We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We just spent 4 nights at the Westin and loved it. My wife is in love with the "heavenly bed". We had room 714 which over looked the pool and river walk. Our stay was terrific due to the hotel's staff and hotel's location. Yes you can park across the street, it is cheaper but you have no in and out privileges, we chose the valet and never had an issue on waiting for the car. 5 minutes it was infront of us each day. The hotel is located at the quiet end which is nice since its only a 5 minute walk to most of the action on the river walk. We ate once at the restaurant and the meal was great. On our return trip to SA we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Opie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,088)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,842 - 3,848 of 4,088 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2008

Hotel is very nice, as expected from the Westins. Great location by the river, comfortable rooms, excellent service.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank megawhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stay here one night with my mom, son, and niece and it was wonderful. Very upscaled room, bath, and heavenly bed. Double showerheads made the shower experience amazing. The pool was beautiful. The lobby was as beautiful as the rooms. All the pictures online are exactly how the property looks. The individual pods of Starbucks coffee in the room were delicious and perfectly brewed. You can save on parking and self park in the garage across the street that is the same garage the hotel uses to park valet.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lermis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

First, we were excited about staying at the Westin but that quickly turned to disappointment. After waiting 3 hours for our room, we checked in after 6pm. The A/C in the room was stuck on 60 degrees!!!, it was freezing in the room. The front desk sent someone up only to tell us that he could not fix it. If that wasn't bad enough we could hear lots of noise from neighboring rooms.

I woke up at 6am and spent my entire morning finding another hotel online. What a complete hassle and disappointment. The hotel lobby and and restaurant were great but everything else was unexceptable. Big mold patches in the shower area and worn looking furniture.

We checked into the Watermark and had a much, much better result.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yankee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed at the Westin Riverwalk for our anniversary over the Thanksgiving holiday. We got a 3- nights- with-one night free deal at $169/night. It was worth it. The hotel was beautiful. The decor was opulent and tasteful. Our room was spacious and beautiful. The bed was heavenly. It seemed to melt away the daily weariness of maneuvering 3 kids with full time jobs. We barely left the room except at night to enjoy the live music and dinner.

Our only complaints were the parking price and the lack of a large TV in the bar/lounge area. This weekend happened to fall on the weekend of the Dallas Cowboys vs Greenbay Packers game. We did call ahead to determine whether we needed to go elsewhere to see the game. The hotel employee advised us to go elsewhere to see the game on a large screen in high def.

The hotel featured wonderful live music nightly in the lounge. The food was much better than expected considering we were ordering late at night from the lounge. The lounge was cozy with a library feel. The wall layout could have easily accommodated a a large built in wide screen TV without it being obtrusive and detracting from the decor. Instead, they had 2 tiny TVs that served no purpose.

Internet access was not free except in the lounge area. I won't complain since we did not intend to do any work. Otherwise, I would gripe about it. Parking was also EXTREMELY expensive, but you have no choice if you are driving. There was less expensive parking across the street.

The hotel IS located on the Riverwalk, but we didn't care to walk the Riverwalk on this trip. Unfortunately, I can't tell you what restaurants and shopping was nearby. It was rather cold at this time of the year (cold for Texas, that is).

There was a Christmas Lighting event that weekend. However, the hotel was charging $10/pps to access the Riverwalk for the event. Again, we did not partake in this event, but we wanted to note this for other travelers.

If you want a romantic weekend away at a lovely, posh hotel, this is it. We will return again during the fall.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tjuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We joined the Starwood rewards program and this was our first stay using points. We used some of our points to get a substantial discount on the room for 3 nights. It was a great deal!

We called on the way in to see about early check in. No rooms were available on the first try but I was encouraged to try back b/c as rooms are cleaned they become available. We did, in fact, get to check in early and the valet, bellmen, front desk staff and concierge were all very friendly and helpful.

Location is superb. My 3 y/o and I loved the river tour. The landscaping and architecture along the river is a must-see.

Every day there was a little something extra in the lobby. One day it was coffee and fresh fruit juices with Mexican cookies. There was also dark chocolate in the lobby every afternoon. I think there may have been bar specials downstairs, too.

We had dinner in their downstairs restaurant on Sat night b/c there were 1-2 hr waits at the other restaurants in the area. We wanted a casual family dinner but were presented with a menu of steaks, sea bass, and other pricey options. Very tricky of them, b/c they DO have a "lighter fare" menu which has the hamburgers, pizza & sandwiches, but they only give it to you at dinner "on request." What's that all about?

There is live music in the adjoining bar on the weekends (a guy playing guitar & a lady singing.) They were really good and we would have stayed to listen if not for our son who was way past his bed time. There are also tables available outside on the river and it is peaceful in front of the Westin and the Hotel Contessa next door.

We loved the outside patios on the street level overlooking the river. If we had stayed one more night we might have ordered dinner and just eaten out there.

Our room was excellent. Beautifully furnished, a large flat screen tv and even a little walk out balcony overlooking the river. Our 6th floor view was great! I was more than satisfied with the room and public areas were very nice as well. We checked out the pool and workout room...small but adequate considering the prime location.

CONS: Downtown parking is expensive. There is an hourly lot across the street or $25/day for valet. The onsite restaurant leaves something to be desired but in fairness, there are so many other choices in the area and they are renovating.

TIPS: For breakfast Shipley and McDonalds are easily walkable. Also there are convenience/liquor stores around the corner. We kept hearing how good Shiloh deli was but never made it. Some places along the river are quicker to get to on street level b/c the river twists and turns.

The concierge recommended Iron Cactus. We ordered takeout and had a terrible experience. I called and spoke to the manager who offered to "make it right." I am glad I gave them another chance b/c the food was excellent the second time around even though they still didn't get it right. Oh well, I forgive them b/c the beef fajitas were THAT good. Next time I would eat there instead.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meandjohnanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We traveled to SA for a weekend get away and normally stay at Drury Properties, but came across this great deal for the Westin so we decided to give it a try. Man we were blown away!

Check in was not until 3 pm of course but we needed a map to locate the Children's Museum and went to hotel around 11 am to ask for one and they told us we could check in and valet park our car if we liked because it was 4 blocks away. Mike the bellhop was friendly and gave me some great advice.

This was a classy place from the lobby to the room. Awesome environment!

Now here are the BUTS...

Security - They had some but getting to the elevators without being spotted was a no brainer.

Rooms - Awesome bed and nice decor but like a couple of others visitors have stated, they must be lacking a vacuum cleaner in the hotel. And there were a spot where someone spilled something.

Overall, it was a relaxing stay especially for the price we paid and I will be going back...sorry Drury, I will miss the free hot breakfast but that bed and shower was so needed. A classy place.

One last tip...if you valet, which is the smart thing to do, before you checkout, call 30 minutes ahead...trust me!

Question...why do hotels give you 3 bags of coffee and 2 small bags of sugar?

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bookey1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,218 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,861 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,522 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $202 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing