We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Ranked #8 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable room and great staff”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Westin is located on a quiet section of the San Antonio Riverwalk, a few minutes walk from the more "active" portion with restaurants and shops. Staff was phenomenal from the instant I arrived -- doormen gave prompt, sincere greetings, front desk staff was efficient and friendly, and even those random staff members I encountered walking through the lobby, etc. greeted you and asked about your day. Special commendation goes to front desk staffer Steven (or maybe Stephen?) who exhibited a willingness to go above and beyond to help me obtain supplies I needed for a presentation I was scheduled to give and had forgotten back home. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. No noise issues from adjoining rooms or outside. The bed was very comfortable. I also appreciated how they gave you liquid creamer for your in-room coffee as opposed to the powdered stuff so often found at other locations. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,765
    854
    240
    104
    63
See reviews for
843
1,129
96
1,332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here while participating in a conference in august 2011 and stayed in one of the SPG members rooms on the 15th floor. The overall experience was good but some things were missing. The hotel has a good central location right on the riverwalk path. The room I stayed in was large, clean and pleasant. Service was also friendly and helpful by all hotel staff I came across. Three main sources of frustration which turned a potential perfect stay into only a "reasonably" good one are:
(1) Internet connection in the room was both absurdly expensive and of very low quality. One can expect that a high-end hotel chain will offer reasonable Internet services, and especially free ones in rooms going for $200 pluss a night (especially for loyal SPG members).
(2) while brochures and room information promise you a "heavenly bath" what you actually get is no more than an OK shower. There is no space for taking a proper bath or pampering yourself in filled bathtub. The "Bath" is a sort of a very shallow tub... you will not be able to enjoy sitting down.
(3) The breakfast "buffet" was not rich enough in my taste, most critically lacking any form of hard or soft cheeses (you could only get Philadelphia white cheese) and other stuff one can expect from a rather pricy breakfast - such as plain yogurt, hash browns, and biscuits.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daingerfield, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Hotel Riverwalk and had a great time. The conceige service was great! Also, we missing my son's wallet and Amanda Sanchez with security was able to find it! Security gets right on it when something is missing. She really helped a lot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 385Laura1955385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the staff sucks up and brown-noses with the best of them. Our hotel room we were given had a broken door - it wouldn't latch (room 322 so if you want a free bed go try it, I bet you can get in!) Parking is ridiculous, you either pay $30 a day for unlimited valet or pay for the cash only garage across the street ($15 a day max). Not that those prices are super unreasonable but you're already paying to stay at a Westin and now they make you pay to park as well? The Internet is not free even though this is the 21st century. All in all, the hotel is gorgeous but that's all it has going for it. They make you pay for every little detail of your stay. Luckily we didn't pay as much as others did to stay there since we used Westin points - I would have been pretty annoyed if we had had to pay full price. I probably wouldn't stay there again unless all the other hotels on the Riverwalk were booked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

What a joy to stay at the Westin Riverwalk hotel! In the past year, I've stayed at numerous nice hotels both in the USA and Europe. Rarely have I seen such consistent and exceptional customer service.

The concierge, Dominic Gverve, was particularly helpful in arranging various logistics for my visit. (I'm on crutches & struggle to stand in long lines. He went "above and beyond the call of duty" to accommodate my needs.)

The hotel itself is beautiful & conveniently located. And the food at the restaurant is excellent & reasonably priced. (I kept going back from the grilled salmon.)

We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel is located in downtown San Antonio and on the prettiest section of the Riverwalk area. The hotel is beautifully appointed and service is great. I would especially like to commend Katie Justice, a server, who personifies Texas hospitality and who goes above and beyond to make guests feel right at home. She was so helpful! The restaurant that opens onto the Riverwalk, an Italian place called Zocca, is fantastic too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrilld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is Not a good hotel. Beds are Horrible, there are cleanliness and Hygiene issues. The Location is ok. But wireless is Hugely expansive. Overall this is Not good Value for Money. I rarely Write Reviews, but this hotel Annoyed
Me.
The minibar is also locker and the service unreliable
If you can stau at the Grand hyatt much netter.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roterferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,803 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Property: The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Address: 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing