We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My recent stay at the Westin was very enjoyable. Check in was a bit slow, but only due to the fact we arrived at the same time as a convention meeting group. The check in line moved as quickly as it could, and staff offered bottled water to those of us waiting. It wasn't an issue. The room was clean and spacious. Live music in the lobby was a nice surprise. The Westin is classy and sophisticated and also comfortable at the same time. I will certainly be staying here next time I am in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,794
    867
    240
    106
    63
See reviews for
856
1,145
96
1,342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for business this time but often bring the kids. It is directly on the Riverwalk, though not in the hustle/bustle part. The facility is very Westin, but has the appreciated San Antonio flavor. The restaurant is competent and they have a very nice lemonade/hot chocolate service at happy hour. It is near to much, but not so close that you have any night time noise issues.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you Dkazooman, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of our hotel such as the hotel's quiet location on the river and our lemonade/hot chocolate service.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Once again, Westin got it right. The bed was not only very comfortable, but the oversized shower head was a nice surprise. The room was well appointed with plugs where needed and the restaurant and bar was welcoming. I had several business meetings during my stay and all were impressed with the facility and service. It is a little pricey but what do you expect for luxury. All staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtickirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a great location, and very friendly, professional staff. We enjoyed lunch at Zocca and our lovely waitress Jhezzie. Joe Fraga had arranged for a voucher for us as it was our anniversary, which was very sweet. Concierge Ignacio was extremely helpful in arranging dinner at a restaurant that made our anniversary special. The valet service and Oscar were also very prompt and informative. We were very impressed by San Antonio as a destination. We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: It is great to overlook the Riverwalk if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Marie G, Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments and for telling us about Jhezzie, Joe and Oscar. We're certainly lucky to have them on our staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This past summer, I had to stay at this hotel about 3 times in one month. First, even though I was new to the SPG loyalty program, they hooked me up with the SPG floors without asking. That was a great intro to what the SPG program could offer. The lobby is very pretty and right on the Riverwalk. And the staff knows every restaurant in town if you know who to ask - from the cheap breakfast burrito places to high end dining, someone will always know where to go.
One thing - and maybe it's just how I feel about San Antonio - but I came away with a bit of sticker shock considering I never order room service and, with one exception, prepaid. Also, they could definitely improve their fitness and pool facilities to be a little bigger.
Aside from that, great place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondial82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello mondial82,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and for pointing out various positive aspects of our hotel such as our loyalty program, our beautiful lobby and our staff.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went there in May for a family trip. Hotel has a great location and close to everything. We love the Riverwalk view. Great room service, friendly crowd, quick check in an check out. Excellent bed and amenities.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you lighthouse2323, we really appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Very positive experience. The location was perfect; just located right on the river walk AND on a beautiful, quiet area of the walk but not far from shopping and eateries.

Checking in was painless and quick. Very nice lobby area and our room was nice and clean. The bathroom was a very nice size. Our room overlooked the river walk and it doesn't feel like your in a city center.

The bed was very comfortable and love their pillows. I normally go home with a crick in my neck from hotel pillows but not here. The hotel was pretty busy the weekend we were there but never felt like it. I highly recommend staying at this Westin!

Check out was easy too and they helped us get a cab. Exactly the kind of professional service I enjoy.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,053 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,500 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing