We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aweful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland
Ranked #280 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Oklahoma
1 review
“Aweful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

Holes in the walls from construction, with mold all over them. No clean towels brought to you, and if you call to get some they won't bring any. Had to change rooms because the first room was destroyed. One of the other people there had to take cleaner and clean her own room after she checked in because she had been there all day and couldn't get anyone to clean the room. My father in law's room had a razor blade hidden under the bible. There was old food in the fridge in our room. The only positive is the sheets were clean, at least I think they were!

  • Liked — Clean sheets, or at least I hope they were clean
  • Disliked — Aweful service, moldy bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dolphincutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    17
    9
    59
See reviews for
60
10
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

We chose this hotel because we had an airman graduating from BMT. Proximity to Lackland is the only thing to recommend this property. Housekeeping would take the dirty glasses and the open soaps and not replace them. The sink would not be cleaned. We came back one night to find our door open but nothing missing. Management explained that the doors sometime "pop" open. Internet service consisted of bring your own modem and dial up service.

  • Liked — Proximity to Lackland Air Force Base
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wiscowalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

Stinky musty mildew smell
Hair in the shower
Whoops - almost forgot the baby roaches
Mildew on the tiles and dry wall
Ring around the toliet
Lack of wash clothes
Holes in the bedspreads
Sheets so thin they could be used for guaze
No remote
A TV that had to be adjusted a lot
No continental breakfast available after 7:30
Had to pre-pay
Various strange characters roaming the parking lot all hours of the night

  • Liked — It's closeness to the Air Force Base
  • Disliked — Everything else, especially the filth and bugs
  • Tips/Secrets — Run!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tectorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

We arrived to our room and noticed an odor, I will describe as damp and musty. We tried to write it off as a hot humid city. We thought if it was just smelly we could buy some room freshener to fix. We didn't want to try to find another hotel in the middle of the night and we had early plans in the morning. As we tried to settle in for the night we saw a few bugs crawling on the wall. We killed them and again tried to write it off as no big deal. Neither my mother nor I were able to sleep from the feeling of bugs crawling on us. Probably imagined but the possibly was real. After some initial plans in the morning we went to the store and bought room and carpet freshener and were pleased to have some impact on the smell in the room. We left for several hours and came back and there were roaches all over the room and even crawling on the beds. I went and asked for a new room but none were available. I had to check out and find a new room myself in a city unfamiliar to me because no assistance was offered. When I rent a room I only expect it to be clean and relatively safe. Included in my definition of clean is free of dirt, odor and insects.

  • Liked — Proximity to Lackland AFB
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

We were a little disappointed when we got there. The room had a musty smell to it. I feel like they only made the bed and changed the towels. I don't think the sheets were even changed because they didn't appear to be. The bathroom was not cleaned up each day. They didn't even bother to give us a new bar of soap each day, instead they just left the little pieces laying on the side of the tub. There was food left in the refrigerator from the previous guest, that I had to throw out. I had to go track down an iron. I have seen much better pools also. The best thing about the stay was it is very close to the Base. That was the whole reason for us even being there. If you don't plan on staying at the hotel to rest it's not really that bad. The conntinetal breakfast was nothing more than a couple of pasteries, juice and coffee. They didn't even have milk for the small children. I don't plan on staying there again, but I don't plan on taking another vacation to San Antonio. I really hated the town all together.

  • Liked — It was close to Lackland Air Force Base
  • Disliked — most of it
  • Tips/Secrets — bring lots of money because you won't want to spend the whole time in the room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank #1bobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2006

After spending a day at Fiesta TX, we were so pleased to find such an inviting room! Clean, clean, clean! Air conditioner was on which was a great surprise as we didn't check in until after 10:00 p.m. Plenty of plush towels. Two packages of coffee in room (that was also a surprise)!. The only thing we would rate negative was the missing TV remote control; however, there's no doubt one would have been supplied had we asked. We didn't use the pool so can't rate it, but it looked inviting! Denny's restaurant is right next door. We HIGHLY recommend the hotel/motel and will most definitely stay there next time we are in need of accomodations in that area of San Antonio. We felt safe/secure. Red Roof is an excellent hotel/motel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earnst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

The first thing that impress us alot was we came in a day earlier (driving from Michigan) so we called red roof inn ask them if we could reserve our rooms (we reserve two rooms from April 17 to April 23, 2006) for an extra night no problem at all we were able to check in a day earlier than expected. The rooms were big and very clean. Our bathroom was very clean as well. The housekeeping staff cleaned our rooms everyday and left new soap and towels. They didn't have a great continental breakfast but why should they when Denny's was right next door. Everybody was nice and very helpful. And we really enjoyed our stay. The biggest benefit for us was the fact that we were about a half mile from Lackland AFB and that made it so much nicer to see my daughter. We would definitely stay here again we just loved San Antonio and staying at the Red Roof Inn made it even better. Thanks to all the staff at Red Roof Inn for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#250 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#187 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Far West Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland AFB
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland ...
#183 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Far West Side
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
#94 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland

Property: Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland
Address: 6861 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Lackland, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel next to Lackland Air Force Base (AFB). The hotel is also close to the Alamo, the Alamodome, the River Walk, the Tower of the Americas, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and Hemis Fair Park. Kelly Air Force Base (AFB), Wolff Stadium, St. Mary's University and Our Lady of the Lake University are all within 15 minutes. Red Roof San Antonio Lackland features non-smoking rooms, free continental breakfast, free High Speed Wireless Internet access throughout the building, an outdoor pool, a fitness center on-site, and a coin laundry facility. All rooms feature a microwave & refrigerator, iron & ironing board and in-room coffee. Enjoy our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
Lackland Red Roof Inn
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing