We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, it isn't the Ritz...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk
Ranked #262 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We were only in town for the night to see the Riverwalk and Downtown... a stopover on a very long road trip east. We stayed here to save money. We weren't expecting much. The rooms are large and comfy, but very dated and dirty. The only good thing about this place was the WiFi. We were unable to take showers there because the bathtub was FILTHY and there was no hot water. **IT IS** within walking distance to the Alamo and Riverwalk, but the immediately surrounding blocks are a little scary and we were uncomfortable walking back and forth. Entire property needs renovation badly. As I said, it was just a road trip stopover... we weren't expecting much... we don't have unrealistic standards... but I don't think it's too much to expect to be able to BATHE. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirtualBizWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

This hotel is only a few blocks from an entrance to the Riverwalk, saving us the hassle and expense of parking. They were in the process of remodeling, so hopefully it will be modernized soon... it was very outdated. But for the location and the price, we were very pleased. The continental breakfast was very convenient. We will definitely stay there the next time we visit the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I think it's not a good option in San Antonio. It's a cheap hotel but for the same price you could find something better. The pictures are really different that the reality. It's a dirty place, smell bad and is not clean. I didn't have a good experience there. Moreover, the breakfast it's poor in quality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piedrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Good price for good location. Breakfast was funny, but they have good WiFi, though.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
Thank AnsisBValmiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Our destination was the River Walk. We stayed in a double (123). Price was half what the hotels on the river cost. Its about a 10 minute walk or easy drive to the River Center Mall / River Walk / Alamo. We drove and parked at the mall. I give the location a "B"

The staff was nice and helpful. I give them an "A."

I strongly suggest asking to see the room first . The first room I checked (105) smelled like wet dog/carpet. The second one was better. The overall cleanliness of the room gets a "B" because the shoer mate was stained (My Opinion: stains on things like bath mates, towels and sheets are a real turn off) everything else was okay.

The condition of the Hotel and Room in general was less than desirable. The outside, while clearly old, was clean but not super attractive - Functional. The interior needed repairs. Missing ceiling tile in bathroom, Some sheetrock repair needed. I give the condition of the room a "D."

The beds were not great. If you are used to pillow top comfort, this one is not for you. If you can sleep anywhere and you only plan to stay a night or 2, it works. I give the beds a "C."

The Breakfast gets a "B." Better than the average but not the best I've had. For this class hotel it was pretty good.

Considering the price compared to the others I checked in the area; the fact that we only stayed 1 night and we are mostly concerned with cleanliness and location, I would cautiously consider staying at this location again. Always check the room first.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoffeemakerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

The hotel was close to the Alamo and the Riverwalk however there were several homeless people on the sidewalks for two blocks. Several buildings around the hotel have been boarded up and except for the homeless, we had to walk back to the hotel alone for about 4 blocks. There was a half inch gap between the door and the jamb and wasn't secure. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone except the tough.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMisery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

great price, close to downtown, rooms clean, staff friendly.
suggestions put plastic chiars on balconies to sit at night.
will come again

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonticelloOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk

Address: 405 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1927 (Formerly The Inn at Alamo RiverWalk Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $48 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our San Antonio, TX, hotel near The Alamo is a great value so you get the most out of your trip. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access,Iron & board,Coffee maker and non-smoking rooms are available.We do offer free parking for our guests,After a busy day, relax with a swim in our outdoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.Our hotel in San Antonio is within walking distance of The Alamo,Famous Riverwalk &Convention Center. There is a trolley stop across the street from our hotel which covers all Downtown attractions.Catch a live show, musical performance or sporting event at Alamodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing