We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not upscale, but worth the discount”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk
Ranked #263 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not upscale, but worth the discount”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This older lodge has seen better days. If you are looking for landscaping and decorating this isn't it. The grounds and elevators and stairs are dirty and worn out.

The staff was very freindly and helpful. I was impressed that they were refilling all the breakfast foods, limited as they were, at 15 minutes before the end of breakfast. Most cheap hotels throw what they have out and when it's gone, so's the staff!
Our room was clean. The king bed was very comfortable, the air-conditioning was cold, the shower was hot. We really had no complaints. Oh yeah, limited television channels, and the pool is very small.

We stayed here for a business meeting (at the Hyatt), but didn't want to pay the extra $300 for two nights over there. We were four short blocks from the Riverwalk, the Alamo and the other attractions, so we walked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review , We here at travelodge do belive Right Price for right product . We are doing remodelling , total face lift of the rooms , We did completed almost 1st wing , which is all double beds , If future travel brings you to San Antonio , please be our guest .
Again thank you for taking time to write review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    65
    64
    123
See reviews for
103
95
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

good quality hotel, only 10 mins from the alamo.arrived at 11am but was allowed to check-in by friendly staff. rooms air conditioned. would certainly stay in this hotel again. also san antonio excellent place to visit

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
I thank you for taking out time & writing Review , if future travel bring you to San Antonio , please be our Guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our experience was an awful one! Temperture in room felt like 125 degrees on check in. I became very sick and of course we moved to an other room, not any better. Rooms were not clean they scream for much attention, never again we will do this-rent on line in such a filthy torn up place!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, Manager at Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
please accept my personal appologies for the inconvenince you experenced , I assure you we will take measures to prevent this kind of inconveinance for any future guest. it was not our intention to rent the room where A/C is not working properly . I also thank you for taking the time to let us know of this situation. If you have any futhur concerns please do not hesistate to contact me directly . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I used my hotel points to get this one and since it was a vacation for family thought I would up it to second tier to get this one. The place was a dump. The curtains were falling off the wall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msemerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My Partner and I would stay no place else, warm homey feel , staff that goes out of thier way, with out all the pomp and phoney feel of the big name chains.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonticelloOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed there last week friday & staurday . We were early , the hotel allowed us to park .We visited Alamo, which was in walking distance . after lunch around at 1 pm they did allowed us to check in . rooms were nice , Bathroom looked newly remodelled , Mattress were confortable, A/C looked new . We had an accident from our side , my Daughter spill her coke on the Bed , i had to request Houskeeping to come by & change the sheets , the nice part was it was around 6 pm , & they did send the Housekeepers to change the bedding. Front desk was full of information. We enjoyed the hotel & city . Riverwalk was also walkable . while coming back from riverwalk , we were tired , e took the trolley whcih had a stop right out side hotel. Hotel had free breakfast , Wi FI . the only problem i faced was the breakfast timing was too short . it ends at 9.30 am !! . i did recomend to Maanger while checking out for extending breakfast hours . overall very good location , very good price & good rooms. will go again if we come back to san antonio.

Room Tip: Ask for Newly remodelled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooltraveller07086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

service was more than i expected . I was way too early for check in , they did allowed me to check in . my trip was for buisness, it is a perect location . i am planning to go again in long weekend with family. Alamo / riverwalk is in walkable distance. Room was great, prices are realistic. as per me it is value for money . free parking , breakast, Wi -fi , just adds up in value. will advise readers to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjayspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#120 of 355 in San Antonio
714 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk

Property: Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk
Address: 405 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1927 (Formerly The Inn at Alamo RiverWalk Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our San Antonio, TX, hotel near The Alamo is a great value so you get the most out of your trip. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access,Iron & board,Coffee maker and non-smoking rooms are available.We do offer free parking for our guests,After a busy day, relax with a swim in our outdoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.Our hotel in San Antonio is within walking distance of The Alamo,Famous Riverwalk &Convention Center. There is a trolley stop across the street from our hotel which covers all Downtown attractions.Catch a live show, musical performance or sporting event at Alamodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown near Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing