We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Menger Hotel
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Geronimo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My family is spoiled. This is the only place we stay when we go to San Antonio and when we stay in other hotels in other cities they just can't compare. We love the Menger! Great service, beautiful rooms, especially on the antique side, great food, location is fabulous and pool is great. Prices are also family friendly. It is a great place to vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful experiences of your stay at the iHstoric Menger Hotel.

Your comments will be shared with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as it is truly rewarding when their efforts are recognized, especially by our frequent guests.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    694
    297
    160
    137
See reviews for
451
661
74
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

As soon as you enter the Menger Hotel, you can sense history around you. The lobby area from the check-in desk through to the old part of the hotel and the Colonial restaurant is beautiful. The enclosed garden is charming and the swimming pool area is a beautiful little oasis. The Colonial Dining Room is pure elegance and a wonderful place to eat. And of course the location is perfect for visiting the Alamo which is practically next door.

As for the rooms, well I'm sure the more expensive suites are charming and elegant with a historic feel to them, but the lower price rooms are just not up to a good enough standard if our room was a typical example. On walking in, it felt tired and jaded and the furniture looked worn out. The bathroom was small and while the tiled areas were clean and bright, the bath itself was in a sad state. Obviously re-enamelled in the past, the surface had deteriorated and was cracked and chipped around the plughole revealing the original enamel underneath. The painted walls in the bathroom looked as if an amateur had done the job. The only good thing about our room was the bed which was extremely comfortable, however that was of dubious value.

The real problem was the noise. At first we thought it was the air conditioning but after turning it off there was still a lot of noise. Listening more carefully, we realised that we were directly above what must have been the laundry room and they were running an industrial size machine down there because when that mother got up to full spin, it felt as if we were ready for takeoff. The machine stopped running before we got to bed on the Friday night but on the Saturday, it ran until 2 in the morning - I know because it kept me awake until then despite the fact I was really tired. If there's one thing I expect from a hotel, it's a reasonable nights sleep and I certainly didn't get it.

Now I've seen one review on TripAdvisor which basically says that "it's an old and historic building and you have to take the rough with the smooth". Well I'm sorry but I disagree. A room with a dull colour scheme and some worn reproduction antique furniture does not contribute to the quality of a guest's experience and this is the problem I have with the Menger; it's all very well for a hotel to trade on it's historic past but the quality of accommodation has to be consistently good for everyone, regardless of how much they've paid or which room they're in. I've stayed in hotels that are just as old as the Menger but they've worked hard to modernise rooms while keeping touch with their historic past. It's not easy but it can be done.

To sum up, I would come back to the Menger to eat in the restaurant but I won't be coming back to stay and if you are staying here, avoid getting room 2100 and the rooms either side of it. If anyone from the management is reading this, please consider using room 2100 for something else!

Room Tip: Avoid room 2100 as it is over the laundry. The washing machine runs for a good part of the day so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a meeting here at the Menger Hotel and it worked out to be a good location for a few reasons. The hotel is historic (meaning old) but in good repair. The amenities are dated (like the bathroom) but that is what historic means. The building and property are in great condition and the food in our meetings was also good.
I've not found the southern hospitality to be the same here in San Antonio as it is in such places as Charleston or other southern locations. Not rude - but not overly friendly either.

Room Tip: Right next door to the Alamo, the mall and the River walk, but don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are always pleased when a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor.

We strive to have all our guests greeted and made to feel welcome and regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have addressed your comments regarding our lack of "Southern Hospitality" with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff.

We hope when the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antlonio, you will once again choose the historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Menger hotel for a weekend. It's in a good location, however most of the hotels are close to the riverwalk. This hotel has paper thin walls, you can hear every word in the rooms next to yours and we were in the "new" part of the hotel. The mattress was terrible, lumpy and old. The hotel does have a nice dining room, bar and lots of history in the first floor hall. I would recommend staying at the Marriot, they have a starbucks and it next to the shopping center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry47087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It is truly appreciated when a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor.

We regret that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns during your visit and apologize that your guest room did not meet your expectations.It is our goal to have all our guests leave with fond memories.

We hope in the future when you return to San Antonio, you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regsards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnes City, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Whenever we go into San Antonio we have to make a stop at the Historical Menger Hotel.
On Sunday we celebrated my husband's 50th Birthday of course he chose the Menger Hotel brunch. Like always the Menger's staff does not disappoint. We were surprised with a guitarist this time, the ambiance of the hotel along with the entertaining music made for a relaxing brunch, conversation, mamosas, excellent food were everything to make one husband happy.
The Sherry Shrimp Chowder is a must if you decide to go in for brunch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
It is always a pleasure when a frequent guest takes the time to share their experiences and we are pleased that the Colonial Dining Room was your choice for a monumental life celebration and our staff's efforts were recognized..

We look forward to your return!

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time in S.A. with our friends. Our meals were out of this world at the Colonial Room Restaurant. We didn't get the Sunday Brunch but it looked amazing - next time. Fernando Santafe, the Classical Spanish Guitarist, that played & sang while we had dinner was so very good. He sat at our table when we were finished and played and sang for us - LOVE THAT SPANISH GUITAR MUSIC! He was such a gentleman. We really enjoyed our stay at the Menger.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandylhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Sharing your comments with Trip Advisor is truly appreciated.

We have received many compliments regarding Fernando and his talent. We will share your compliments with Fernando and the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as our reinforcement of our committment to excellance and guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel was everything I expected it to be. THe rooms are slightly small but is the standard in every historic hotel I have ever stayed in. The deco is exquisite, the atmosphere was inviting and the food was great. Of course ell the other people staying in other area hotels wanted to go on a ghost hunt but I felt that was best left alone. The bed was comfortable, not like a sleep number at a Hilton but was comfortable for my week long business stay. Close to everything and 1 block from all public transportation.

Room Tip: You must love the atmosphere of historic hotels to enjoy this. If your a history buff like me you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your concerns with Trip Advisor.

It is our goal to have every guest leave with fond memories and we are pleased that we met your expectations.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hote.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Property: Menger Hotel
Address: 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205-2687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing