We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, but not Haunted”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here out of sheer curiosity and found that the rooms were quaint. (That means small and cozy). There is a smell of must or old nursing home on the elevator side of the hotel, I can't place it. My room was clean and the staff were a bit stiff. Sometimes large city hotels that charge a lot think being too serious and dry at the front desk is professionalism, but it's not. I tied the room service, but it was not that good. limited selection and overpriced. (Again the San Antonio tourist thing). I love history and the bar was definitely historic. the bar tender was friendly. I did not meet any ghosts here, but I would have, I would have asked them to help with the bill since they stay there too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ikeamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
There are newer reviews for Menger Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

the staff was always friendly and helpful. the house keepers are excellent in what they do the
room was always cleaned and spotless besides friendly and helpful that's the main thing is to
have a clean room while you are here. the restraint was a little on the high side. but then
don't be put in room 2044 the old section the room smelled musty and to get into the bathroom
you had to step up 2 or 3 inches just to get to the bathroom. also I wanted a prime rib dinner
went down twice hour ater the opened and they had no prime rib. if you have something on
the menu you should have it besides that I had a good time and was impressed by it I it has
a lot of interesting history about the hotel

Room Tip: the further up you go less noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Menger Hotel has always been a favorite place to stay when traveling to San Antonio due to the historic nature of the hotel and its location. Unfortunately this last time we stayed there was a significant decline in service and the quality of the room. The room, rather than quaint, seemed shabby with walls that needed painting and furniture that needed touch-ups. The towels were very worn and small, there were only 2 provided. During stay the toiletries were not replenished. I work through my computer so wireless service is essential. The wireless service in the room did not work so I called the number provided (an outside company) and both times I called the representatives were rude, condescending and I I was never able to connect.
The dining experience was very positive with attention to service and detail. I would like to have seen the menu specials listed in the hotel elevator and on the marquis in front of the restaurant as they had done in the past, but this was apparently discontinued. With the large number of student groups staying in the hotel it may be that the hotel has changed its marketing strategy to focus on large school and church groups for a value rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanFrontier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Hotel is amazing. It was built in 1859, and Presidents, All-Stars, and Movie Stars have stayed there. It's absolutely breath-taking, and you can feel the history it holds. The King Ranch Suite is reputed to be haunted, and we were down the hall from it. I didn't get to see any ghosts though, but I kept trying. It's right next door to the Alamo, and a few minutes walk from the Riverwalk. It's also on both the ghost hunting tour and the trolley lines, so everything is right outside the door. The restaurant in the hotel is great for a dressy dinner, or for a night out. The bar, while a little dark, was nice and filled with history of it's own. I can't wait to go back. It's perfect for couples or honeymooners.

Room Tip: Ask for the historical area, which was the first built. This is not advised for people with mobilit...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shafa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went there for a tour and had lunch it was ok. I felt like it really was not all that special. Sat outside the service was great but other then that its ok. There are a lot of historical hotels better. The bar was the pits nothing that great it would drive me nuts if i had to eat in there dark and gloomy not like a english pub like they said.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kjj150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Your willingness to share your experience with Trip Advisor is appreciated.

The Historic Menger Bar was built in 1887 when Major Hermann Kampmann, owner of the hotel, decided a taproom should be built within the hotel. It is an exact replica of the House of Lords Pub in London, England. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met.

We hope that when the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This review is on the dining and shopping to be found in the Historic Menger Hotel, San Antonio, TX. Right across from the Alamo Plaza, the Menger has been around for over a century. Teddy Roosevelt recruited his Rough Riders in it's Bar (Names and initials carved in the wood are still preserved there) The dining room serves a fabulous white tablecloth Sunday Brunch, and you can stop by anytime for their fabulous house made Mango Ice Cream. If the weather is nice, enjoy it in the courtyard garden amidst flowers and fountains. A must do when visiting the Alamo city :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Buckthebigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Menger Hotel. The location is convenient to the Riverwalk although getting onto the freeways can be a bit daunting. It is literally next door to the Alamo. The history of the hotel can't be matched and the lobby, courtyard and dining room are lovely. I loved the rocking chairs lining the courtyard. The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable. The food was surprisingly good. The breakfast buffet was absolutely bursting with fresh fruits, made to order omelets and very tasty waffles. The dining room is beautiful and bright and the Menger Bar is very evocative of times past, completely paneled in beautiful dark wood-supposedly an exact replica of the bar in London's House of Lords.

The hotel is supposedly haunted but, despite an alleged ghost sighting in my room two weeks earlier, alas, I had no visits...not even an odd creak.

The parking is very expensive ($28 a day) but there is a parking lot just behind the hotel where guests could self park.

Room Tip: I stayed in the wing added in 1950. The courtyard view was quite nice though, in that wing, you hav...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your delightful experience of your stay at the Historic Menger Hotel.

As a historic hotel, our guest rooms vary in size and regret a larger room was not available.the ladies and gentlemen of our staff will be pleased to learn that their efforts toward historical preservation were recognized.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,978 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,221 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,115 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,864 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing