We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk
Ranked #263 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location but...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location but...

The room was shabby. Bed linens looked very dingy and worn but smelled clean. Curtains were crumpled with hems hanging down. Some sort of coating on the bath was peeling off. It was difficult to get a suitable temperature in the shower and on the second morning water from the toilet was leaking onto the bathroom floor.

The hospitality was a bit mean. For a room with 2 queen beds there were 2 bath towels, 1 hand towel and 1 wash cloth. Coffee and the meagre complimentary toiletries were not replenished after the first night. The price of the room for the second night was the same as the first night and these items would have been provided for new occupants - so it seemed petty not to have restocked the bathroom. Breakfast consisted entirely of a limited range of sweet items.

We stayed for 2 nights because the location was so convenient but we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking out time & writing review, please accept my personal apologies, the concerns will be taken care of & it a very good feed back for us, it does help us to improve. We are doing remodeling of the rooms, which is in progress at present. If future travel brings you to San Antonio, please be our guest, I am sure you will like our newly remodeled rooms.
Again please accept my personal apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    70
    65
    64
    125
See reviews for
105
97
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

this what i call DEAL , we did got a good deal on price , ,good rooms, good location. We checked in last week , ,rooms were Nice , Alamo/riverwalk was in walking distance , All employees were nice . Basically i have no complaints & was happy with the stay. keep it in mind , it is a Travelodge , so that`s what i expected to get.

Room Tip: Rooms on Broadway side is much noisy ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here on my visit to the riverwalk and Alamo and very disappointed. The room was basically clean but not to my liking. There was a rain storm and there was water coming into the room. I was on the ground floor of a 3 story motel but the water was running down the wall. This problem has obviously existed for a long time as sign of futile attempts at repair were very obvious.
The thermostat was broken and the only way to turn the air on and off was to hit the reset switch on the unit plug. It was inefficient as the unit was placed high above the window and the vent blew the air directly into the ceiling and continued to run unless it was manually turned off and was noisey which meant a very restless night
The location is ok with just a half mile walk to the Alamo and riverwalk.This is the only good point to this motel.
I will pay a higher price next time rather than stay here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time & review us, your candid comments does helps to improve & focus on the things required immediate attention. We are also doing the remodeling of the rooms completely. If future travel brings you to San Antonio, please be our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Blythe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location!! Room was clean and the shower was great--lots of water pressure. There was three of us so we had a roll away bed and still had lots of room. The desk clerks were so nice and helpful. The manager was also very nice--my flight was later in the day and he let me stay past check out time. Good Experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiLia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking out time & writing review , We are in service industry & when we hear such kind words we do get motivated . I do share our reviews with entire staff , so everybody knows what we do wrong & what we do right. On behalf of entire staff we do appriciate your time & we do thank you . We cant wait to see you when future travel brings you to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#122 of 356 in San Antonio
726 reviews
Best Western Alamo Suites
#88 of 356 in San Antonio
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk

Property: Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk
Address: 405 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1927 (Formerly The Inn at Alamo RiverWalk Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our San Antonio, TX, hotel near The Alamo is a great value so you get the most out of your trip. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access,Iron & board,Coffee maker and non-smoking rooms are available.We do offer free parking for our guests,After a busy day, relax with a swim in our outdoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.Our hotel in San Antonio is within walking distance of The Alamo,Famous Riverwalk &Convention Center. There is a trolley stop across the street from our hotel which covers all Downtown attractions.Catch a live show, musical performance or sporting event at Alamodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing