We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience!”
Review of Coho Restaurant

Coho Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Coho Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Spring
Description: Coho Restaurant serves Island grown Pacific cuisine with a Mediterranean flair. Coho's Chef creates exciting menus developed around the seasonality of fresh ingredients from the surrounding Islands. Each night, this "Best of the San Juans" restaurant menu showcases simple and artful fare that allows the flavors of the individual ingredients to resonate on the palate. Coho's wine cellar has been recognized by Wine Spectator with an Award of Excellence. Coho is set in a historic Craftsman House - three blocks from the ferry landing in walkable downtown Friday Harbor. Coho's intimate setting provides the perfect atmosphere for a fine dining special celebration or a relaxed night out with friends. Consider making a night of it at one of our nearby Inns.We invite you to dine with us and Savor the San Juan Islands! Buon Appetito!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great food and service made for a memorable dining experience in the San Juans. The owners do an awesome job of making sure you have a wonderful experience. The place is small, so I would definitely make reservations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RhondaMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    70
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Include Coho in Dining Plans”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful meal in this small but elegant restaurant in downtown Friday Harbor? All courses were excellent and the halibut was special.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveP05201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coho restaurant food is excellent”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wow, amazing food, great, friendly service in a cozy, lovely linen setting. Price was worth it. We are doodies and really appreciated this place. We had steak...most amazing, scallops, salmon and home made black cherry chocolate ice cream. Wine selection was very good....we like reds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a Diminutive Dining Room”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Coho restaurant dining room is the former living space of a small bungalow house. Accordingly, there are only about 8-10 tables. We found the food to be very good relative to other dining choices available in Friday Harbor. All in our group of 3 ordered fish, which was of high quality and prepared exactly right. The appetizer and main course dishes were prepared with skill,and featured fresh local ingredients. All in our group were pleased with their choices. The wine list allowed for a nice selection without breaking the bank.

Depending on the size of groups seated, the small dining room has an initimate feel or can be noisy and energetic. For most of our dinner, tables were occupied by 2-4 patrons and we had a very pleasant and initmate atmosphere. As we completed our meal, a group of 10-12 was seated and the the noise level rose considerably, making for a very different dining experience. If you're looking for an intimate atmopshere, we'd suggest you ask whether there are large groups being seated the night of your reservation. Either way, we expect you won't be disappointed by the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
286 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, average food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Service was really good, but the food just wasn't exceptional. The tuna tartar was a very small portion and didn't taste all that fresh. The pork was good, but not exceptional. It would not be my first choice of restaurants.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coho Restaurant also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Coho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing