We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Menger hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #30 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Old Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Menger hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Menger hotel twice in two weeks on our travels. My wife and I enjoyed the stay both times, staff were friendly and always helpful.
The Menger is an old hotel which adds to its charm, the showers are a bit hit and miss but this did not spoil our stay.
It's location is superbly situated right across from the Alamo plus all other local attractions.
Would defiantly stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Sharing your comments about your stay with Trip Advisor is always appreciated. We are delighted that the ladies and gentlemen of our staff provided you with a trip to remember.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    671
    292
    159
    137
See reviews for
441
638
71
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I loved everything about it! Surprised my spouse with an anniversary trip. Valet parked for the weekend & visited the local shops on foot. Right next door to the Alamo made for a romantic late night stroll. Antiquity & history was all bundled into this beautiful piece of San Antonio. Enjoyed our anniversary dinner in the dining room & was serenaded by Fernando's beautiful classical guitar. He even sang a song about us! Love, love, loved it! And the food was delicious! (Even received a discount for being a Menger guest). This is a must visit for anyone looking for a special get away. You will also find the price to be fair in comparison to other hotels in the area, but they will not match the charm of The Menger. I can't wait for a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to learn that your :Surprise Anniversary Trip" exceeded your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as reinforcement of our commitment toward exemplary guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to meet when you return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We checked into our room and it was not ready yet so we walked around a bit and came back. Our room was supposed to be with a king bed, when we checked in "again", we were told the hotel overbooked the king beds so we had to have a queen. We got to the room, our luggage took forever to come from the bell boy. I went to the front desk to ask for another coffee cup as there was only one and to return the furniture polish that was left behind by housekeeping. They said they would send one and never did. I called again and this time asked for the coffee cup and a towel since our room was left with only one. They never showed up, my fiancee actually used the hand towel so that I would have a dry towel to use. The staff was rude and unhelpful. We went to the bar in search of a simple cup of coffee since the room didn't have any and the bar had none either. Why would they serve coffee when they can sell expensive drinks instead? The toilets are extremely loud when they flush so we could hear the upstairs people everytime they used the restroom. The room was very hot and I am usually one that freezes with AC but this room was so hot we couldn't even get a good nights rest. We went down for breakfast and was told they stopped serving (this was before 9) because they had Easter Brunch to serve. We ate elsewhere after waiting half an hour for our car. Oh and thanks for NOT telling me about the $30 valet bill. HORRIBLE service. I will never stay here again...the rude staff alone made this a very bad experience.

Room Tip: The toilets are loud everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
When a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies that we were not able to provide you with the service you expected from the ladies and gentlemen of our staff.

Your concerns have been addressed with each of the department managers and please be assured that these situations will not occur in the future.

We hope when the opportunity for you to return to downtown San Antonio arises, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here (room 2066) for a conference. Did not want to stay at a conference hotel and this was only two blocks from the conference center and was cheaper. We love staying in historic inns or hotels when we can and this fit the bill. Although the hotel has been expanded over the past 150 years, it is filled with history and is thing of beauty, unlike the typical modern hotel.

The sights of old San Antonio are all within easy walking distance. The Alamo is literally next door and the Riverwalk is only two blocks to the West. The location could not be better.

I also recommend room 2066. It is one of only a few on the west face of the building and has access to a large patio (shared with a couple other rooms). A perfect place for a morning cup of coffee (or breakfast?) or evening watching the sunset and the big sky of Texas.

If you can get to San Antonio during Fiesta, that is another huge bonus for the Menger. The Battle of the Flowers parade passes in front of the hotel (but we missed it). If you do not stay at the Menger, you should at least pay a visit and check out the architecture and history of the "oldest hotel west of the Mississippi".

Room Tip: 2066 is an excellent room. Bed was hard (I liked that). Large closet, clean bath. Remember, this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your visit with Trip Advisor.

It is our goal for our guests to receive exemplary service and we are pleased that the ladies and gentlemen of our staff provided you with the service you expected at The Historic Menger Hotel.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family and I just spent 5 days and 5 nights and couldn't be happier with our experience. The service we received from the time we arrived until the time we left was terrific. We arrived an hour early and after a flawless check-in, our room was ready. I requested a refrigerator for our room and by the time we got upstairs the hotel employee greeted us at the door with it. The room was actually much larger that I anticipated which was a pleasant surprise.

As stated the service we received was top notch from check in to check out. The valets were there as we pulled in and extremely friendly and healthy. They say to call down when you need your car and wait 15-20 minutes. We always had our car within 10. We ate breakfast in the Colonial Room Restaurant one morning and again enjoyed top service with a very enjoyable meal. We had an unfortunate experience one day when our room attendant forgot to leave towels. We made one call and within 15 minutes they were brought to our room. We did not feel this was a reflection of any one person or the hotel. It was an error which was quickly corrected.

As far as location, I believe this is the best in San Antonio. You are across the street from the Alamo and can walk out the back of the hotel directly into the Rivercenter Mall. From here you can get tickets and ride on the Riverboat Cruise. If you walk across the street you can go around the corner to the Riverwalk. If you are interested in taking a double decker bus tour or a carriage ride these are located directly in front of The Menger. We even walked to the Market Square within 20-30 minutes one afternoon. The Red Trolley also departs from across the street and it costs $1.20 for a one way trip or $4 day pass.

The Menger Bar is smaller than you would think, but the bartender Stuart, was very friendly and this was a great place to sit at the end of some very long days.

As for ghosts, well we didn't see any. I was extremely happy with our choice of The Menger for our visit to San Antonio and I believe this is the place to stay to experience this great city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachreyes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It is always appreciated when a guest shares their experience with Trip Advisor.

Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as reinforcement of our goal to have every guest leave with fond memories. We are pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am a native San Antonian. As a child, it was a very special thing to go to the Menger Hotel for Easter Brunch. Excellent food and service was the norm. I will say that this Easter, the service was quite good, however, most of the food was inedible. We were seated at 2:15 for our 1:30 reservation. Given that the sign said service would stop at 2:30 I was concerned. The lady who sat us said not to worry, they would continue service until all of the tables were served. What she failed to mention was that they would not be putting out any more food. They were out of lamb, the "Steak Dianne" was hard as a rock, what food that was left in the warming trays was room temperature at best. I understand it is a buffet, it is not fine dining, but at $43.00 a head, they should have the food out that was advertised and it should at least be warm.
The manager was more than generous and gave us 30% off of our check bring the grand total down to $160.00 for six people. Never again! The Menger should be ashamed and embarrassed of the 2014 Easter Brunch. I will never darken their door again. Too bad. Another great San Antonio tradition gone to pot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgaedke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your Easter Brunch experience with Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to learn that this was a favorite during your childhood and you returned once again..

I hope that you will accept my apologies for our lack of commitment toward exemplary service to our guests. Please be assured that these concerns have been addressed with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

We hope that when the opportunity arises, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your dining or lodging while visiting downtown San Antonio.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is so beautiful. This is the biggest room, area wise that I've ever had. They have accommodated our needs with a rollaway bed, refrigerator and new coffee maker. The balcony is huge and we have used it repeatedly. The historical beauty is breathtaking. I will definitely stay here next time. The fruit/cheese tray I had requested wasn't here upon arrival, but we were too tired to care. They did call the next day and brought it about 4:30 pm. Overall it's a beautiful hotel and We are enjoying it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Windblown O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful experience with Trip Advisor.

Your comments have been shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as it is our goal to have every guest leave with fond memories. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope when the opportunity for you to return arises, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Property: Menger Hotel
Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing