We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menger Hotel is Very Dear to Heart”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family has been going to the Menger for approximately 18 years now. Now that my kids are older, I have made it a tradition to take my daughter & a friend(s) to the Menger every year (sometimes more than once a year) The staff is always friendly, willing to accomodate any needs. Mr. Malacara is very special to us, as he has always been very informative, friendly and always willing to talk to us and share new "stories" of the hotel. We always stay in the original victorian section, as we are fascinated by the beauty and history. The King Ranch suite and the Roy Rogers are both very roomy and have a balcony overlooking Alamo Plaza. We love to sit out and watch the people/horse carriages go by. We visit San Antonio quite often and no other hotel is like the Menger; it's always our choice. The pool is like none i've ever seen, it's georgous and that is where my kids learned how to swim. I highly recommend The Menger Hotel to anyone who loves and appreciates history and good hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay with Trip Advisor.

It is truly rewarding when a guest takes the time to recognize our historical preservation efforts and to recognize our staff by name. Mr. Malacara enjoys talking about the history of the Menger Hotel with our guests.

Your comments will be shared with our staff as recognition of our efforts toward exemplary guest satisfaction. We look forward to you and your family's return when the opportunity brings you back to San Antonio and the Historical Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
There are newer reviews for Menger Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,874 - 1,880 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

BTW this is my very first review I have written....felt I had to share my experience. We started off my birthday weekend by my hubby selecting this hotel thinking it would be fun!!!!......sadly he was wrong! Nothing fun about walking into a room with a king size bed that you can feel the springs while laying on it. I can not understand why you would pay money to sleep on cardboard! We lasted about 7 hours (with no sleep and an achy back) cancelled our reservation for the second night and moved to another hotel!
If its the history you are looking into experiencing just visit it while staying at a hotel that has comfort! And what ever you do.....DO NOT BOOK MASSAGES AT THE SPA AT THE MENGER EITHER! The weirdest experience of my life! Very strange
The only good thing about this place was the bar, although it does close at midnight!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieluv27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with Trip Advisor.

We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. The Alamo Plaza Spa is a tenet of the Historic Menger Hotel. If you would like to contact them directly, please contact me or Sue Pennington, my secretary by email: hectorvenegas@1859historichotels.com.

We are striving to improve our services and once again hope that you will accept our apology.
We hope when the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antonio, The Historic Menger Hotel will be your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My great-grandfather stayed at this historic hotel. It is right next to the Alamo and full of rich Texas history, including some ghosts. While it's not so comfortable as the upscale motels, it is well worth experiencing old time elegance and history. We loved the displays and old photos, including one of Babe Ruth.

Room Tip: We were in the second floor in the old building. We were very comfortable and were able to hear the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy_SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Your comments shared with Trip;Advisor regarding your delightful experience is truly appreciated.

The Historic Menger Hotel provides many opportuniteis for families to "reconnect" with the past and we are pleased that your family has had the pleasure of experiencing the Menger Hotel for many years.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Everything here was great except 2 things one big one small. Small one- bar which was beautiful and historic. Do we really need bar tender yelling every 20 minutes that that there is no table service? And why isn't there any table service when we are paying quite a bit for drinks. Whole thing was cheap and tacky such that we only visited bar one time and took our business elsewhere. Big thing was no temp control in rooms. There was a thermostat but per the front desk it was only for "air flow" whatever that is supposed to mean. Our room was 78 degrees each night. We had to keep our balcony doors wide open in order to sleep which did not make us feel very secure. We both got terrible respiratory infections which I attribute to the high temp in the rooms. Front desk staff did not appear to care one way or he other.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't like alot of heat in your room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your experience with Trip Advisor and regret that we did not meet your expecations and hope you will accept my sincerest apology.

I have shared your concerns regarding the lack of professional service in the bar with our Food and Beverage Director. Appropriate action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature do not occur in the future.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes, it is old, the rooms are small, the bathrooms are smaller but no other hotel in San Antonio exudes the history of San Antonio like the Menger. Either you get it or you don't.
The Menger hosted a client reception for our company just before Christmas. I was not sure how it would go. It was highly successful. We will do it again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomthbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that your client reception was succefful and that the ladies and gentlemen of our staff exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return when your travels for business or pleasure bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great place to stay if you plan on visiting the Alamo and go on the Riverwalk. The Hotel is located right in the middle of everything. The room were clean and the staff was outstanding.
The parking was quite expensive since it was $28.00 a night. I liked the Menger mainly for the location next to the Alamo, but my wife enjoyed it since it was close to shopping. The breakfast
was excellent, but expensive $16.00 per person.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor and are pleased that you recognized our efforts toward excellance in guest satisfaction.

Several commerical parking areas are available within walking distance of our hotel. AOur hotel valet services are comparable to downtown hotels.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel,.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed on the night of 3/17 on the recommendation of a family member who had stayed there previously. Little did we know, "previously" meant the 1980's.

Lets start with the good:

The location of the Hotel was great. You are next door to the Alamo, and all the sites and restaurants of the Riverwalk. The Pool area at the Menger Hotel was nice. Not great, but nice. The pool was big. It was clean and had plenty of seating around it in the sun and shade. The Menger was the also the most affordable hotel for the location.

Now the not so good:
The hotel felt old in an dive bar kind of way and reeked of smoke. While we are are well-traveled family that generally doesn't use a hotel room for much more than sleeping, you never want to dread going to the room. This was the case at the Menger Hotel. Our room was old, dingy and small. There was even a weird stain on our comforter. I did not feel comfortable walking on the carpet with bare feet. The bathtub/shower had an array of colors from odd greens where the tub met the tile to brown rust spots on from the ceiling which had a condensation line that drains into the tub. The water in the room was $8 per bottle. While we didn't drink the water, that just seemed obscenely expensive for a 20oz bottle. We requested a crib as we have a 8 month y/o baby. The crib they brought us looked as if it was from a prison or mental institution.

While our experience was not terrible, it was not all that good. The Menger Hotel serves as a reminder that sometimes you're just better off paying the extra few dollars per night for a better hotel. We wish we had. perhaps we were put in the cheaper wing, and there are better rooms somewhere in the hotel. Based upon our experience we do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank So_where_is_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Historic Menger Hotel.

As a historic hotel, we have many rooms that vary in design and size and we regret that we were not able to provide you with a different room during your stay. Our cribs meet all the requirements of child protection and safety and are purchased specificaly for our hotel.

We hope that when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,978 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,219 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,109 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,861 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing