We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Nearby Hotels
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,236)
Filter reviews
4,236 results
Traveler rating
2,885
901
263
115
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,885
901
263
115
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseugene schlaffzocca restaurantthe riverjr vasquezheavenly bedcorner suitebeautiful hotelroom servicevalet parkingthe entire staffconvention centerriverwalkconciergespgconferenceassociatealamo
Filter
Updating list...
3,447 - 3,452 of 4,236 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Best customer service. Convenient .. Overall wonderful experience

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersonc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Upon driving up to the hotel, we were immediately greeted by a polite valet. We entered the the Westin, and we were immediately impressed with how beautifully decorated the hotel was. All the lights seemed to mesmerize the kids.

Our cub scouts were given the opportunity to earn their cooking badge at the Westin Riverwalk with Chef Jeff. Even though it was just for a cub scouts event the staff still set up the room elegantly, and the staff made all of the boys feel special. Chef Jeff explained what the boys would be doing once in the kitchen, and his staff helped walk the boys through each step. The boys did a tour of the kitchen, they were allowed to make their own pizza with toppings of their choice, and they also made their own cookies with toppings such as gummy worms, chocolate chunks, M&M's, etc. The boys couldn't wait to see what their concoctions would look like once they were cooked. The look on the boy's faces when their pizzas and cookies were brought out was priceless!

In addition to the pizzas and cookies, Chef Jeff prepared some kid friendly foods to include chicken fingers, fresh fruit, steak fries, and their world famous hot chocolate. The Cub Scouts enjoyed the satisfaction of cooking their own meals and the delicious additions from Chef Jeff.

The Westin treated our scouts and scout families to a first class lesson in cooking, and it was an event we hope to do again next year. We are all so thankful for this outstanding opportunity and the hotel's support of the Cub Scouts. I would highly recommend anyone wanting a first class Riverwalk experience to visit the Westin Riverwalk.

Thank you, Westin Riverwalk, for showing us how to cook in a first class hotel kitchen!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We chose this based on user reviews. I don't have other San Antonio hotels to compare to the Westin, but we didn't feel that the hotel was special or worth the rather high rate we paid, even compared to neighboring hotels. Our check-in was ok but the clerk offered us no information about the hotel (gym, restaurants, wi-fi, etc.), and we had to ask about everything. There was a locked minibar in the room, but no one ever offered us a key. When we arrived in our room, our thermostat was broken and there was an open bar of soap in the shower. The room was fine and otherwise clean, but not special. There was an iron headboard that looked nice but made for uncomfortable bedtime reading or tv watching. We booked directly through Westin and chose the riverview room with a balcony for a slightly higher rate than the street-side room, but the balcony was too small for chairs so there was no real occasion for using it -- a window would have been just as good. We heard dogs barking in the hallways at night (we didn't realize until we had checked in that the hotel allows pets). We had a few meals in the restaurant, including a breakfast of undercooked pancakes. We had high hopes for the hotel but didn't feel it delivered as promised.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umfalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Director of Rooms at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback about your experience at The Westin Riverwalk, Umfalotta. I apologize for the condition your room was in. It is unacceptable for you to find an open bar of soap in the bathroom. We have made the necessary changes to a lot of our policies and made necessary upgrades from the hotel to the restaurant.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Jami Champagne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I booked the Westin on the River Walk for my husband's 60th birthday celebration. I requested a balcony room facing the River Walk so that we could see the fireworks. Boy, what an awful experirence we had!! I realize New Year's Eve is a busy, busy time, but when you are paying $350.00 per night, come on, get your act together. Check-in is 3:00 pm, we got there around 3:30, and we stood in line, as they only had 3 ladies checking people in. Got to the counter, and checked in, but were told, "your room is not ready yet, come back in an hour to get your room keys"...okay, I guess. So we walked on the River Walk, stopped and had a beer or two. Went back to The Westin, stood in line AGAIN, got to the desk, and was told, "Your room is ready, but you will need to wait to the side for us to get your luggage (our one peice). Well, 20 minutes go by, I'm fuming, and finally we ask the desk why we haven't gotten our ONE bag yet. "Oh, it's coming, it's at a another area" No luck, 15 minutes later, my husband just goes behind the desk and looks in the holding room, and there it is!! They NEVER offered us (or anyone else that was having the same problems) a drink in the bar, or to bring the luggage to our room when it was located...Oh NOOOOOOO. They would not even look at us!
We get to the room, it's okay, nothing special, clean, but certainly not worth $350.00. The balcony door DOES NOT open, and we are told for safety reasons, none of them do. Jeez. What a joke that whole experience was. The only ones providing good customer service were the valet guys.
My husband travels for his job, and has stayed at The Westin in Dhaka, Bangladesh, and was treated like a King...in Bangladesh, but not San Antonio, Texas.

Room Tip: The hotel itself is beautiful, but the rooms, at least the one we were in, was very worn. The carpet was stained, and needs to be changed out.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Director of Rooms at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback during your stay at The Westin Riverwalk, Nancy553. We apologize for the long process you experienced when you checked in. We have since made changes to our check-in process. It is now more stream-lined and efficient.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Jami Champagne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Riverwalk last week to celebrate my 40th birthday. We booked the room on-line and checked in quickly. It was just after New Year's so business was on the slow side. But we did not mind and had an easy time getting restaurant reservations during the trip. After check-in, the hotel sent a bottle of sparkling wine and some chocolates to our room free of charge. That was nice of the front desk. The hotel is lovely inside and we liked that it was right on the Riverwalk. We liked eating in the hotel restaurant for breakfast, which is on the ground floor and looks out on the Riverwalk. Very pleasant view. The only negative experience we had was that several times, we tried to call the front desk from our room using the "Service Express" button on the phone. Each time we used that button, no one answeredx the phone. So we had to call the main hotel number using our cell phone to get a live person. But other than that the hotel was beautiful, the staff friendly, and we liked our stay a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 540classic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews