We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Just Okay”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I was really excited to come to a hotel that was haunted and so beautiful in all the pictures. The hotel is nice, but after you've seen it, your kind of over it...or at least I was. I stayed there for 3 days. The room was small, the hot tub that fits 6 people only had 1 jet working, they don't offer movies to order and everything just seemed old vs antique. I probably wouldn't stay her again for the money we spent. I like up to date amenities.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank independent1_noa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincrest apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we are striving to improve our services.

We hope when the opportunity for you to return to San Antonio you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very clean large,room with comfortable beds and a nice balcony. Beautiful historic hotel and a great location right by the Alamo and walking distance to the River Walk. Others were complaining about the bathrooms. ( "Historic" does not mean modern bathrooms ). But we thought the bathroom in our room was very well kept and lots of counter, storage space. The hotel decor and grounds were very charming, and a great value for our first few nights in Historic San Antonio. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Didn't know it had the history of being haunted until after our arrival, but we didn't see any ghosts!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We are pleased that you took the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. It is very important that we maintain the historic atmosphere so that our guests are able to experience the beauty of our hotel built by Mr. Menger in 1859.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Menger Bar and the lobby of the hotel are very cool. The location is excellent. The rest of the hotel is just old and poorly maintained. I'd suggest stopping by for a tour and a drink while you stay elsewhere.

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights as part of a family reunion. We were originally checked into a room in the old section of the hotel. The room was very, very dated (think 1940s), the carpet was gross and it smelled stale. We came in late on Friday night with 3 kids. I requested a different room the following morning. The hotel was booked, so they moved us to the "new" section the following day. Amazingly the new section looks like it was last updated in the mid 70s.

The rooms are the worst part of the experience. Due to not wanting to inconvenience family, we remained in the hotel until they left. We spent our last night at a "resort hotel" near Six Flags and it was a vastly better experience for our family. Without some serious and through renovations, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms are far worse than some one star chain hotels I've stayed in. The Menger website gives you lots of nice pictures of the hotel. I've included some of the things we saw in my photos.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bartman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and photographs of your stay.
Please accept my sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met.

We are striving to improve our services and hope when you have the opportunity to return to San Antonio you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! Unfortunately we only stayed for one night on our way to South Padre Island, but we will definitely be returning. Check-in was quick, friendly and simple. Decor is amazing! The hotel has retained its charm, elegance and ambience. Rooms are very comfortable and the pool is beautiful. The valet parking is a bit pricey, but worth it to know that your vehicle is secure. The signs at the front of the hotel directing you to the parking area are a bit difficult to see, but not a big deal. I read other reviews beforehand, some complaining about "poor water pressure" or "small rooms", but you must keep in mind that this is a historical hotel built in the late 1800s. This is NOT a Holiday Inn Express built last year. If you are looking for a comfortable stay at a gorgeous, historical location steps away from the Alamo, this is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthwestTravelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We are very pleased that you took the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

We are very proud of our efforts toward historic preservation and proud to be a neighbor to the Historic Alamo. I have shared your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as reinforcement of our commitment toward exemplary guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hotel has significant historic value and the furnishings are beautiful but be prepared for no water pressure and no temperature control in the shower. I stayed in the historic side of the hotel so the newer side would hopefully be a different experience. The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The location is fabulous - just steps from the Alamo. No meals were included with the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. The ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased to know that their efforts toward guest satisfaction and historic preservation were recognized.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Hsitoric Menger Hotel for your lodging..

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Dissapointing! Musty smells, poor plumbing & small rooms are to be expected when staying at a Historical Hotel. However, customer service should be refreshing & most of all 'welcoming'. Not our experience during our stay. And it starts with whom I assume was the front manager, an older short man with a constant frown on his face. Each time we crossed paths we had to initiate the greeting and his reply was underwhelming & under his breath. Valet guys were great, trying to get a menu for their in-house restaurant 'The Colonial' was impossible.
The Oldest Bar West of the Mississippi was too dark and the bar service was 'cold as ice'. No ghost during our stay but the hotel could use some personnel house cleaning, if you know what I mean. Will not be going back & will not recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Alamo Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorothy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met.

As a historic hotel, we have a variety of rooms and sizes and regret that we were not able to provide you with a different room during your stay. I have shared your comments with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as we are striving to improve our services.

We hope when the opportunity arises, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Guitar does make the difference...When was the last time a "potato" caught my eye, even more, my taste buds, still better my main course meal. At The Menger Hotel Restaurant. This delicious potato they offer at a spoonful at a time with skin, while with my significant other and the stimulating of the mind from a well calibrated guitar, Mr. Fernando SantaFe, was the way to wrap up my experience of San Antonio. Thank you.

Room Tip: Location. Location. Location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your dining experience with Trip Advisor.

I have shared your comments with tee ladies and gentlemen of our staff and they are pleased that their efforts were recognized.

When the opportunity arises for you to return, we are pleased that you will once again choose the Colonial Dining Room for your dining and the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging needs.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,033 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing