We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and love the place. We take our grand kids with us so they can experience San Antonio. The owners of this property are attentive to great and personal service. Great place to kick back and relax. Try the Presidential Suite sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crudecows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you Crudecows, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel such as your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,616 - 2,622 of 4,166 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is absolutely one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in! We are Starwood members, and upon early check in, were upgraded to the River Walk side and a premium room! The staff here is fantastic! Everything about this hotel is above board. The lobby is incredible. I was able to get a room without paying for the valet parking. We had no desire to leave. Zocca was a fantastic restaurant. The BEST hotel on the RW !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimietoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you Jaime, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the premium rooms, food and the fantastic service you received. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a quick trip to San Antonio to attend a business function. From the moment I entered the hotel it was a positive experience. The valet was prompt and courteous in helping with my bag and handling my car. My encounter with Manager Thomas Blanchard was welcoming and made me feel special. Thomas ensured that everything with my reservation and my stay at the Westin was positive - which it was. Thomas quickly found out the location of my business dinner for me and called my room in under 10 minutes with the information. When I entered my room I immediately fell in love with it. The bathroom was to die for. It was not your run-of-the-mill bathroom for a hotel. It was like a spa. The bedroom was truly inviting and as I found out, very comfortable. I had a great view overlooking the river and relaxed in a chair on the balcony enjoying the unseasonable cooler weather. My only negative was that I was not able to extend my stay for another night which I really wanted to do. I definitely plan on returning to San Antonio with my family next time and will choose the Westin Riverwalk again.

Room Tip: If you like to relax in your room, spend a little more money and get a room that overlooks the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you Barbara, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for also pointing out the various positive aspects of the hotel from the rooms to the service. I am also happy that Thomas Blanchard exemplified excellent service and he made your stay even better. I apologize that you were not able to extend your stay. We get reservations many months in advance and sometimes we cannot accommodate room extensions especially when it affects incoming guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The heavenly beds cover over a multitude sins, so I will always enjoy my stay at a Westin! This hotel, though, fell a bit short of awesome because of our experience at the spa and pool. If you don't care about either of those amenities, its all good! The pool is teeny tiny. We tried going down twice, and if there are 10-12 people already there, you can hang it up. One side of the pool has these big fountain shooters spraying water, so it limits the amount of space inside the already small pool. My massage was at the Woodhouse day spa inside the Westin. The prices were reflective of hotel spa costliness, but the quality was not correlative! The spa is tiny, with no lounging area for before or after. They don't give you robes or offer use of any saunas or whirlpools. I think my massage room was converted from what used to be a suite, as there were two glass French doors beside the table that would've opened up to the pool. Although there were drapes, the room was filled with sunlight and I could hear the whoops and hollers from the pool revelers the whole time. The actual massage was almost comical. I felt like I was in a bad movie. It was just odd. I actually began to wonder if they had asked one of the cleaning ladies to substitute for my masseuse when I saw her tennis shoes through the face cradle. I wouldn't revisit the spa again, for sure. Hotel all in all was nice, just not what I was hoping for!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you Wineyes, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out the positive aspect of our hotel such as our "Heavenly Bed". We apologize for the inconveniences you received when you visited our in-house spa. Management takes your concerns very seriously and we have taking the appropriate steps to rectify this. Thank you for staying with us and we hope this experience does not deter you from being our guests.

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I worked with their Night Manager, Heidi Gross, in setting up my reservation. Going on 12 years I have been a Preferred Planner/Platinum member for Starwood. I have worked with properties all over the world, from as faraway as Bali, Portugal, Vietnam, Germany, New Zealand, Thailand, Australia, etc. Please take it to heart when I tell you, Heidi stand's out and this property stands out, from among the properties that I've worked with, to being so accommodating, with both the precision to details to enhance the customer experience as well as the most thoughtful and creative. Heidi, if you read this, you have more than impressed me, with your take charge attitude and leadership in orchestrating such an incredible experience for our two young Air Force intelligence officers celebrating promotions with the Air Force. Your attention to details is quite impressive, as is your organization in keeping everything so proficient.

You and THE WESTIN RIVERWALK, working in tandem with Tanya, (my Starwood Travel Ambassador) have clearly created an outstanding experience that we will never forget.
And please thank Marisol for the creative origami with the towels :-) what a perfect patriotic touch!
Some notes on this stay:
· Upgraded to a luxury suites from a booked Corner Suite!
· Fresh strawberries/Moscata as a welcome amenity in the room!
· Marisol from Housekeeping created a washcloth animal to go into the room with the American Flag!
· Late check out granted!

I am humbled with your properties hospitality and I am eternally grateful.

Room Tip: Luxury suite or corner suite over looking the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you BabaDas, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the amazing property to the fantastic service you received from Heidi. We are exceptionally happy that Heidi, Marisol and all our amazing associates were able to make your stay an outstanding experience. Heidi extends her warmest regards and is very grateful for the accolades you gave her. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Actually stayed in February, and just never got around to a review. Great location, beautiful hotel, wonderful room. We had a lovely balcony over-looking the river. Very convenient to everything. We stayed at 3 hotels in Texas, and this was by far our favorite.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank roxanne207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you Roxanne, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. No review is late. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the location to the room. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel but I don't quite understand all the raves about service. Stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend. We had a good rate that included parking and internet. The staff were all fine but no more service oriented than at any other hotel chain in this category. It's a service business.The first night we noticed a leak in the bathroom which seemed to cause the carpet in a small area outside the bathroom to be wet. Before going out for the day we called simply to notify them---it wasn't a big deal. When we got back around 3 we noticed room hadn't been serviced and panels from the ceiling were on the floor. There was a message to call the front desk who informed us they would have to move us. We called, they said they would call right back with new room #. We repacked then waited at least 30 minutes. When they didn't call we called back and the young woman seemed a bit flustered and they put us in 1015, a corner suite. Much nicer than 909 but I feel it took too long to provide us with new room #. Hotel wasn't too busy that day. 909 and 1015 were both riverside but too high to see the river very well, and 909 had no chairs on the balcony. 909 clean and pleasant but forgettable. 1015 more nicely decorated. Go for the corner suites if you can and ask for a lower floor. Lots of hotels on the riverwalk so if we were to return we would probably try one of the others.

Room Tip: Riverside balcony on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Greetings Guest,

It is sad to hear that you feel your experience at our hotel was anything but stellar. We did not intend to make you feel uncomfortable. Regarding our maintenance, we try to coordinate repairs around our guests schedules. But when we could not do so I'm happy to find out that you were presented another room. Rest assured, your comments are valuable to us and they will be shared with our management team.

We hope that you are able to give us another chance to shine on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,190 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,094 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,329 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,591 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
3,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $170 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing