We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #6 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
1 review
“Great Hotel and Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our company, a global technology leader, held a seminar at the Westin for 40 our of customers. Being a local company, I am familiar with the draw of the Westin and the Riverwalk. The facilities are great and the location is superb. What I did not expect was the excellent service from GM Bill Petrella and his staff. Our event was blanketed with a team of folks that are service/customer oriented who constantly asked what they could do to assist. I would highly recommend staying at the Westin Riverwalk both personally and professionally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBlairTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you CBlairTx, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on how you companys seminar went at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for also pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the location to the excellent service our amazing associated were able to provide. Thank you for choosing us for your conference and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,719
    835
    225
    101
    61
See reviews for
821
1,107
95
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick 2-night getaway. The location was great (there is an elevator from the hotel right down to the Riverwalk), the hotel was clean, the rooms were comfy, and the service was great. When we arrived our TV (a huge flat screen) wouldn't turn on, but after we placed a call to the front desk, someone arrived within 5 minutes, replaced a cord, and solved the problem. The room service breakfast was also very good. Overnight parking at the hotel was a ridiculous $35, but there was a $12 parking garage right across the street. My only complaint was the noise from the street below. We were on the 7th floor and by 9 am each morning the noise from the traffic was definitely noticeable. Not enough to wake you from a sound sleep, but if you were teetering on the edge of sleep (as I was) and longing for a few more minutes of slumber, the noise would cause you to forgo it and just go ahead and wake up. If you had a room on the side that faces the Riverwalk, this wouldn't be a problem. Overall, I was very pleased and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Riverwalk. Those on the side facing the street have noise from traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackGirlGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you BlakGirlGlobal, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out some positive aspects of the hotel from the rooms to the great service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
964 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our two small dogs for three nights. As we were traveling with our dogs, we called ahead from the road to make sure our room was ready. Assured that it was, we arrived to find it was not, and had to cool our jets in the lobby for 30 minutes. Other than that, and the design of our suite (see below) we were pleased with this hotel, its amenities, service and location. We were particularly impressed with the valets and bellman - who were very friendly, efficient, and professional.

The hotel is relatively modern, with a large lobby with plenty of seating and a great enclosed lounge overlooking the Riverwalk. Another feature I liked was that it is not located on the busy, noisy portion of the Riverwalk. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a decent restaurant (with Riverwalk outdoor seating.)

My only complaint is that we reserved a king bed suite, mistakenly assuming that there would be a door between the bed area and the seating area. There is not, so if you plan on having someone sleep on the pull-out couch, there will be no privacy for anyone.

The staff were universally professional and friendly and my wife and I had a good experience here.

Room Tip: View from the Riverwalk isn't that great and I'm not sure it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you Mohsman, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the hotel location to the professionalism of our staff. I apologize for the delay in getting your room prepared. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's the little things that matter, great service is hard to come by. We had to make a last minute change in our travel plans, talked to Selena Romero with Westin Riverwalk and what great service and attitude. Very accomodating and courteous, have earned a loyal customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you Bill, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel such as the impeccable service. I am also delighted that Selena Romero was able to make your stay all the more special. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in the late-June 2013 heatwave that broke records - was 108 degrees outside, but the room stayed as cool as we wanted. So the AC gets 5 stars - - and so does the service, from the bell caption to the front desk to all other staff. They were all top shelf to be sure.

Restaurant, though highly rated, was "just average" for us. But the 5p happy hour (free) munchies in the lobby made up for that. :-) Although the hotel is on the Riverwalk, it's not in the heart of the restaurant section - but that's just a two-block, five-minute walk. No biggie.

Room: very clean, bed was great, plenty of water pressure, etc. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BistroBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you BistroBaron, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the location to the amazing AC unit. I am happy you took advantage of our 5pm Happy Hour "La Merienda". Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I booked a weekend trip to San Antonio and stayed @ The Westin River Walk. Our past experiences have always been good with Westin and they proved to be great again. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a nice in house Restaurant that offered seating on the River walk and a good selection from the menu. After a long day of touring, walking and shopping it felt like coming home after a long hard day sitting down for a nice dinner then relaxing in a comfortable room and bed for a restful sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICKY1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you Nicky1959, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the cleanliness to our amazing in-house restaurant Zocca Cuisine d'Italia. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week for both business and pleasure-clearly one of the friendliest and most attentive luxury hotels I have stayed in worldwide

Very impressed at the gluten free menu and the staffs care and attention.

Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerfamily416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you WalkerFamiy416, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of the hotel such as the service and the gluten free menu offerings by our very own Zocca Cuisine d'Italia. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing