We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room got fire!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk
Ranked #271 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This has been the worst hotel ever. Please don't go there ever!!!! I read several reviews about this hotel and they said bad things about it but with a great location on the downtown. Yeah a great location to be killed because the neighborhood is horrible!

1. The "free" breakfast is horrible!! They only have like 7 tables and if you get there a little after 7, you will have to eat standup.

2. On my second night at 11:00pm, the room above mine got fire!!!!!. The San Antonio firefighters came and the evacuated all the guests, they controlled the fire after several minutes. I was standup at 1:00 am outside of the hotel hoping that my thing were ok freezing at 32F. After several hours, I was allowed to get my things, everything was wet and my laptop was broken!!. The manager of the hotel offered me a different room that was crappy, with pizza boxes, the rug had stains on it, the room stinks, and the heater wasn't working.

So, I told him that I was not going to sleep there, so he offered to move us to a different hotel called Super 8. It was just aside the highway!!! We didn't have a car and there was no bus stop. So for the next days we had to walk to the downtown, my mom got sick with a very strong cold because of the cold of that night and because of the smoke inhaled!!

A few days later I went with the manager to get paid for my computer and he told me that the he is waiting for the insurance to pay. There has been a month since that, and the hotel hasn't paid me anything!!!!!!!

Seriously, if you don't wanna spend money and hotel, think again, it could cost you your live!!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room!!!!!! Seriously please don't go here, it's unsafe and your room ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are sorry , the incident happen in our hotel . But do understand this incident was not in our control , We have turned almost 90 % of hotel in to non smoking room . We have been upgrading complete rooms . Regarding your broken laptop ,the claim has been forwarded to insurance company , which could take anywhere between 30 to 90 days. we have been following up with them . if you need more information on that , please do not hesitate to contact me directly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank STEPHANIE Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We moved to this motel after a poor experience at another national brand nearby. We had the handicapped accessible room and found it clean and comfortable; staff was very helpful. Good value for the money. Good downtown location. Slept in and missed breakfast. We did not find the location noisy at all. We intend on staying again the next time we are in San Antonio. It's not The Ritz, but it is quite suitable if you need a place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank MICHELE W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

very old and shabby
but cheap and very close to river walk
also close to greyhound station and megabus station
breakfast is less than average
clearness is average
staff Lisa was very very kind and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONGHYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank GUS S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank WILLIAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#102 of 357 in San Antonio
81 reviews
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk

Address: 405 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1927 (Formerly The Inn at Alamo RiverWalk Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $53 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our San Antonio, TX, hotel near The Alamo is a great value so you get the most out of your trip. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access,Iron & board,Coffee maker and non-smoking rooms are available.We do offer free parking for our guests,After a busy day, relax with a swim in our outdoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.Our hotel in San Antonio is within walking distance of The Alamo,Famous Riverwalk &Convention Center. There is a trolley stop across the street from our hotel which covers all Downtown attractions.Catch a live show, musical performance or sporting event at Alamodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing