We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay for our son's BMT graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for 5 nights during our son's BMT graduation. all in all it was a great experience.

parking: not knowing the area, we decided to utilize the valet parking (which is an extra $35 per day charged to your room). after hearing others talk, i'm glad we did. (apparently finding a spot in the nearby lots was difficult). at times throughout the 5 days, using the valet was a little chaotic (sometimes the line returning to the hotel was out to the street, other times the cars were rather congested in the drop off area). for the most part, we never had to wait that long, and i'd expect a little madness for any business downtown. you can call ahead and ask them to bring your car when you're ready to leave, i recommend this.

check-in: the room check in was painless and the staff was extremely courteous.

room: we stayed in a corner suite. the room was large and beautiful. it had a 'bedroom' with a king bed and flat screen tv, along with a sitting room with couch, desk/chair and another flat screen tv, and a huge bathroom with tub, separate shower, separate toilet room and his/her sinks. also an in room (free) safe, and a stocked refrigerator/snack bar (obviously if you take items, you pay for them, but shifting things around in there allowed us to use the fridge for our own items we brought). the room also had two balconies that were a little tiny. there are coffee makers in the room, and they have starbucks house blend 'packs' (caf & decaf) that they will refill each day. this room also had the 'heavenly bed' which was really nice, very comfortable.

amenities: the coffee shop was great. Not a "starbucks", but brewed starbucks coffee and could make anything you're used to. also had breakfast food and desserts, etc. opened from 6am to 6pm (i think). we didn't get anything from the gift shop, but a gift shop does exist. the restaurant/bar is kind of a separate entity called Zocca (see my other review). the room service was spectacular, seems a little pricey (they charge $4 for delivery to the room and gratuity is automatically added to the bill), but its worth it (the create your own pizza, market salad and the cheeseburger were all awesome!)

location: right on the riverwalk, can't beat it. within walking distance to the alamo, hard rock, etc. concierge was helpful when we needed to find some hairspray. there is a grocery store (with beer) two blocks away that allowed us to grab a few things (i.e. beer). it took about 20 minutes to drive from the Westin to Lackland AFB.

I never found a soda (pop) machine on the premises, but there are ice machines on each floor.

there is also a pool, spa, and gym on site, but we didn't utilize it.

i can't wait to return to the Westin Riverwalk!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schwantizzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,719 - 2,725 of 4,106 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for one night only and wished we could stay longer. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very nicely decorated. We liked the location well enough, although it's not on the busier part of the river. There is a small seating area on the street level that is very inviting to just sit and enjoy the view.
Staff were nice and friendly. We sat outside in the early evening and enjoyed a drink from the bar and the relative peace and quiet but still on the river.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the parking lot on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolyns823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We receantly stayed at the Westin Riverwalk and had a wonderful experiance as soon as we drove up the lobby was really nice and the room was very cozy.We ordered room service, a bottle of wine, fruit tray and some ice cream that was great after a nice dinner on the river.

If you are ever in the San Antonio area make sure to stay and enjoy a great atmosphire at the Westin .....it was great!!

Thank you Roxy R. for the great recomendation!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This gem is my favorite place to stay on the River. On this, my second, trip I was upgraded to a studio suite. Arrange this if you can, it was fabulous to stretch out and felt more like a home-away-from-home than a hotel room.

The Heavenly amenities do not disappoint and the furnishings were comfortable, well maintained and stylish. The staff is genuinely friendly, professional and goes above and beyond to provide exceptional service, especially the valet staff which is challenged with a small porte-cochère. Housekeeping was courteous and helpful too.

Dinner at Zocca delivered more great service and fine food.

Don't miss the pool and fitness facility while you are there. My only complaint was the balcony doors which didn't seem to close securely. Other than that five circles all around. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kk5traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1167, Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear kk5traveler,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Westin Riverwalk Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is our goal to accommodate guests and maintain our hotel so that guests feel comfortable and at home during their stay. We strive to have friendly and professional interactions on a daily basis to ensure that we provide exceptional service to our guests.

I appreciate your feedback on your experience during your stay, and look forward to providing exceptional service to you again when your travel plans bring you back to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Bill Petrella
General Manager of The Westin Riverwalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family just visted for San Antonio for a long weekend, and had the pleasue of staying at the Westin. We have two children two and under, and so on paper the trip should have been difficult to say the least, but it ended up being outstanding. The hotel staff went out of their way to make everything as easy for us as possible. The (comfortable) cribs were already set up, the kids were given little goodie bags, they brought us extra bottles of water for formula, my son was given some bread to feed the ducks- the list does go on. The hotel itself was also superb. The room was gorgeous and spotless, the shower was heavenly (as was obviously, the bed!), and the staff could not have been more gracious or helpful. We had a couple of meals and drinks in the restaurant downstairs- which was excellent, and then we were immediately able to go out and walk down the Riverwalk. I really can't say enough good things about this hotel- we can't wait to return. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talabrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just completed planning and hosting a national sales meeting at this venue. It was a great experience from start to finish. The property was beautiful and the staff was incredible to work with. Their attention to detail and the care that they put into ensuring a successful event was so appreciated and helped me to achieve an outstanding end result. I would definitely recommend this property if you are looking for a location for your next sales meeting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridgette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay at the hotel. Great weather in February. Good shopping and sights nearby. The general manager, Bill Perella, even spent several minutes chatting with us while we waited for our car. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,117 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,250 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,928 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,541 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $215 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing