We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menger Hotel Reservations Staff Outstanding”
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #25 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Tupper Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Menger Hotel Reservations Staff Outstanding”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had some very specific and somewhat unusual requests that I made prior to our stay at the Menger. We stayed for 3 nights Feb 26-28 2013. Before traveling to San Antonio I was in contact with Menger's Reservation Staff to discuss my needs. There were several emails that went back and forth (all my inquiries were quickly answered) and the Reservation folks said tht they would attempt to meet ll my requests. When we checked in they told me that they were unable to meet one of my requests. I was disappointed until I reached my room and discovered that the desk clerk was mistaken and they did, in fact, comply with all of my requests. The Hotel Reservations Department deserves kudos for a job well done. My room was large, spacious and well kept. The chambermaid complied with all my requests and the room was located where I requested. I highly recommend this hotel. You can't get better service than we received. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone. We have traveled extensively within the US and Europe and Mexico - believe me when I tell you that the Menger staff went "above and beyond" standard service.

Room Tip: Be very specific with the Reservations Staff regarding your needs - they will work hard to meet your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chugboogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

The ladies and gentlemen of our Reservation staff will be pleased that you recognized their efforts as they assisted you with your special requests and needs. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts. Your comments have been shared with our entire staff as we strive for exemplary service to all of our guests.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regrads,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    748
    312
    164
    140
See reviews for
495
715
78
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The pool was over-chlorinated, and it burned our eyes while we swam. The lobby and halls smelled like cigarette smoke, and the beds were old and quite lumpy. In need of a renovation. Otherwise the staff was helpful. I did not sleep a wink, don't take too well with ghost stories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay.

Our goal is to promote and preserve the history of our beautiful hotel bult in 1859. We regret that you expectations were not met and we were not able to discuss this with you.

We hope that when the opportunity arises, you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Menger for one night because it was across the street from the Alamo, which is where we wanted to go to see the famous "Victory of Death" letter written by William Travis, just prior to the fall of the Alamo in 1836. Despite a rather poor experience with the Meger in 2005, we decided to give it another try. It has improved significantly. Our room, while relatively small, had a comfortable king bed and was in good shape overall. We could not seem to regulate the A/C to make the room cooler, but it was March 1st so the temperature was livable. We didn't discover that the window opened until the next morning. Electric sockets were few and oddly placed so plugging in a charger required some effort.
The hotel lobby areas are historic and very pleasant with a nice ambience. The Menger Bar is still there but not in the same part of the hotel as it was when TR recruited his rough riders. When I asked, the hotel staff was nice enough to show us some of the oldest rooms, in the original part of the hotel. The high ceilings and tall windows facing the patio would make these nicer rooms in which to stay, if given the choice. The bathrooms in this part of the hotel, however, require a step up, as indoor bathrooms were a later addition. The hotel as a whole has lots of charm and a sense of history but I'm afraid it relies too heavily on those assets. My price was $106/night and parking is valet only at $28/ night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mblair441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for the opportunity to once again be your lodging choice during your visit to San Antonio and for sharing your comments with Trip Advisor.

The ladies and gentlemen of our staff are pleased that our efforts toward historic preservation are recognized. As a historic hotel, we have a variety of rooms with different sizes due to the renoviations that have taken place over the years.. We are glad that you had the opportunity to tour the historic rooms as these rooms are very popular with our guests.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We reserved two adjoining rooms. When we checked in they confirmed that we had two adjoining rooms. Well, we got to the rooms and they were not adjoining. Hotel said tough luck we are out of adjoining rooms. Room was extremely hot first night. Next morning we complained and hotel said AC was not working and only had heat on. They said turn AC off and open window. In one room window would not open. Desk said they would send somebody to open but they did not. AC finally came on late on second day. Last night they apparently turned heat on and AC off. Spent miserable hot night in both rooms with temp over 80. We have always loved the Menger because of its location and history but the property is in bad condition and the service people don't seem to care.when we complained at departure they comp'd us one night, but it was too little too late. Stay somewhere else! I know we will from now on.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are pleased that you took the time to share your concerns with Trip Advisor.

is our goal to have all our guests leave with fond memories and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are striving to improve our services in order to ensure that situations of this nature do not occur in the future.

We look forward to your return to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Facilities are quite old, particularily those in bathroom.
Some deposite charge are not explained clearly during check in.
Some pictures online are misleading.
The location is good.
Free Wi-Fi is good


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Zheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We would like to thank your for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor.

We regret that we were not able to address your concerns during your stay and hope that you will accept my sincere apology. We are striving to improve our services to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated and we look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hotel

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed for business for a three day trip. The location is excellent-right across the street, literally, from the Alamo. Walking distance to many areas/attractions. The room was in need of an update, however. Carpet was slightly worn, bathroom shows signs of wear, and after the first night (during which the temp in my room went from 70 to 78!), I found out that the thermostat in my room did not actually control the A/C, as it was central and was set only to heat (would have been good to know). Also the water temp in the shower was very difficult to control, as it fluctuated wildly. Rooms a good size.

The staff was generally friendly, and the ambiance is definitely not typical, as this property is over 140 years old.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimetraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you accept our sincerest apologies.

We hope when your travels bring you back to San Antonio, that you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Very nice staff but is so old some places smell like grandmas! Bathroom was very outdated...blue tiles in the shower and water pressure was poor. Had a double bed room so had room to move. Another member on staff had a single room...was horribly small and overlooked a roof. If you are a serious history buff you'll enjoy this place but wasn't my style at all.

Room Tip: Ask for double room with balcony and a view of the pool...will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with Trip Advisor.

We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and we were not able to meet with you personally.

When your travels bring you back to San Antonio, we hope that you will once again choose the Historic Menger Hotel for your lodging.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
1,910 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,016 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,738 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Property: Menger Hotel
Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing