We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #9 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good location”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here with my daughter last week. It is a very nice hotel, with a skilled and friendly staff. I'd rank in a notch down from most Four Seasons I've stayed. I went to law school in SA so I'm pretty familiar with the area. The hotels location on the riveralk is great. You really would not need a car if you were just staying a couple of nights. It's about 2 blocks from the Alamo. Food, both at the restaraunt and in room was good. The gift shop is super small, so don't count on being able to get much there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarristerinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,764
    854
    241
    104
    63
See reviews for
843
1,129
96
1,332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
novi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got back from spending the weekend there. The hotel's location is perfect! Direct access to the river walk. Lobby is beautiful, the hotel itself is very pretty.
Now for the negatives- The hotel is not cheap but we knew that when we booked. Things to account for are- you have to add parking, we did valet at $35 a day, internet which we didn't use but i mean really? Who doesn't offer free internet anymore? We got the package that includes breakfast and 4 tickets to the RIO boats. They only had 2 tickets and kept on telling us to check back with them later about the tickets, finally a manager heard us talk to the concierge about these tickets (concierge was, i wouldn't say rude, but very robotic like and unapologetic) so the manager offered to credit us back $40 if we buy our own tickets, we agreed. Breakfast was straight forward buffet, had much better at other hotels but it wasn't bad by any means, the restaurant was awesome, staff, view, everything. Now here's where you have to watch out if you get your breakfast included in your rate, the hotel will bill you for it but then they tell you at check in that they will go ahead and credit you back the amount. In our case, they didn't, we had to go to the front desk and manually check out because breakfast amount (around $50 per night) was not credited back, not even once, so they acted all like oh sorry we forgot to do it. They don't itemize it on the bill, it's one total, so you never know if they did in fact credit you back or not and have to ask, it's tricky! We just figured the amount was a little higher than we thought and figured we better double check, sure enough, breakfast was charged but never credited back which they fixed.
The room is your average size i think, beds are not at all comfortable, the pillows were not smooth at all (VERY weird for a Westin, they are known for their beds and pillows!), few of them had brown stains, really unattractive, the carpet had few stains, couple of ceiling boards had what seemed like water damage and then an attempt to cover that up with paint over them. So the room was not impressive at all with the exception of the bathroom which is pretty nice, good size, kids loved the rain shower-head. The room did have a good size closet and many drawers all over.
I don't know if we would stay at this hotel again, we've stayed at The Westin all over, and this diffidently lacks in customer service and over-all Westin standards. Really fell in love with the location though, if only customer service was a little better and the room was more Westin standards!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripletsHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel was in a great location. Their restaurant was right on the river walk, staff was nice , food decent, nice ambiance. The lobby was very elegant and the bathrooms throughout the hotel were clean and nicely decorated. Our room was a perfect size, comfy beds, clean and nicely decorated. I would totally recommend this hotel if you are visiting San Antonio

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodymmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This Westin deviates from brand standards in a good way. It has a grand style but retains the Westin friendly service. We loved the luxurious four fixture bath. The work desk needed better lighting and some outlets, but who wants to work when the Riverwalk is just outside your door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASE-JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent our 12th anniversary here. Hotel is nice, clean and conviniently located by the river. Our Room was very clean, no complaints at all.
River and restaurants within a 10 min walk. Area is safe.
Parking is limited in downtown, so you either you use the valet parking (in/out priviligies, but $28 per day) or use the public parking ($15 all day).
Definetly will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toto_iteso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for our annual Southwest Conference and everything was WONDERFUL!! From Oscar the bellhop to Raul at the Zocca Restaurant on the riverwalk. Raul at the restaurant was the BEST server to have. He was thoughtful, attentive and all around GREAT!! I was suffering a bit from being over served the night before and he brought me a michelada to cure me. It was DELICIOUS & hit the spot. The food at the restaurant was very good in comparison to the other food we ate along the riverwalk. Our room was spacious & clean & Oscar took & brought our bags down when we arrived & departed. He was very informative & funny. We will definitely be back for a personal trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaccano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband & I are on a road trip from Washington State. Upon checking out of the Westin Riverwalk we discovered 150 miles later that we had left all of our cash, traverlers checks, passports, my wallet with all my credit cards, and a substantial amount of jewelry in the safe in the room. Michael Patterson attempted to contact us via our home phone shortly after we left the hotel. Luckily we recieve emails from our home phone servcice with voice messages translated. Upon discovering thi,s we immediately contacted the hotel. We were delighted to have such a great response from the security staff especially Jacob. He really went out of his way to assure us that they would do everything possible to get our valuables to us as soon as possible. Jacob again contacted us the next morning to explain the process again. Jacobs supervisor Maria Sanchez also contacted us as a follow up to again reassure us that they were doing everything possible to return our items. The items were over nighted via Fed Ex. We are thrilled that everything was returned. We can't say enough about the honest people that work for the Westin. Thank you Westin for being such an upstanding hotel and employing honest hard working citizens. We can now travel back home relieved that we had an experience that could have endly very badly for us. Thank you Westin Riverwalk for this happy ending.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms on the river side were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,800 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing