We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #8 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great time!”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Had a great time at the westin! the pool is fixed. The staff were courteous and friendly. By far the best hotel we have stayed at in downtown SA. Can you say two shower heads !!!! Room was very clean and the view of the river great and quiet at night.

People complain about the parking. I have yet to find a place in downtown SA that has decent parking, doesn't make you pay out the nose, and/or make you wonder if you are about to be murdered. The valet which was sometimes a little busy was a way better than what we experienced at the marriot. Just add extra time to do anything driving in SA especially on busy weekends!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutch1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,761
    854
    240
    103
    63
See reviews for
842
1,128
96
1,329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Clean, comfortable room. Our riverview room wasn't available on the first night, nor was an ajoining room, both of which we had prepaid for. Manager Aaron was able to fix the problem for the rest of the stay. Manager Megan also very helpful.

Really nice front of house staff. Nice pool, good gym. Buffet breakfast very good, but very expensive ($16 each for oatmeal and scrambled eggs).

We called ahead and were told that there was a shuttle to Sea World, so did not rent a car. When we arrived, were informed that there was not a shuttle service and we would have to take a city bus or cab, which cost $100 roundtrip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marrieddownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Westin is not the grandest hotel on the riverwalk, however, it is beautifully designed and the room was very comfortable. There are facier places, but all in all, I slept very well in the double bed, my room was clean, and the bathroom was great. Marble and plenty of space to share the bathroom with others, though there was very little counter space. The shower was wonderful, because it was two-headed. It was heavenly. I wish the bathtub was bigger though so I could enjoy a luxurious bath. The view was not remarkable, and the walls are kind of thin. Our neigbors asked us to quiet down twice, but we really were not making that much noise. The resturant in this hotel served food that was not good, not well made, not fresh, not tasty at all. On the other hand, the staff, including the doormen, were super friendly and helpful. too bad, the sauna was not working during out stay. All in all, I really liked this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I was happy with the hotel but for the money i paid it lack a WOW factor
1- no fridge. so we had to buy a plastic cooler to store things
2- no laundry
3- pool was broken and we had to go to the hotel across the street
4- no microwave
rooms where very clean and we got a great nite sleep but i just got the feeling that we could have gotten more for our money. also dont expect to get anything for a bargin the coffee shop was pricey and the room service food was expensive. but the hotel was on the riverwalk so the view was nice. also be prepaired to pay for parking 15 to 30 dollars a day

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilsportsdemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

It is now 5:28 and we still haven't been able to get into our room. I have been here since 3:00 and my room still isn't ready. Pretty ridiculous to wait 2 and a half hours for a room that was reserved over two months ago

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bskent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Just returned, Westin room was nice. Beds are great. Promised a mini-bar in the room, it was never stocked. Valet parking is awful, on Saturday at 6:30 pm - it took over 20 minutes to retrieve my car and ended up late for a wedding I was to attend. Not enough staff on duty for valet parking, they had a queue of cars backed onto Market Street waiting to pull in for the valet parking that you are paying $30 a day for...
If you do stay bring your own drinks, no complimentary water -- its $5 a bottle (and its just Nestle - not Fiji or any high end brand water)
Swimming pool was under renovation -- this was not disclosed when we booked the hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stangvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRiverwalkMgmt1, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our "Heavenly Beds", but I certainly apologize for the issues you encountered with the valet staff.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so that we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing effort to improve our service at The Westin Riverwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Stayed three nights and only paid $99 per night on Hotwire, so a great deal. Lobby area is very tastefully done, but the location is the big draw, being situated on the quiet part of the Riverwalk. Central for the sights, with David the concierge very helpful in setting us up with a tour of the Missions, the only fault we could find, was the shower area in the bathroom appeared not to have been cleaned prior to using the room. Westin's trademark Heavenly Bed delivered a good night's sleep as usual!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRiverwalkMgmt1, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us at The Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio. It was nice to hear that our Concierge, David exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,447 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,792 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing