We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel has nice decor and in a great location right on the Riverwalk downtown. The staff was very helpful and the room was well cleaned. The room we had was not real large but had a table to work on and a small balcony that over looked the river. The bath had a nice shower but no ventilation. The room was a bit pricey at $329 a night but had a nice workout area and a pool. They had cheese and fruit in the evening but no breakfast. It was a nice stay we walked to the Alamo and just about anything downtown was close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealsnphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello Dealsnphotos,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and for uploading your pictures!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,718
    835
    225
    101
    61
See reviews for
821
1,106
95
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westin last year and enjoyed it so much we wanted to stay here again for our anniversary. We appreciate the quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of the main riverwalk area. We cannot thank Patti B. and David S. enough for making our stay very special. Everyone was very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms w/a balcony on the river side are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend get away a the Westin. We have stayed at several hotels on the Riverwalk but we keep coming back to the Westin. It is perfectly located (not too far from the restaurants but in a quiet area). We had a great room with a view of the Riverwalk. The amenities are great and the staff and service is great. Had some problems with AC in room. We were given another room and $50.00 food credit for the inconvience. The breakfast was good and our server (Danny A.) was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Amanda A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the Westin Riverwalk. I'm glad to hear that we took care of you despite the AC issue.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was in San Antonio for a 2 day meeting in September 2013. Having flown in from Hawaii, I was pretty tired. I was greeted at the Front Desk by Grace, who was wonderful!!! She was very professional and friendly. Having an unusual spelling last name, she initially could not find my reservations, but after looking more in detail, she found my reservations. I did not have my SPG Starwoods number and again she graciously told me "no problem" and looked for my account and entered my number.

The meetings went well with a nice selection of food for the meals we had at the hotel. The hotel is right on the River Walk. As a hint, if you are going to the Mall nearby, it is faster to go to the street level and walk over, as the River Walk meanders and is not the faster way.

The staff of the Westin were friendly. Upon leaving the hotel, two bellman helped me get transportation to the airport. This is my third stay in three years and I would definitely recommend it to a friend!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visiting San Antonio for the first time to house hunt and decided to stay at the Westin on the Riverwalk to de-stress. Greeted by GraceaBella at the front desk and was immediately impressed! She was so caring and attentive with our stay. She was personable and I felt was truly interested in my stay.
The room was beautiful and had an amazing view of the riverwalk! All of the staff were great, from the valet to the bellman to a very professional young man named Severino! Thank you ALL so very much for making our stay amazing and welcoming us to San Antonio! We will stay again at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Angela S,
Thank you for telling us about your stay at the Westin Riverwalk and for pointing out various aspects of our hotel such as the staff, view and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we wish you luck in finding your new home!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I were able to enjoy the Westin for 4 nights while he attend the IPI conference. We had stayed at the Hyatt last year and I thought it was great but the Westin was so much better. It is on the quiter area but the most beautiful part of the Riverwalk. The setting area down by the restaurant was really wonderful for coffee or drinks. We also had coffee at the coffee shop down in the lobby and it was always good. Our room was great on the riverside with a balcony, the only down was no chairs on the balcony. I did hear some hall noise during the night in our room. George Cantreras was very helpful to us. Hands down I would stay here again as soon as I get another chance!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyBranson_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

OUTSTANDING SERVICE from this Westin from an employee named JR Vasquez.
My husband was attending a medical seminar at your faculty today and thought the limo driver had his suitcase. Long story short my husband’s suitcase was left at the Westin hotel. I called in a panic asking for a taxi to deliver the suitcase to the airport. JR was very helpful in acting quickly and providing details of the taxi to us so my husband knew who to look for and in case it was stolen we know who to report.
We really truly appreciate JR’s proactive, thorough, and speedy process in helping to get our suitcase in time before the flight left Texas.
I highly recommend this Westin hotel, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and you will receive EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelindaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you MelindaFlorida, we really appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. We're glad that JR was able to help you get your suitcase! We are lucky to have JR on our staff!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing