afternoon is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesmithvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love this hotel! My husband and I got a deal on Living Social for 2 nights at the Bird Rock...Everything was great. The hotel was beautiful with a very calm and spa like décor. A nice bed, natural bath and hair products, a very good continental breakfast, and evening cookies...I can't remember the names of the front desk workers but man did they provided great service with a smile!! The hotel is located a very short walk from the ferry dock and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and harbor life...I loved my stay and absolutely plan to go back.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs this might be a challenge for you or you will need to stay on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slstartsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Everything was great. Our room was comfortable and had an extra seating area and access to the west facing balcony (very nice in the early evening). big cudos for having bath products in pump bottles rather than the multiple mini plastic 'kill the planet' bottles, also big cudos for having natural products and low scent (and natural scent) products. I loved the option to keep our towels for an extra day to save water etc.
We had access to the swimming pool at their sister hotel the Earthbox inn and spa, a couple of blocks away but didn't get there.
Location is a block off the center of the town so very easy to get to restaurants etc.
Breakfast was light (continental) but had fresh fruit and yogurt and hard boiled eggs for a protein hit.
The service was very good - went that extra bit for things that weren't immediately apparent. Overall a great stay - thank you

Room Tip: go - enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellllaaaa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Bird Rock Hotel. I surprised my husband with a weekend
get away for his birthday, We have stayed in other hotels in Friday Harbor before, but this
was by far the best. The room was beyond our expectations, top floor,beautiful view from the room and the deck and within walking distance to everything in town. Tory gave great recomendations for dinner and entertainment. We have already booked our next weekend get away.
Thank you Tory and Bird Rock Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithj907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
165 reviews
12.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $184 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing