We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland
Ranked #272 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very adequate.”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel is not the most up to date or modern, but very adequate for the price. Proximity to Lackland Air Force base is great, and the neighborhood is fine.There is a great Mexican restaurant next door. As my mother always said "you get what you pay for". If you want more luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom8xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    18
    11
    61
See reviews for
66
10
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This is my second stay at this property, and it has become one of my favorites. Very close to the base and also close to downtown. It is a clean, well maintained property connected to 24hrs diner and other choices literally steps from the hotel. The staff is great, very friendly and helpful. The pool is large and nice. It's a good, solid well run property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW20103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This economy hotel turned out to be a surpprise - pleasantly so. We had a good king size bed room, and more appliances than we expected for the price. Both fridge and microwave, and Wi-Fi was really good. the decor was dated for my taste - but clean. I must say - it had great air conditioning for august in Texas! The continental Breakfast was limited - but there is a great mexican food restaurant next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Please, please, please do not waste your money!!! We booked a 5 day stay at this hotel and only stayed one night!!! There were gum wrappers in the bed, the rooms are run down, the bathtub was nasty AND there was no hot water, only lukewarm, that lasted about 10 minutes max!!!!!!!!! The doors also didn't close well and the weather stripping around them was just hanging off!!! I also read reviews for this location that said it was not that bad, but believe me, it was BAD!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I was visiting Sea World and looking for a night halt during the 4th July weekend. Last minute plans had all hotels we prefer to stay booked to capacity. We found that this particular hotel was available and at a very reasonable rate. Reviews on this site had us all feeling negative but since we needed a place we took it anyway.

We took two rooms and were very happy to see the rooms. This place is renovated and is pretty good compared to what reviews we have over here.

Here is how I would rate:
Overall Rating: Positive - 4/5

1) Check-in - Check-out: 5/5
Quick. No hassles. They had our booking details and confirmed us promptly. Check-out was as smooth as turning the keys in at the counter.

1) Bed: 5/5
Very neat nicely made king beds. Clean pillows and comforter. No smell or stink.

2) Cooling: 3/5
Cooling did work, but the air conditioner made way to much noise. The position was also right in face of someone sleeping towards exit side of room.

3) Amenities: 4/5
Microwave, Coffee Maker, Iron + Board, Hair Dryer, and Fridge - all worked fine. I did not check the TV but it did work.

4) Bathroom: 3/5
Clean and had all stuff you expect in bathroom. They could use bigger towels - the ones that we had were pretty small compared to what you get in other similar priced hotels / inns!!

5) Breakfast: 2/5
They had very limited choice - it was more catered towards on the go folks - coffee, juice, bread. I did not find any hot breakfast options.

6) Wireless: 3/5
I did not use it but my friend used it and his feedback was that you can manage for simple tasks.

We did not use the pool so no comments on that...

Remember that not all Red Roof Inns are renovated yet. This one was.....check the renovation status before you book in.

Hope this is helpful....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firedrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Over all I would rate this hotel with negative stars!
My son was graduating USAF Boot Camp and the location of this hotel was a major a draw to this location. (1) Because my sons girlfriends NEED of internet service to complete COLLEGE ASSIGNMENTS on line and e-mail others to her professors. It was a NECESSITY to have the internet available at ALL HOURS. Red Roof offers FREE INTERNET SERVICE IN ALL ROOMS. So sounded like the perfect combination INTERNET and location. The internet DID NOT WORK in our room! She could walk down stairs to the office and pick up the signal the office was getting BUT WE COULDN'T GET IT IN OUR ROOM!!!!! All we got was BS and the run around from the manager and his "computer tech" daughter. We got in Wed night & we were told the problem would be fixed the NEXT day while we were at the base IT WASN'T, nor the 2nd nor the 3rd and it STILL WASN'T WORKING when we check out on Sunday. We weren't given a discount or offered any sort of complimentary service. (2) The parking lot was being repaved, the smell was horrible & trying to navigate through the parking lot and park close enough to our room to keep an eye & ear on our car was stressful. (3) Rooms are nowhere near sound proof from outside noises. There was what sounded like trash pickup at 3AM and large trucks in the parking lot. (4) the security bolt was useless as the screws were holding on by a thread... (5) room service late in the day Had to empty our own trash and when asked where the dumpster was the reply was "I don't know you'll have to look for it" (6) water pressure in the shower was horrible and the tub plug didn't work (7) complimentary breakfast?? What a joke! donuts were HARD must have been DAYs old. “fresh” fruit not a chance!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUVMY7KIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2008

After traveling 12 hours straight and dropping my daughter off to begin her college career, we arrive at our hotel. We should have thought something, with all of the people lurking outside the hotel grounds, but we were tired and our 2 small children were completely worn out. We had made reservations online after looking at the pictures, Oh! what a mistake!

We walked in, and the smell hit us first, but as I traveled with my can of Lysol, I sprayed the entire room down with it. Then as we started to unload the cooler items into the refrigerator, we realized that there wasn't enough room in the outlet to run the tv, microwave, fridge, and lights for the room. You had to decide which two you wish to use at the same time. All of the cords were dangling behind the tv, so you had to sort of pick and choose which end went to each appliance.

The filth on the floor was something that shouldn't be discussed, as was the grossness of whatever had been on the ironing board. They had even left an old toothpick for us laying beside the bed!!
After wetting down the beds with Lysol (as we knew we were stuck for the night) I sit on the bed and notice that the alarm clock and overhead lights are tied together and again you had to choose which you wanted to use as three plugs would not fit in the two space outlet. There were terrible stains on the tub and shower. This was probably the most disgusting place I have ever had to stay. I felt terrible about having put my family in this situation by going by the pictures on the internet. It was a valuable lesson.

As we had reserved this pit for 4 nights, we did get a refund by early morning and got out of there. We moved to a Red Roof Inn at Sea World and were so happy there. Clean, kind and in good proximity to everything.

Just don't want anyone else making the same mistake we did.

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leleloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrooflackland, Sales Manager at Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
I was worried to see this guest response but please note it is almost one year old. Our hotel has since completed a $1 million dollar renovation and does not currently reflect the contents of this review. New ownership took over in July 2008 and shortly thereafter began a complete interior property renovation.

We hope you will take a look at our website, see the results of our improvements and give us a try when you are in San Antonio. Particularly when you are visiting Lackland AFB since we are less than a mile from their front gate.

Sincerely,
Crystal Cervantes
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#249 of 356 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Red Roof Inn San Antonio West Sea World
Far West Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland AFB
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland ...
#200 of 356 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Far West Side
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
#97 of 356 in San Antonio
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland

Property: Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland
Address: 6861 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Lackland, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel next to Lackland Air Force Base (AFB). The hotel is also close to the Alamo, the Alamodome, the River Walk, the Tower of the Americas, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and Hemis Fair Park. Kelly Air Force Base (AFB), Wolff Stadium, St. Mary's University and Our Lady of the Lake University are all within 15 minutes. Red Roof San Antonio Lackland features non-smoking rooms, free continental breakfast, free High Speed Wireless Internet access throughout the building, an outdoor pool, a fitness center on-site, and a coin laundry facility. All rooms feature a microwave & refrigerator, iron & ironing board and in-room coffee. Enjoy our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
Lackland Red Roof Inn
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing