We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nice and it was a nice little R&R while working the pool was nice but the jaquzzi SUCKED!!! I've seen bigger one's at the gym, plus none of the jets in it worked. It was a big disappointment. Plus the guy who came and kicked us out right at 9:00pm on the dot. He had no personality what so ever....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rjduran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the discomfort you experienced during your visit.

I have shared your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we are striving to improve our services.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas

..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
There are newer reviews for Menger Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,599 - 1,605 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently stayed at the Menger on a family trip to San Antonio. The hotel was very nicely kept and showed its classic beauty. Hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel is across the street from the Alamo, and short walk to Riverwalk. We had a great trip and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

It is always a pleasure when a guest takes the time to share their delightful experiences with Trip Advisor.

Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as reinforcement of our commitment toward exemplary guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to personally meet when your travels bring you back to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose to stay at the Menger Hotel because we were planning a trip to San Antonio and heard that this hotel was haunted.
While we didn't come across any ghosts during our stay (though not for lack of trying!) we were impressed by the haunting, historic beauty of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We are very pleased that the ladies and gentlemen exceeded your expectations and you have a delightful stay. It is our goal to have every guest leave with fond memories.

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for a long July 4th weekend. I am flabbergasted by the harsh criticism of some reviewers. Knowing that it is a historic hotel, we had appropriate and realistic expectations regarding the condition of the hotel. The hotel was beautiful with a rich history preserved well by the furniture, display cases, paintings, ,and photographs throughout. We were able to upgrade our king room to a suite the day we checked in, and the room was clean and large. My feeling is, you get what you pay for. If you opt for the bargain-priced rooms, don't expect a large room with a large bathroom in a 150-year old hotel.

The service was impeccable, from the valet service to the front desk. We dined in the Colonial Restaurant late one night. The food was good and the ambiance was lovely. Fernando Santa Fe, a talented classical music guitarist, played the most beautiful music and created such a romantic atmosphere. His music truly made the dining experience memorable, and he was so very friendly. I hope the hotel management is aware of how much he truly contributes to the lovely atmosphere in the restaurant!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the Alamo for a beautiful nighttime view. The extra fee f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful experience with Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure when a guest recognizes our efforts toward historical preservation and our efforts toward exemplary guest satisfaction.

Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was thrilled to be staying at the Menger Hotel due to its historic significance. Upon arriving, I found out there was NO free parking and you had to pay for Valet, which is $30/night. The next morning we ordered room service, with all of the additional fees and charges a $19 charge ended up being $32. We checked out and I was glancing over the credit card holds and noticed a $250 charge which was referenced as a "cleaning fee". I was accused of smoking in my room although I am a severe asthmatic currently dealing with bronchitis. I've never smoked a day in my life, nor has my husband due to the fact that it is such a dangerous activity being asthmatic. Unfortunately even the historic era, and the nicest hotel security guard cannot move me to ever stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jaurdin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met.

We have shared your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we are striving to improve our services. We invite you to personally contact our Accounting Department to provide them the opportunity to review your charges.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Convenient location to Alamo, trolley and tour bus stop, Riverwalk. Very nice courtyard and pool. Breakfast buffet looked wonderful, but we ordered from the menu so as not to eat too much! It was very good, and waitress very friendly. More than I can say for the older gentleman who checked us in. He was neither friendly nor helpful. Otherwise, great stay. Comfortable bed. Great a/c. Rooms small, but we would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on older historic side were smaller, but had great high ceilings. With step up to bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonPatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

When a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor, it is truly appreciated.
We are pleased that you had a delightful stay.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased that their efforts toward exemplary guest satisfaction were recognized.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the Historic Menger Hotel and the Colonial Dining Room.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Great central spot, next to the Alamo and central S.A. Excellent history and a neat bar. We got a two night special at 119 a night that put us in a room with 2 twin beds (I swore I reserved queens) with a view of a wall and I dont mean a wall across the street, a wall about six feet from our window. Room was due a makeover, probably going on 10 to 15 years since its last but it was clean. Also, and I'm not complaining but parking is 28 a night (pretty standard downtown). If I had to do it over I probably would have paid a little more and stayed at another downtown hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank BadKarma65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.
Please accept my sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met. As a historic hotel, we have a variety of rooms and sizes, we regret that we were not able to provide you with a different room..

I have shared your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we are striving to improve our services.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,979 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,221 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,115 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,864 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing