We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in downtown”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights for my wife's 50 high school reunion. We are from San Antonio but have been living out of town for 25 years. We enjoyed the hotel, nice rooms, Sunday brunch was great with many different opinions. Only problem I had was I do not want MSG in my food and asked the chef carving the beef and the young boy did not know what I was talking about also they did not have Green Tea which I think is really popular now and a must for any restaurant.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
There are newer reviews for Menger Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,655 - 1,661 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

While I did not stay here, I came to the bar once and the Colonial Room for breakfast. Both experiences were superb. The bar is an exact replica of the pub in the House of Lords -- cool! Drinks very reasonably priced. Have to try it if you like history. The Colonial Room breakfast buffet has everything you could want and the service is great. Ok, the eggs benedict were a bit dried out, but who else has eggs benedict? Sit by the window overlooking the garden patio; simply gorgeous. The lobby is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank occdocbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Yes the Hotel is old, but my Husband and I have been coming here for the past four years now when he is home for his job. It's our favorite getaway. The location is perfect, the riverwalk is just a few steps away as well as other restaurants and bars above ground. My Hubby and I enjoyed our time reconnecting again after he had be gone for six months. The Menger makes us feel home, since he and I have some much history here. We will definatly be returning again very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jforest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

In a city with hotels everywhere don't stay. Tiny tiny room. Window would not close had to plug coffee maker into floor because no plugs. Couldn't get waited on in bar.
Parking charge nobody says anything about is $28.
Just not a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdrowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with Trip Advisor and hope that you will accept my sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met.

We regret that we were not able to discuss this personally during your stay. At times, we do not have the opportunity to provide our guests with a different room but will always make the attempt to make our guests comfortable.

We hope that you will revisit when you return to San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Situated right next door to the Alamo and Riverwalk this was the perfect location.
We stayed for 5 nights in April.
Comfy bed, clean room and bathroom.
Shower pressure and temperature was pretty bad but it is an old hotel.
No fridge in the room but on request one was delivered the following day.
We had breakfast in the restaurant, not the buffet just off the menu and was satisfied with the quality of food and service of staff.
Our room was in the back section on the 3rd floor and was huge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Yes, this hotel is haunted, but I apparently wasn't in the paranormal realm. Or maybe it was because my room was directly across from the elevator. Apparitions might not like the noise.
I love historic hotels, and the Menger is steeped in history. Although my tub didn't drain, so when I got in to shower, I was already standing in a few inches of water, the bathroom was clean but exceptionally small. My used water glasses weren't replaced daily. The bed was extremely comfortable. The window view overlooked a roof. However, I wasn't in San Antonio to sit in my room and look out the window. Price was reasonable, location incomparable, and the check-in staff friendly. If I visit again, I hope the cosmic vibrations are correctly aligned as I'd love to see Teddy Roosevelt recruiting the Rough Riders in the Menger bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazapsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here for fiesta. The location is right across from the riverwalk next to the Alamo. Very convenient to everything. The old charm of the hotel is great. You almost feel as though you have stepped back 100 years. The hotel has done a great job of keeping the older décor. The room was OK. The same style of the older décor. I think the exposed piping on the ceiling was due to keeping its charm. The step to the bathroom was a but of a nuisance, but again this was the way they built. The courtyard was beautiful and charming. All in all was great for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SABoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,976 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,218 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,109 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,861 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing