We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local fresh food and fantastic service”
Review of Coho Restaurant

Coho Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Coho Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Spring
Description: Coho Restaurant serves Island grown Pacific cuisine with a Mediterranean flair. Coho's Chef creates exciting menus developed around the seasonality of fresh ingredients from the surrounding Islands. Each night, this "Best of the San Juans" restaurant menu showcases simple and artful fare that allows the flavors of the individual ingredients to resonate on the palate. Coho's wine cellar has been recognized by Wine Spectator with an Award of Excellence. Coho is set in a historic Craftsman House - three blocks from the ferry landing in walkable downtown Friday Harbor. Coho's intimate setting provides the perfect atmosphere for a fine dining special celebration or a relaxed night out with friends. Consider making a night of it at one of our nearby Inns.We invite you to dine with us and Savor the San Juan Islands! Buon Appetito!
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local fresh food and fantastic service”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

My husband and I went to the San Juans for a weekend getaway and we stumbled upon this restaurant quite literally! I have to say the location on a back street in Friday Harbor is not the best, but then maybe that's why this little (and I meen little) gem of a place is doing so well. We didn't make reservations (MISTAKE...make them!) but they were great to accomidate us walk-ins and we were seated in 10 minutes. Fresh salad the chef picked from her garden that day, great wine, I had some risotto that made me want to lick the plate...great atmosphere with candlelight and just 8-10 tables in the whole place. Only complaint...the servers kept opening and closing the big barn doors that seperated the kitchen from the dining area which was a bit loud and distracting. We will be going back EVERY time we visit the San Juans!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank professorCharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    70
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Last Supper (a/k/a Rehearsal Dinner)”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We recently held our rehearsal dinner at Coho and loved it. The warm atmosphere, mouth-watering food and delightful wine pairings made for a great start to a wonderful wedding weekend. Anna Maria and team took the extra effort to create a menu and add those special touches that turned a meal into a night to remember.

If you're in Friday Harbor, don't miss the chance to enjoy a meal at Coho.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Hidden away from the hustle and bustle on Nichols Street in Friday Harbor is Coho. The food was all locally sourced, well prepared, innovative and delicious. The wine list is eclectic and varied and even showcases some local wines from San Juan and Whidbey Islands. The heirloom tomato salad was outstanding as was our salmon. The food was attractively presented. Desserts were delicious. We'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank BlueBear4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience. Coho Restaurant is Island Certified Local and sources our ingredients from San Juan and the surrounding Islands. We were really excited to be recognized two years in a row with a Wine Spectator Award of Distinction. While we source our food locally, our preparations are international in scope so we like our wine list to reflect that diversity of flavors. Thanks again for dining with us and hope to see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had an absolutely fantastic meal! From the salmon bisque to the poached halibut to the lamb on skewers, the meal was impeccable. The service was great, and we couldn't have asked for more. The pricing was fair and equivalent to much poorer restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to write about your dinner at Coho Restaurant. The lamb dish was one of my summer favorites as well. We sourced the lamb from Horse Drawn Farm over on Lopez Island (a neighbor Island to San Juan Island where Coho is located). The lamb had a Spicy North African Marinate Over a Fattoush Salad
of Grilled Pita, Heirloom Cherry Tomatoes, Kalamata Olives, Arugula & Feta Cheese & Cucumber Yogurt Sauce & Pickled Onions. It was satiating but light for a hot summer day.
Glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect anniversary dinner”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

what a wonderful place for a memorable meal. Local ingredients done very well, paired with a great wine. We had a leisurely dinner and the server (possibly also the owner) treated us like we were guests at his home dinner table. Love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to write about your experience. Coho is a small boutique restaurant with only 8 tables. Dave and I, the owners work the front of the house. Since we are a small staff, we all work collaboratively to ensure that all of our guests have a perfect evening. Chef Ali at the helm in the kitchen works closely with local farms and producers to ensure that we serve the freshest ingredients possible. Dave and I develop the wine list to pair with Ali's preparations. We hope to have you for dinner again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coho Restaurant also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Coho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing